SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4044 (1940's Retro Suit)

15 more reviews
Viewed 557 times 
Reviewed by:SavageCoco
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SavageCocostar
CA
Member since: 1/3/12
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/9/12 5:54 PM
Last Updated:1/20/12 12:47 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dmd4106 said...
Great pr of pants. The belt buckle is so fab!
6/23/12 7:00 AM
SavageCoco said...
All - thanks for such great feed-back. Many have asked for more photos of which I have attempted several times to upload to no avail. Also, no pics of me in them because well, pics of me in anything isn't pleasant. However, the dress form does have legs - it is a Fabulous Fit. It's new and I'm still adjusting the foamy lumpy thingies to my shape. Thank you again for all the lovely compliments.
1/20/12 12:38 PM
RMJ said...
I think the belt makes yours look nicer than the pattern envelop photo. I notice your photos show the pants on a dress form, does the form have legs?
1/20/12 9:03 AM
marec said...
I have long admired these trousers and think your version is wonderful. Congratulations on your first review.
1/20/12 1:32 AM
Aunt Gail said...
Hi! ok. I think you did a good job telling us about your experience with this pattern. But--and don't take this as harsh--you wanted feedback. Look at how this review is one big ole solid hunk of words. Don't be afraid to use your Spacer bark! It makes for a easier to read review. Secondly Adding some extra pix is always a good thing--altho it's hard to reeber to stop and take a photo while sewing--but it sure akes the review more helpful. I loved that you didn't feel constrained to use the PR Questions and blindly just answer them - YAY, creativity reigns. For a hoot, you might enjoy the 1948 archive I found on the web and mentioned in my review ages ago of this same pattern: http://www.archive.org/details/Patternf1948 Welcome aboard, Nice job! Hugs
1/20/12 0:55 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Great job on your first review! Your front dip is wonderful--congrats that you were able to pull it off. I'd love to see a picture of you wearing the pants and no I am not a creepy lurking guy. :)
1/19/12 9:32 PM
Laurie Lou said...
I made these pants too and had "issues" with that front dip. I had more trouble with the bumps staying up but with out looking too bulky with the interfacing...issues you might think of in the constructions. Yours look perfect so great success! And nice review, thanks for the review on a great pattern. I still want to make the jacket.
1/19/12 5:10 PM
nicegirl said...
Great pants! Love that shape on the waistband.
1/19/12 11:40 AM
Elemenopeo said...
nice
1/19/12 8:30 AM
halleyscomet said...
Love to see a larger picture! I love the front.
1/19/12 8:30 AM
prttynpnk said...
Nice, really nice!
1/19/12 7:33 AM
lamstu said...
It would be great to see photos of you wearing them. Thanks for the fitting notes!
1/19/12 6:48 AM
Elona said...
Funny review, and that waistline dip looks great!
1/19/12 1:23 AM
JillyBe said...
LOVE that waistline dip! Your alterations sound like a perfect, practical improvement. Congratulations on your first review. :)
1/19/12 0:49 AM
mollyshark said...
I did a vogue version of those pants and I can hardly breathe. In a size 12, the waist measurement is slightly smaller than what it says your body waist measurement should be...and these are NOT knit! Negative "ease" in a woven, huh? Should have done a larger size but maybe I'll find a corset.
1/9/12 6:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

ModKid Patterns Modkid sewing book

photo
by: KLK7

Review
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now