SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3200 (Blouses)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1574 times 
Reviewed by:Oopsy-Daisy!
photo

 
 
About Oopsy-Daisy!starstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 11/16/02
Reviews: 125 (patterns: 96)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/04 10:13 AM
Last Updated:10/27/04 2:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Oopsy-Daisy! said... (11/27/04 1:42 PM) Reply
Mini, I'm into pattern "transplants" now, too! I did like the v neck and the hem curve, which I'll use (transplant) onto other patterns. I feel you get a much more thinner/flattering look with more fitted/raised armholes. I think it was Nancy Erickson or Peggy Sagers who pointed that out in at an ASG Convention seminar a few years ago.
Mini said... (11/26/04 8:43 PM) Reply
Thanks for the warning. I'm always glad when someone is candid about a problem pattern-that's one of the main reasons I read reviews. I have had the same problem (shoulders too wide, armholes too low) with most KS blouse patterns, even when the illustration looks like a fitted style. I don't even bother using their armholes and sleeve caps any more. Instead I borrow those features from a pattern that fits properly. I found a Simplicity pattern with a shoulder width and armhole size that works perfectly. If I like a KS style enough to make it, I graft it with the relevant parts of the Simplicity pattern. Saves much time and frustration:).
Matilda said... (10/28/04 8:59 AM) Reply
Thanks for the warning!
LiZ said... (10/27/04 2:57 PM) Reply
Very nice PJs, a great idea for testing a pattern.
Oopsy-Daisy! said... (10/26/04 8:21 PM) Reply
I was surprised, too! That seam is right past/off my shoulder, and I have a medium build. My other Kwik Sew blouses/tops in the same size didn't do this.
AnneM said... (10/26/04 7:31 PM) Reply
Pretty nice looking PJs, IMO. I wouldn't have realized it had a dropped shoulder from the pattern drawing (maybe in person, but not on the website).
CarolynGM said... (10/26/04 6:58 PM) Reply
Great way to try out a pattern and get a nice pair of pjs at the same time. I have this pattern in my stash but hadn't noticed the dropped shoulder (which I hate). Thanks for pointing this out.
Diana M said... (10/26/04 12:48 PM) Reply
What a great idea to test a pattern as pj's -- I have a pattern similar to this style that I'd like to try out that way. Thanks for the suggestion! (Oh, nice work, too.)
LisaLS said... (10/26/04 10:27 AM) Reply
That is a nice set of PJs you have! It looks very comfortable.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Other Bronte Knit Top

photo
by: RainyDayPe...

Review
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Pattern Details