Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8663 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 482 times 28 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/17/11 11:22 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
SUPER CUTE dress! I really like the stitched-down pleats, and think they most definitely bring it to "beyond basic." I also like the way you did the narrow facing. I'm going to give that a shot next time the opportunity arises (ASSUMING I REMEMBER). As for HOT FLASHES, don't rush them -- ha! Now as for me, you never know when I may be FREEZING or DRIPPING! :o) Must be dripping mostly, since Bailey has taken to calling me "Flash." I love the whole look with the tights, by the way. :o)
12/18/11 1:54 AM
petro said...
Nice dress, you got a good fit after all the reductions. Like Annette, I think the neck pleats do add something when the dress isn't layered under things, especially in the photo with the necklace. I love the hem length you gave this, and the swingy look to the skirt. It works with flats at that level.
12/18/11 2:38 AM
JEF said...
Really love the topstitched pleats (darts?). I think you've got to find a way to wear this to show those off. Great job on your scarf too!
12/18/11 9:13 AM
21wale said...
I love the color and the topstitched pleats are a fabulous detail. The "facing" you did is a nice compromise between a full (floppy) facing and a bias tape finish.
12/18/11 10:04 AM
marec said...
This looks great! I love the dress with the wide belt, love the colors you chose, love the tights... I understand your comment "...pretending that clogs are the new heels" :-) My new low heeled boots have been my faves this season. Finally. the stitched down pleats look terrific.
12/18/11 11:17 AM
cleverkitty said...
I hear ya on the bunions, no kidding comfort first from here on in. Lucky you Cotton knit that I just love and can't get enough of, beautiful color on this addition to your wardrobe. You reminded me I want to make a long sleeve version :)
12/18/11 11:44 AM
ArtAttack said...
This is really cute. You did a great job on the pleats and the neckline facing. It fits great and looks cute with the belt. Who's to say you will ever have a hot flash? I never did!
12/18/11 3:21 PM
margk said...
Great to see dresses that look good with flat shoes! Beautiful work.
12/18/11 6:05 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress!!!Thanks for showing the topstiched pleated detail. It really makes the dress. Great color on you.
12/18/11 7:24 PM
DreinPA said...
I think it totally looks beyond basic; but I think a narrower belt would trim the whole look. If you really want pow, you can still topstitch in a darker color. Wise choice to narrow the fit.
12/18/11 7:48 PM
Barbara V said...
What a very cheerful color to brighten up these winter days. It looks great in the cotton/lycra and in the adjusted closer fit you chose. Also looks cozy and warm with the tights and vest.
12/18/11 9:31 PM
Terri A said...
Very cute dress and I love the scarf you made:-)
12/18/11 11:10 PM
pdiddly said...
despite your reservations, the dress looks really nice - I especially love the colour and it works well with the tights and black jacket
12/19/11 6:17 PM
whirrclunk said...
I'm sorry that you're not pleased with your dress, but I think that it looks good! The color is excellent on you, and your neckline pleating is far too neat and flat to hide away! I'll try your neckline finish the next time that I try this dress, thank you for writing up the details and photos.
1/3/12 3:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Schnittquelle 01-133
photo
Review by Margaret on 3/15/14
Read Review

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern
You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 3197 Lydia
photo
Review by senaSews on 9/12/08
Read Review

McCalls 6610 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6610 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6440 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 6440 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us