SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7600 (large brim hat)

17 more reviews
Viewed 1392 times 
Reviewed by:KathleenS
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KathleenSstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/24/04 7:37 AM
Last Updated:10/25/04 3:22 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Oziroo said...
It's a pity it's a bit large. Actually it looks rather attractive, I think!
10/25/04 7:28 AM
Hilary said...
I think your hat looks quite pretty on you-the blue plays up your eyes and looks lovely! I think it'd be worth trying to make it fit :o) Thanks for sharing!
10/25/04 7:46 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your hat looks really cute on you. Maybe you could add a grosgrain ribbon to the inside brim (by hand) to tighten the brim to fit you better. It would be well worth it to get it to fit you because it's such a cute hat! I really like the fabric.
10/25/04 9:04 AM
Annika said...
It's a lovely hat even if it's a little bit too big!
10/25/04 10:50 AM
Molly O' said...
I found this hat fairly easy to make up but was disappointed that the sew-in interfacing I used (sorry, can't remember, but it was recommended by the store) was too weak also. I like to be able to roll up my hats but do like a brim that stays put most of the time.
10/25/04 10:51 AM
Elona said...
Kathleen, as Debe says, a sewn-in grosgrain band should make it possible to smallify your hat. I do this all the time with mine. Just get a length of pre-shrunk grosgrain ribbon. Fit it around your head at a tightness you like (not too tight). Have someone mark it for you, and allow for seam allowances. Stitch the raw edges together. Mark the circle at quarters and halves, and do the same to your hat where you want the ribbon hatband to be. Pin the ribbon into place in your hat, matching the marks, and hand-stitch the ribbon into place. You may find yourself gently easing in the excess circumference, but there probably will be less than you think.
10/25/04 1:26 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the comments everyone, and thanks to Elona and Debe for the suggestion (and detailed instructions Elona) - I hadn't thought of fixing it that way and will give it a try.
10/26/04 7:45 AM
LiZ said...
What a great idea to make a hat. I also find that I have a large head circumference.
10/26/04 9:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Advance Pattern Company 8436

photo
by: Graca

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now