Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2153 (Misses Anorak) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 575 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:rutaliet
photo
Friend of PR
About rutalietstar
IL USA
Member since: 8/10/08
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/12 3:46 PM
Last Updated:1/2/12 10:32 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LorrieAnn said...
Very detailed, helpful review - and VERY professional-looking result - a beautiful parka! Well Done!
1/2/12 4:12 PM
treefrog said...
Fantastic parka. I like how you've changed it to be more functional. And so beautifully sewn.
1/2/12 4:30 PM
sewbehind said...
That looks very good. Lovely PARKA. Well done.
1/2/12 6:56 PM
Redsmum said...
this is all kinds of awesome...love the fabric!
1/2/12 7:04 PM
BexInMD said...
Outstanding.
1/2/12 8:43 PM
ArtAttack said...
Unbelievable job! You have the industrial chic thing coming and going! It's gorgeous inside and out...beautiful detail. It would take living in Chicago to know the difference between an anorak and a parka...in Houston we seldom need either one!
1/2/12 10:49 PM
misslydia said...
Awesome job. looks very professional.
1/2/12 11:10 PM
CallMeSu said...
What a wonderful jacket!!! Great job!
1/3/12 1:29 AM
zuzu_petal said...
Truly inspiring---on all levels.
1/3/12 5:41 AM
sewcool21 said...
Great review, The jacket looks great.
1/3/12 6:47 AM
FloraNature said...
Amazing!!! Well done!!!
1/3/12 7:42 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Wow! Great, thorough review with a beautiful outcome! Stylish, professional looking parka.
1/3/12 7:48 AM
Woolygal said...
WOW, does that ever look RTW. Beautiful!
1/3/12 9:01 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Outstanding! Both jacket & review. Your design changes & perfect construction combine for a professional & gorgeous parka. Love it!
1/3/12 11:32 AM
MNBarb said...
I'm SUPER impressed with your skills! You have such even sewing and sharp edges on acetate which is such a challenging fabric to work with. Thanks for including the "on you" photos because that's where the parka looks its best. If you don't like the narrow bottom (which looks fine in your standing photos) would it be too late to make a placket at the lower side seams and add a few snaps?
1/3/12 11:41 AM
SavageCoco said...
OUTSTANDING.
8/7/12 2:47 PM
AuntieShel said...
I am very late to your review, but may I add that it is a totally awesome coat which you look fabulous wearing. I had to chuckle at your distinction that this is NOT an anorak. I recently saw a great PARKA :) in a magazine, and when I looked it up online found that it was $2700!?!?!?! Burberry Psorsum (sorry I mangled that spelling.) Anyway looking thru the pattern books for a pattern I could adapt and came across this one and your review. Thank you so much!!
8/9/12 4:59 PM
HHKChris said...
You did such an awesome job on this jacket! Your modifications made it much more functional - I will be using those and those you wished you did in one for myself. Your review was very helpful!
10/19/12 6:05 PM
cleverkitty said...
Thanks for the all the helpful hints I'm getting ready to cut this out and read your review word for word. Your version looks professional :)
11/1/13 11:00 AM
landstromd said...
Wow, that's all I can say, wow!
11/20/13 11:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Kwik Sew 3336 Misses Skirts
photo
Review by ClaireF in... on 8/8/09
Read Review

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6108
photo
Review by grays08 on 6/13/13
Read Review

Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7880 Pattern
Burda 7880 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us