SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6444 (Misses' Unlined Jackets and Vest)

2 more reviews
Viewed 426 times 
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marecstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 149
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 144
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/19/11 7:25 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
Great looking vest and great looking on you! Please do not use it for a dental shield! It's way to classy for that! This is the first time I've noticed this cool pattern and have the same "loves" for it as you do. Smart improvements on the seams and corners.
12/19/11 8:20 PM
Kim12469 said...
I really like it!!!
12/19/11 8:30 PM
LauraM62 said...
It looks really nice! I appreciate the review as I've been looking at making items like this for this winter. Those kind of instructions always leave me a little frustrated.
12/19/11 8:32 PM
Aroura said...
Very stylish vest on you, and I love the hood! Great job with your seam finishes. Oh, and I like your new avatar. :)
12/19/11 9:13 PM
21wale said...
I think these kinds of open vests are just difficult to finish in general (I left all the outside edges raw on the version I just made). But I really like your end result. And actually, the color seems nice to me - a good neutral for interesting colors underneath. The hood is great, too.
12/19/11 9:16 PM
PattyE said...
I think you did a great job. I have this pattern and I appreciate your review. It will influence my choice of fabric for this piece.
12/19/11 11:38 PM
ArtAttack said...
LOL@Marec! I used to be a dental assistant many years ago so I got a laugh out of this review. I think it's adorable on you. Too bad it became a pain while hemming. It looks very chic on you!
12/19/11 11:59 PM
jannw said...
It looks very good on you! I hope you enjoy it more..it's a classy look. btw that's not "dirt", it's a "basic neutral"! lol
12/20/11 1:27 AM
cleverclogs said...
Many thanks for the great photo! I was thinking about making this but now know (from your beautiful pics) that while it looks good on you, I'd drown in this amount of fabric. Marec and PR saved me from another tragic mistake!
12/20/11 6:58 AM
betty bushwacker said...
I dunno Marec, it looks really nice to me. I'd love to read the dog's mind though, the look on his face sent me into giggles
12/20/11 9:17 AM
annie11 said...
I really like it! I think it looks super chic on you. I do know the feeling of too much fabric though, and understand that it may not be practical for your lifestyle. Thanks for the entertaining review!
12/20/11 9:36 AM
Margaret said...
I find, too, that the finishing is the main downfall of many Big4 patterns. Your version looks great! It sure doesn't sound like it was your favorite fabric, but it looks like it's soft enough to really work well with all the volume.
12/20/11 9:43 AM
marthamyers said...
Fun and useful review. Thanks. The hood is fab. I can certainly understand your frustration with such weak instructions.
12/20/11 2:31 PM
treefrog said...
Looks great on you. Had a good chuckle with the "runny cotton' comment.
12/20/11 4:53 PM
fourkid said...
You did a fabulous job. Thanks for this great review! I t looks very nice on you - so you can wear lots of fabric :)
12/21/11 9:00 AM
CallMeSu said...
Adroable!
12/23/11 11:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 6503

photo
by: Nessahux

Review
New Look 6103

photo
by: BlossomKyl...

Review
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now