SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4356 (Jackets)

2 more reviews
Viewed 390 times 
Reviewed by:Mahogany Stylist
photo

 
 
About Mahogany Styliststarstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/26/07
Reviews written: 265
Favored by: 152 people
patterns reviewed: 254
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/17/11 3:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
No wonder you love it. It looks great! And warm. Thanks for the construction tips; I've never used shearling but have some in stash. Your ideas will help.
12/17/11 4:59 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, AS USUAL, you are just PRETTY AS A PICTURE and SO STYLISH with your new coat, boots and hat -- the whole outfit! You've made this pattern MOST DESIRABLE, whereas I've overlooked it many times before. :o) I even HAVE this pattern, but I bought it for the vest and overlooked the coat completely. I also REALLY like your fabric. Seems like so many of the "fauxs" look cheap to me, but THIS one looks SO NICE! Great job, as always. :o)
12/17/11 5:56 PM
marec said...
I loved reading about this coat, and looking through your Flickr album. The coat looks so warm, and stylish. The fit is great too...I hadn't thought about the fact that this fabric has no give. Your fitting looks terrific, and you are glowing in these shots.
12/17/11 8:57 PM
cmcarr said...
Very, very nice.
12/18/11 0:01 AM
SewWil said...
Fabulous coat! It looks great on you. You did a wonderful job on this. Thanks for the detailed review.
12/18/11 1:09 AM
sewmytime said...
Fabulous coat! Awesome workmanship as always, simply outstanding!
12/18/11 5:09 AM
Huntwoman said...
GORGEOUS!
12/18/11 5:56 AM
Tarrbaby said...
FABULOUS!!! Love this look,you rock it.
12/18/11 9:01 AM
anika said...
Great coat! I always love to see what is coming out of your machine.
12/18/11 9:59 AM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful coat! Your workmanship and fitting are perfect. Thanks for your review. Gives me motivation for the pieces in my stash!
12/18/11 11:32 AM
cleverkitty said...
this looks so fantastic, expensive and impressive...
12/18/11 11:46 AM
solosmocker said...
Gorgeous coat and it looks so good on you!
12/18/11 12:57 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Looks very stylish on you, great fit and fashion forward. Very sharp.
12/18/11 8:27 PM
Terri A said...
Gorgeous! I really want this - OK... and your hat :-)
12/18/11 11:07 PM
PattyE said...
A faux sherling coat is on my list of things to make. Yours is fab and I enjoyed your review.
12/18/11 11:43 PM
pdiddly said...
Not sure there is room for many more compliments, but here is my one - Beautiful
12/19/11 6:09 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Very nice C! I have been looking at these coats in the stores.....since I've had no time to sew lately and let me just say....you've nailed it! Love it! Nice work!
12/20/11 6:25 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks everyone for your wonderful compliments.
12/21/11 4:32 PM
craftylady66 said...
Looks amazing! How exactly did you make the buttonholes?
12/28/11 10:51 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Hi Craftylady66 - I didn't make the conventional buttonholes. I cut a strip of the fabric; then cut away most of the shearling to reduce the bulk. Next I cut rectangles 1" X 2" to reinforce where the buttonhole would be sewn. The rectangles were positioned on the wrong side; then I sew them to the coat making a rectangle that I made a slit in for the buttonhole. See pictures of them on Flickr. Thanks for asking. Cennetta
12/29/11 2:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Drape Drape Dress no 3

photo
by: valerie se...

Review
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now