SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2011-120 (Dress with Front Ruffle)

2 more reviews
Viewed 466 times 
Reviewed by:ImListening
photo

 
 
About ImListeningstar
CA USA
Member since: 2/24/09
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/23/11 12:47 PM
Last Updated:12/25/11 11:33 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ImListening said...
Thank you all for your comments. The pattern calls for "wool and blends". And the fabric used in the magazine photos is wool crepe. AS MENTIONED IN THE REVIEW AND IN THE COMMENTS ABOVE, 5/8" SEAM ALLOWANCES WERE ADDED.
12/27/11 8:34 PM
yummymummy38 said...
This question Sounds really obvious, but is it recommended for knit fabrics only? It's unusual for Burda to be really two sizes out otherwise. Otherwise, it is easy to forget to add seam allowances to something ;)
12/25/11 6:38 PM
persevering said...
What a lovely dress! Thank you very much for your review and discussion especially regarding sizing.
12/25/11 12:17 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress!
12/25/11 11:52 AM
ImListening said...
yes, I added 5/8" seam allowances.
12/25/11 11:28 AM
tsedai said...
Very nice! I usually can go with Burda's sizing - it has been very consistent for me. Did you remember to add seam allowances when you traced? I nearly forgot on my first Burda and remembered only just before I started cutting fabric. You look much slimmer than I am, and I would think a 42 would be too large... Otherwise this must be a very oddly sized pattern for Burda. In any case, very nice review - love your dress!
12/25/11 9:57 AM
Aroura said...
I think it turned out beautifully! You did a great job with all that work getting a good fit.
12/23/11 5:27 PM
BeaJay said...
Love the outfit - really like how you have done the buttons. It looks great on you.
12/23/11 5:13 PM
Anne Cherry said...
ah...I see your point! Signed: ImNotReadingAsCloselyasIShould ;-P
12/23/11 5:08 PM
ImListening said...
Thank you for your comments. My point was that I DID go with Burda's measurement charts on my first muslin and it was way to small. I had to go with a size on their charts which indicated it would fit a person much larger than I am to get a reasonable fit.
12/23/11 4:52 PM
Anne Cherry said...
I like your sleeve buttons! Agree with dbsewer, best to go by the measurement chart with Burda. I like Burda (and European patterns generally) better than the US 'Big 4' (Vogue, Butterick, McCalls. Simplicity) - they are more dependable - ie - I can pretty much make a size 42 and know it will fit, whatever the style.
12/23/11 4:45 PM
dbsewer said...
Burda fit is not the same as US patterns, so you have to really go by the measurement chart. Even then, a muslin or two is a must. But I like your dress and think it's really pretty, and you did a very nice job with the ruffle.
12/23/11 1:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Buy Now