SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1941 (Misses blouse)

6 more reviews
Viewed 636 times 
Reviewed by:Sophia.Sews
photo

 
 
About Sophia.Sewsstar
Member since: 1/25/09
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 52
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/20/11 5:49 AM
Last Updated:12/20/11 5:50 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
denese said... (10/3/12 7:28 AM) Reply
well i love your shirt. dont worry about the fabric if you not happy upgrade next time. have a look and emma one sock where they sometimes have shirting in its own catogary but i think you wonderful and its made well alsol
21wale said... (12/20/11 7:01 PM) Reply
Using quilting cottons for shirts is part of the learning curve (: (I still do use it occasionally, I have to say, usually for kids' clothes, especially if it's soft). However, I think the shirt looks lovely. The fit seems good, too, and that's the hard part!
Aroura said... (12/20/11 10:47 AM) Reply
I'm sorry your fabric didn't work out for you. I understand, I used quilting cotton for a shirt when I was a novice, and it didn't turn out well either. Now I use quilting cottons pretty soley for bags, aprons, and the like. I am certain you would love this if you used a more suitable fabric, it looks like you did a beautiful job with fitting!
carolrv said... (12/20/11 6:21 AM) Reply
I suggest a fabric category called "shirting". These can be made of different fibers and combinations of fibers, including some with a tiny amount of stretch. Shirting fabrics will probably hang better than the crisp quilting fabric that you bought. Be sure to prewash the fabric before cutting and sewing because that can make it softer and also takes care of any shrinkage that may occur.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 100492-1046

photo
by: petro

Review
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Pattern Details