SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7600 (large brim hat)

17 more reviews
Viewed 1395 times 
Reviewed by:KathleenS
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KathleenSstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews: 78 (patterns: 72)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/24/04 7:37 AM
Last Updated:10/25/04 3:22 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LiZ said... (10/26/04 9:01 PM) Reply
What a great idea to make a hat. I also find that I have a large head circumference.
KathleenS said... (10/26/04 7:45 AM) Reply
Thanks for the comments everyone, and thanks to Elona and Debe for the suggestion (and detailed instructions Elona) - I hadn't thought of fixing it that way and will give it a try.
Elona said... (10/25/04 1:26 PM) Reply
Kathleen, as Debe says, a sewn-in grosgrain band should make it possible to smallify your hat. I do this all the time with mine. Just get a length of pre-shrunk grosgrain ribbon. Fit it around your head at a tightness you like (not too tight). Have someone mark it for you, and allow for seam allowances. Stitch the raw edges together. Mark the circle at quarters and halves, and do the same to your hat where you want the ribbon hatband to be. Pin the ribbon into place in your hat, matching the marks, and hand-stitch the ribbon into place. You may find yourself gently easing in the excess circumference, but there probably will be less than you think.
Molly O' said... (10/25/04 10:51 AM) Reply
I found this hat fairly easy to make up but was disappointed that the sew-in interfacing I used (sorry, can't remember, but it was recommended by the store) was too weak also. I like to be able to roll up my hats but do like a brim that stays put most of the time.
Annika said... (10/25/04 10:50 AM) Reply
It's a lovely hat even if it's a little bit too big!
Sew it seams said... (10/25/04 9:04 AM) Reply
Your hat looks really cute on you. Maybe you could add a grosgrain ribbon to the inside brim (by hand) to tighten the brim to fit you better. It would be well worth it to get it to fit you because it's such a cute hat! I really like the fabric.
Hilary said... (10/25/04 7:46 AM) Reply
I think your hat looks quite pretty on you-the blue plays up your eyes and looks lovely! I think it'd be worth trying to make it fit :o) Thanks for sharing!
Oziroo said... (10/25/04 7:28 AM) Reply
It's a pity it's a bit large. Actually it looks rather attractive, I think!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

McCall's 6193

photo
by: fattyboomb...

Review
Made By Rae Buttercup Bag

photo
by: Lori9999

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Pattern Details
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details