Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8710 (misses top) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 396 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:lesliez
photo
Friend of PR
About lesliezstar
OR USA
Member since: 2/12/06
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/12 2:49 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhey said...
I think it looks great, wear it with a smile and that's all people will see. This comes too late to help you but might help someone else, I've found that very narrow stripes draw the eye the opposite of what you would expect, so verticals emphasize width instead of height which can cause an unflattering illusion where it shouldn't.
1/7/12 3:10 AM
marec said...
It looks great on you, especially paired with your hair and wonderful earrings. How about if you shorten it by an inch? I like it very much on you and I am not just being "nice". I have this pattern and have not made it up for the very reasons you stated. I just do not see those concerns with your picture. :-)
1/7/12 11:06 AM
carolynw said...
When I saw the photo I thought "just like the pattern" - and I think it looks lovely on you but you are the wearer and if you don't feel comfortable in it then it will have to be a PJ top - maybe you should reconsider?
1/7/12 12:55 PM
SewWil said...
From the picture your top looks great on you. Maybe you need to put it away for a little while and try it on at a later date. If you still feel strongly about then you will have a stylish pajama.
1/7/12 1:52 PM
lesliez said...
Thanks, everyone for the comments and tips. marec, I wondered if shortening it might make a difference. I'll give that a try to see if I like it any better. Rhey, that's an interesting insight about the stripes. I'll keep that in mind in the future.
1/7/12 2:29 PM
Frozzy said...
When I look at the picture, the sleeves and the bottom of the top are the same length, and I think the eye follows that unbroken horizontal line of the sleeves AND the top accross. If you either shortened the top or shortened the sleeve to 3/4 length, maybe that would help break that up. Otherwise it is really cute, so it would be worth trying to save! Great review, by the way.
1/17/12 2:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

New Look 6959 Child Dresses
photo
Review by Kristine K... on 8/29/10
Read Review

Oliver S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl BO325 Baguette
photo
Review by PursesbyKP on 7/15/10
Read Review

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1398 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 1398 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6015 Pattern( Size )
McCalls 6015 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us