SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5557 (Misses' Top and Skirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 345 times 
Reviewed by:PAMomof3
photo

 
 
About PAMomof3star
USA
Member since: 6/14/11
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/4/12 3:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
I've had this pattern since it first came out. You mentioned the top was too big-- was this the fit in the bust or shoulders? I'm curious because I'm pretty broad shouldered, so I'm trying to decide if its worth it for me to try to make this one.
1/4/12 3:33 PM
PAMomof3 said...
It was in the bust, sort of, although really it was more under the arms (near the armpit area). The shoulders seem large on me (they keep sliding off) but that might be just because I chose the wrong size for the top. I'm pretty broad shouldered too and it would work well for you, I would think, although I'd recommend making the lining first as a muslin just in case. It is quite flattering on the top (very 50's in style).
1/4/12 3:44 PM
karen n said...
Like your description in your blog as the dress from heck! I've had that feeling at times too.
1/4/12 5:26 PM
Kayabunga said...
Kudos to you for your fearless trek into the unknown ... Captain Kirk and I are proud of you. You did a fabulous job on sewing this pattern together and I suspect most of the problems (except the size thing) came from the fabric. With a more user friendly fabric you would have banged this out with half the drama. I've been sewing since dinosaurs were household pets and this fabric still gives me fits. Keep up the great work and your spirit of adventure. Keep the GG dress so you can wear it when you have Chinese delivered ... and just to add to the fun ... your DH could dress up as Samurai ... :)
1/5/12 8:07 AM
Gendun said...
Yes, hats off to you for your ambition! I am a new sewer, and my skills are a joke, but I used to work in fashion & know about pinning for fit. I agree that the fabric was a critical factor in making this so terribly challenging. Also, given how critical perfect fit is in this sort of pattern, you REALLY needed a sewing buddy to help you adjust it. Much as we'd like to, you can't really do this kind of thing by yourself. So don't beat yourself up if it isn't exactly what you wanted. You are a trooper and deserve our respect for even attempting it! Go girl!
3/22/12 3:27 PM
PAMomof3 said...
Thanks for all the comments! They made me smile (more than the outfit did!) I ended up donating the shirt; I just knew I wouldn't wear it. I also somehow or other lost the closure for the skirt when I bent down at work, so I have to fix that too. Never a dull moment!
6/17/12 7:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

McCall's 4007

photo
by: jewelea

Review
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Maggie

Maggie

Buy Now
Indygo Junction IJ826

photo
by: marycds

Review