SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4940 (Lord of the Rings)

8 more reviews
Viewed 3129 times 
Reviewed by:Annika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annikastar
WA USA
Member since: 11/14/03
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/25/04 11:54 PM
Last Updated:11/2/04 0:19 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Evatgirl73 said...
The dress looks GREAT on you, beautiful colors!! Great finds on the fabrics too, gotta love that..!
10/26/04 0:12 AM
Diana M said...
Wonderful costume that sounds versatile for you! How fun -- and I love your belt and necklace with it.
10/26/04 0:47 AM
els said...
Annika, great costume and what a luck to find such fabric so cheap.The colors are very pretty on you, hope to see a picture with all the works like elf ears and make up. Btw I like your new hairdo nice picture. Like your new picture
10/26/04 5:35 AM
Tini said...
WOHOHOHOOWWW!!! Great Great great costume & great wig :) Love it! I have this pattern too but I'm trying to sew mainly from my stash at the moment and I don't have a suitable one for a costume like that but I will sew this one up in 2005! I really like your new picture too!
10/26/04 6:17 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great costume. Sounds like you had nearly as much fun making it as you will have wearing it! I think I need to visit the Wal-Mart sale table more often.
10/26/04 6:31 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Annika, you look stunning! You're absolutely right, this would be gorgeous in another version with Celtic embroidery. I hadn't realized how versatile this pattern is.
10/26/04 6:58 AM
Yestersew said...
Love the color of your dress. I just finished this pattern in gold liquid lame with a black velveteen vest. Spectacular. I found some directions confusing as well-Instructions for one view would give results for another. It all worked out in the end.
10/26/04 8:31 AM
rosewood39 said...
the dress looks great, good job and thanks for the review!
10/26/04 9:03 AM
MariaDenmark said...
WOW!!!! Annika - you look stunning! That is a great outfit - I would love to see a picture with the elf-ears!
10/26/04 11:20 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Fantastic costume, Annika! Do take a picture when you have the elf ears on,please? I really like your new "by-line" picture, too.
10/26/04 6:01 PM
Susan R said...
Very, very cool, Annika! (as expected)
10/26/04 7:24 PM
Ligeia said...
This is lovely, what a beautiful colour. I was going to sew this too sometime *g* as I have the pattern in my stash and now I am inspired to give it a go knowing (your) end result looks so good!
10/28/04 6:17 AM
els said...
Thanks for adding the new pictures with make-up and ears. You look stunning and whow, what an eyelashes.
10/31/04 6:22 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Annika, what did you do on Hallowe'en? Did you win any costume prizes?
10/31/04 10:00 PM
Annika said...
Katherine - Last night (Saturday) I went to a party given by friends from the theatre - most of the people there were local actors and directors. Thanks for the lovely comments y'all!
10/31/04 10:48 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Gorgeous!
11/1/04 12:18 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Great new pictures! I love your necklace- you made it yourself, didn't you?
11/1/04 3:05 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a fantastic dress! It is dazzling on you. That's amazing that you were able to find the fabrics at Walmart.
11/4/04 1:03 AM
Cristina_TC said...
BEAUTIFUL!!!
6/13/07 6:39 AM
Hooptastic said...
Great review and good job! I too have been pleasantly suprised with Simplicity lately...and frankly I'm now a fan. Haven't had much of a problem with their patterns this year!
12/28/07 1:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Fleece Hoodie

photo
by: Donel

Review