SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1941 (Misses blouse)

6 more reviews
Viewed 639 times 
Reviewed by:Sophia.Sews
photo

 
 
About Sophia.Sewsstar
Member since: 1/25/09
Reviews: 52 (patterns: 52)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/20/11 5:49 AM
Last Updated:12/20/11 5:50 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
denese said... (10/3/12 7:28 AM) Reply
well i love your shirt. dont worry about the fabric if you not happy upgrade next time. have a look and emma one sock where they sometimes have shirting in its own catogary but i think you wonderful and its made well alsol
21wale said... (12/20/11 7:01 PM) Reply
Using quilting cottons for shirts is part of the learning curve (: (I still do use it occasionally, I have to say, usually for kids' clothes, especially if it's soft). However, I think the shirt looks lovely. The fit seems good, too, and that's the hard part!
Aroura said... (12/20/11 10:47 AM) Reply
I'm sorry your fabric didn't work out for you. I understand, I used quilting cotton for a shirt when I was a novice, and it didn't turn out well either. Now I use quilting cottons pretty soley for bags, aprons, and the like. I am certain you would love this if you used a more suitable fabric, it looks like you did a beautiful job with fitting!
carolrv said... (12/20/11 6:21 AM) Reply
I suggest a fabric category called "shirting". These can be made of different fibers and combinations of fibers, including some with a tiny amount of stretch. Shirting fabrics will probably hang better than the crisp quilting fabric that you bought. Be sure to prewash the fabric before cutting and sewing because that can make it softer and also takes care of any shrinkage that may occur.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1011

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Pattern Details