SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2009-132 (132 Men's Shirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 336 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews: 217 (patterns: 207)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 124 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/25/11 9:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CallMeSu said... (1/9/12 0:49 AM) Reply
great looking shirt!
crisford said... (1/3/12 12:11 PM) Reply
That looks great! I am impressed with your details in altering the pattern. Sounds like you didn't even do a muslin. Very interesting about the higher-cut armscye.
Sew4Fun said... (12/30/11 5:09 PM) Reply
Great shirt and very helpful review, thanks.
Anne Cherry said... (12/26/11 7:20 PM) Reply
Beautifully done! My DH would also appreciate the ease of arm movement...am going to hunt down this issue! And check out Threads Archive for that article. Thanks for the detailed review!
Erin D said... (12/26/11 2:22 PM) Reply
What a great looking shirt! The fit is really flattering. Some day I want to be brave enough to tackle a project like this for my DH.
Brine said... (12/26/11 1:23 PM) Reply
Great shirt and review. Thanks especially for the link for a dartless FBA
JEF said... (12/26/11 8:57 AM) Reply
Absolutely wonderful looking.
Rebecca Szetela said... (12/26/11 6:57 AM) Reply
Great looking shirt! Perfect timing for your review. My husband is working on a similar shirt over the holidays using an islander pattern, but he recently lost 40 lbs. (intentionally...he's a big guy, but now a trim big guy and very happy about it) so sizing and fit are bigger issues now. thanks for this very detailed sewing review with so many details and links. Your final product is excellent and your review much appreciated!
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said... (12/26/11 1:22 AM) Reply
Great job! As a shirt-maker by profession, I watch Designer RTW trends closely. Almost all of the top names in menswear have shirts with back darts these days, and for the past few seasons...many also now use darts that begin at the armscye on menswear shirts! On the back darts, high-priced designers top stitch them to make them appear as a deliberate design element and for strength...as well as for a fitted silhouette. (please forgive any typos, I am up in the middle of the night, foggy on cold medication ;)
Sharonspils said... (12/26/11 0:23 AM) Reply
Thank you that is a great shirt and have been looking for a European cut shirt pattern for DH just hope I've got that issue.
Elemenopeo said... (12/25/11 10:39 PM) Reply
Great shirt. Thanks for all the helpful details. I've decided to make 2012 the year of sewing for my DH and have this pattern and he likes your version.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Skinny Bitch Curvy Chick SB300

photo
by: susandf

Review
Serendipity Studio Sew Serendipity Bag (book

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Pattern Details
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Pattern Details