SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans)

162 more reviews
Viewed 465 times 
Reviewed by:JDpenelope
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JDpenelopestarstar
Member since: 9/9/03
Reviews written: 84
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 78
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:1/8/12 1:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cleverkitty said...
I made these several times, low rise, regular, three different sizes and as long shorts too, I love this pattern. I too needed to find the perfect fit maybe the wine is the secret. I do keep improving them. Your pair looks real nice even as a muslin and I commend you for all your reading up on making jeans with the jeans sew along, I tend to read after the fact.. Using two threads threaded the same path into the same needle works real good for me getting a thicker thread look. Good Luck on the jean contest...
1/8/12 2:43 PM
katlew03 said...
I agree with cleverkitty about using two threads instead of topstitching thread. My machine handles it much better. Just finished altering 6 pair of corduroy jeans for DD and found two threads so much easier and neater looking. Also don't get the skipped stitches that occur with the heavier thread.
1/8/12 3:26 PM
Raye Ann said...
Great looking muslin! I agree, ir was freeing to know this first run was just to learn on:) I have a second pair cut out to muslin....want to try a smaller size and perhaps a contoured band this time. I also straightened the leg for version 2.
1/8/12 3:45 PM
Patti B said...
Great muslin, Joanne. I see a future of sewing jeans for your DGD. I am glad to hear that Lura's is still around.
1/8/12 7:08 PM
Patti B said...
iPad hiccup -- sorry!
1/8/12 7:08 PM
Patti B said...
Hiccup #2.
1/8/12 7:09 PM
treefrog said...
Well done. I can't wait to see the final pair of jeans. The topstitching on the back pocket is excellent. Hope you get good news with the fit.
1/8/12 7:34 PM
JDpenelope said...
Patti B Take a deep breath and hold it! By the way, I have iPad envy. Thanks, everyone, for the feedback.
1/8/12 8:42 PM
Levone said...
These are great looking jeans for a trial run. I definitely need to order this pattern.
1/9/12 9:27 AM
Symon said...
Your jeans look fantastic! I've added this pattern to my wish list for when I get the guts to finally try making a pair! LOL
1/9/12 3:19 PM
allycovey said...
eyp I found several things I didn't like about this pattern but overall it is really great. You did a fantastic job on them. Making for someone else who is not there can be a challenge!!
1/9/12 3:37 PM
JDpenelope said...
There's more I could say about this attempt, but a girl can only cover so much ground in a muslin review. allycovey mentioned how difficult it would be to fit someone who's not here. I can't even fit myself and I'm always here. But her point, and those of others, isn't lost on me. I may end up just making a pair for myself. Thanks again, everyone.
1/9/12 8:01 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
The back pockets look great! I'm looking forward to your jeans for the contest. Keep up the good work.
1/14/12 9:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Buy Now