SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2010-126 (Triangle Bodice Cocktail Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 553 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 320
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 311 people
patterns reviewed: 320
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/12 9:44 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
44 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Restart06 said...
Very nice and fits you well. Enjoy!!
1/6/12 9:49 AM
SewWil said...
You look very glamorous in your dress! Great job as usual. Thanks for the detailed review. Always a pleasure to read and so informative.
1/6/12 10:16 AM
Irene Bullock said...
Thanks for the photo of the front bodice pattern! I tried to make this dress last summer, and it was so roomy in the chest area I got completely discouraged to go further. I'm giving it a second chance, thanks!
1/6/12 10:33 AM
JEF said...
Amazingly beautiful.
1/6/12 10:33 AM
cindyann said...
What a lovely style for you! Nice work.
1/6/12 10:48 AM
carolynw said...
Very beautiful - the fit is absolutely perfect
1/6/12 11:21 AM
SewRuth said...
A lot of work and effort that really paid off. Beautiful starlet
1/6/12 11:23 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Absolutely gorgeous - both you and the dress!
1/6/12 11:32 AM
Aroura said...
Absolutely gorgeous! You certainly do look like a movie star.
1/6/12 11:50 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
You look stunning in this dress! And what a marvelous job of converting it from a cocktail dress. Next, send us a picture of you reclining on a sofa in this dress, drinking wine and being fed grapes by a good-looking guy in a toga all day! Seriously, thanks for another wonderful review.
1/6/12 12:48 PM
Mufffet said...
How lovely! And you DO look a bit like a famous star....say 1930s! :) Make it again in a zingy blue-green...>;)
1/6/12 12:54 PM
Elemenopeo said...
really lovely
1/6/12 12:59 PM
Twinset said...
You look like a 30's movie star in that fantastic dress, indeed! That color was made for you!
1/6/12 1:25 PM
cleverkitty said...
You wear this dress perfectly with your hair and the style is very flattering. Just beautiful!
1/6/12 1:59 PM
MaryDB said...
Kudos to you on making a beautiful, classy dress. Looks terrific. Nice work.
1/6/12 3:08 PM
echolalia said...
How beautiful is this! Fabulous design-fabric match and adapted to match your vision. Thanks for a thorough review.
1/6/12 4:45 PM
kkkkaty said...
wow, love it!
1/6/12 6:35 PM
Elke said...
Fabulous dress and it looks lovely on you!
1/6/12 6:45 PM
Raye Ann said...
Very beautiful dress, perfect styling. You look glamorous!
1/6/12 6:53 PM
KathleenS said...
I also love 1930s gowns, and I think you really got the look!
1/6/12 7:07 PM
Sassy T said...
Absolutely Stunning!! And you do look like a Hollywood Silver Screen Actress.
1/6/12 7:41 PM
Sassy T said...
Absolutely Stunning!! And you do look like a Hollywood Silver Screen Actress. Oops done twice and I don't know how to delete lol.
1/6/12 7:41 PM
JillyBe said...
I've already commented on your blog, but this is worth complimenting twice (or more)...Stunning!
1/6/12 8:53 PM
Karen Easter said...
The bride is right: you DO look like a movie star! The dress looks perfect, the flowers are lovely, and your hair is exactly right for the style of the dress. Quite amazing!
1/6/12 9:53 PM
Karen6790 said...
Worth every penny and every minute of work - you look gorgeous. (And I too have lost my ability to insert a regular zipper, amazing).
1/6/12 11:19 PM
MissyBelle said...
You look incredibly sophisticated and charming. Cute hair.
1/6/12 11:27 PM
MissyBelle said...
You look incredibly sophisticated and charming. Cute hair.
1/6/12 11:27 PM
Julia C said...
You look gorgeous & very elegant in that dress.
1/7/12 9:33 AM
Julia C said...
You look gorgeous & very elegant in that dress.
1/7/12 9:33 AM
heathergwo said...
Really beautiful & glamorous! Excellent job!
1/7/12 10:36 AM
chriseen said...
A perfect meeting of fabric, pattern, and wearer. And sewist. You look stunning and adorable. Accolades also to your eye for fabric: I vaguely remember seeing this at Exquisite but I never would have envisioned such a perfect destiny for it.
1/7/12 11:20 AM
Sadlesor said...
So 1930's...love your style
1/7/12 12:56 PM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous and thank you for the detailed review.
1/7/12 4:58 PM
jenleeC said...
Your dress looks beautiful! The current Australian vogue features a Lanvin silk tulle dress that is very reminiscent of yours. It retails for $8640!!
1/7/12 7:14 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
It's not NICE to be more beautiful than the bride ;D
1/7/12 8:56 PM
Mushywear said...
This is a stunning dress! You look absolutely amazing! Fantastic job!
1/8/12 2:40 AM
becca a said...
You do indeed look like a movie star in this dress! What a stunning dress! This is the perfect use for this lovely pleated fabric.
1/8/12 10:35 AM
lamstu said...
You look just like a movie star in this great dress!
1/8/12 6:27 PM
ChristineX said...
That is way better than the Burda version. Fantastic job!!!!
1/8/12 10:07 PM
mochimo said...
Beautiful beautiful beautiful dress! (and I also love your hairdo a lot!)
1/9/12 8:48 AM
ClioBklyn said...
Starlet is the word that comes to mind! What a stunning dress for a NYE wedding.
1/9/12 5:05 PM
waltzqueen said...
Love the va va vooom gown! You are dripping glamour and your hair style complements the gown beautifully. How lucky you had that fabulous fabric too!
1/10/12 12:42 PM
waltzqueen said...
IDEA! Have a formal Oscar's Night party! and perhaps a glittering rhinestone necklace . . . OK, I admit I love shiny baubles.
1/10/12 12:48 PM
CypGrl said...
So elegant. Very flattering style on you.
1/12/12 7:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now