Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7335 (Misses' Caftan, Top, and Pants) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1252 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Maven
photo
About Maven
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/16/02 4:43 PM
Last Updated:7/16/02 4:44 PM
See other patterns in this category: Sleepwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Caftans are so cool to wear in the summer, and at home in the winter, love them too, and there are many more models this isn't the only one, so good luck with the next one.A good review.
7/18/02 5:46 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Maven, I made a similar Vogue pattern back in the 1960's-it may even be the same one with a new number! Mine was also so huge I gave it away to a tall man. Vogue pattern sizing is not reliable. You really need to measure the pattern pieces, and expect to go down a size or two from the printed chart. It helps to use your high bust measurement. If I used Vogue's size charts, I would cut a size 22, but a size 18 is closer to fitting-but still oversized. This is why I don't bother with Vogue unless I REALLY like the style.
8/2/02 1:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I was also very excited to make this caftan, and I had the same trouble Maven did. It fell off my shoulders and was much lower cut than the picture showed. I also had trouble aligning the horizontal sewing lines. One side was higher than the other. Fortunately, I did not make it in the fabric I bought the pattern for, but from a piece I had left over.(I made the short version to see if it fit). I don't know if I will try this one again. I really think there's something goofy in the pattern which will require many adjustments around the shoulders and neckline, and in doing so I'm not sure you could keep the vertical lines of the garment visually straight. It requires the mid-pieces both front and back to be raised up to under the collar bones so the shoulders will stay on. I worked on this thing for a week and still it didn't turn out just right. I think, all in all, it's a darling pattern but not a well-designed one.
10/28/02 10:01 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Charlotte R said...
I have this pattern but have not made it yet. Thanks for the warning on checking the sizing before cutting it out/
1/26/03 8:00 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
I just bought this pattern to make as a night gown. I was thinking about how I was going to enlarge it, but i guess I won't have to! thanks for the review...you have saved me some pain. I will measure over my shoulder and set the middle pieces where i want them on the neck. I will let everyone know how it turns out.
9/18/04 9:14 PM
Love Lone Star State said...
Forwarned is forarmed. I will cut muslin to determine how to adjust the short top. Thanks for the heads up!
9/13/08 3:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Kwik Sew 2561 Men's Shirts
photo
Review by Debbie Coo... on 7/6/04
Read Review

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2253
photo
Review by couturemom on 5/8/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6459 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6459 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5009 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
Butterick 5009 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us