SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2010-111 (High-Neck Wrap Blouse)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest
Viewed 512 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/11 9:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Wino said...
Super cute! Very flattering. Love the olive.
12/30/11 9:20 AM
unfinishedprojects said...
I never even noticed this top in the magazine, but you've convinced me. Love the ties.
12/30/11 11:03 AM
Elona said...
Both of your tops came out looking great (lots of work involved), and the underarm billowing is not visible. Underarm billow is kind of a deal breaker, isn't it, but your results are so pretty that I am almost tempted--almost--to trace this one off.
12/30/11 11:55 AM
SewWil said...
I think both tops are very pretty in their own way. Great review. Thanks!
12/30/11 12:05 PM
Mufffet said...
Love these. Very nice style for almost anyone, not just the prime suspect here! ;) I love that this can be casual or dressy.
12/30/11 12:13 PM
French.Seam said...
I love your reviews. I avoided this top because the photos make the drape look much lower (and so revealing) than the illustration appears
12/30/11 12:25 PM
cleverkitty said...
really nice tops both fabrics I love, your fabric stash or I should say your Carol collection is amazing. I had a similar experience with finding a treasure of wool fabrics and another occasion of silk thread ( every color ever made) that I'm still using. Oh the happiness of that experience and yes I laid it all out like you did, I could not be happier. Happy Sewing nicegirl...
12/30/11 12:41 PM
Izzie said...
Both of your tops are lovely. I made this top as well and, after seeing yours, I realize mine would look better with ties too. Thanks for the idea and the detailed photos of how you did the ties...genius.
12/30/11 3:42 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Beautiful blouses! The tie was a perfect add on!
12/31/11 6:26 AM
olgarosita said...
I know this pattern, but I avoided it because, like you, I am small-busted. I like how they look with the ties, I think they are a great addition!
12/31/11 9:40 AM
JoyceP said...
Y'know, I really love the look of that plaid version. It seems a bit more structured surely than the flowy green. But it looks really sharp! Nice job with the fabric and the pattern adjustments.
12/31/11 9:57 AM
Lizz said...
I, too, avoided this blouse because it looked very low in front. Now I will give it another look. As a 38DD it may suit me very well! Happy New Years!
12/31/11 12:59 PM
Anne Cherry said...
Genius tie solution. The soft drape of the olive version is perfect for this style.
12/31/11 5:58 PM
Sewingelle said...
Both tops are lovely. I have just finished this pattern too, in a very light cotton-silk without sleeves (not yet reviewed or blogged). I was planning to add ties to my next version and you've confirmed that! How do yours look tucked in?
1/1/12 0:33 AM
stitchnz said...
I think both these tops look gorgeous on you, no hint of too much fabric under the arms!
1/5/12 3:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2012-12

photo
by: kidmd

Review
McCall's 5815

photo
by: KG2

Review
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now