SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7600 (large brim hat)

17 more reviews
Viewed 1393 times 
Reviewed by:KathleenS
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KathleenSstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/24/04 7:37 AM
Last Updated:10/25/04 3:22 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LiZ said...
What a great idea to make a hat. I also find that I have a large head circumference.
10/26/04 9:01 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the comments everyone, and thanks to Elona and Debe for the suggestion (and detailed instructions Elona) - I hadn't thought of fixing it that way and will give it a try.
10/26/04 7:45 AM
Elona said...
Kathleen, as Debe says, a sewn-in grosgrain band should make it possible to smallify your hat. I do this all the time with mine. Just get a length of pre-shrunk grosgrain ribbon. Fit it around your head at a tightness you like (not too tight). Have someone mark it for you, and allow for seam allowances. Stitch the raw edges together. Mark the circle at quarters and halves, and do the same to your hat where you want the ribbon hatband to be. Pin the ribbon into place in your hat, matching the marks, and hand-stitch the ribbon into place. You may find yourself gently easing in the excess circumference, but there probably will be less than you think.
10/25/04 1:26 PM
Molly O' said...
I found this hat fairly easy to make up but was disappointed that the sew-in interfacing I used (sorry, can't remember, but it was recommended by the store) was too weak also. I like to be able to roll up my hats but do like a brim that stays put most of the time.
10/25/04 10:51 AM
Annika said...
It's a lovely hat even if it's a little bit too big!
10/25/04 10:50 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your hat looks really cute on you. Maybe you could add a grosgrain ribbon to the inside brim (by hand) to tighten the brim to fit you better. It would be well worth it to get it to fit you because it's such a cute hat! I really like the fabric.
10/25/04 9:04 AM
Hilary said...
I think your hat looks quite pretty on you-the blue plays up your eyes and looks lovely! I think it'd be worth trying to make it fit :o) Thanks for sharing!
10/25/04 7:46 AM
Oziroo said...
It's a pity it's a bit large. Actually it looks rather attractive, I think!
10/25/04 7:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2008-30

photo
by: myraminx

Review
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now