SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Sewaholic Patterns> 1001 (Pendrell Blouse)

33 more reviews
Viewed 334 times 
Reviewed by:Immelu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Immelustar
KS USA
Member since: 5/6/06
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/9/12 11:22 PM
Last Updated:6/29/14 5:29 PM
Project Photo:Sewaholic Patterns: 1001 by Immelu

Sewaholic Patterns: 1001 by Immelu  Sewaholic Patterns: 1001 by Immelu    
Pattern Photo:Sewaholic Patterns 1001
Sewaholic Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by Immelu

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.98 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Updated 6/29/14 to add pics of a new green top. More info on the blog and pictures going the right way here: http://fabricthreadclothes.wordpress.com/2014/06/29/a-sewaholic-pendrell-and-another-burda-7062/

Pattern Description: From the sewaholic site: Semi-fitted pullover blouse has princess seams and bias binding at neck and armhole. View A has softly draped pleated sleeves set into princess seams. View B has ruffled cap sleeves and ruffles set into princess seams. View C is sleeveless.

I've made the basic tank version, view C.

Variations:
Silver
purple-ish/black animal print
White/Black animal print
Blue
Pink multi
Ready for Work

I've also worn the top out, with a chain belt slung around my waist for a different look in warmer weather.

Pattern Sizing: 0-16. I made a 6.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes...exactly.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, this is a very easy top to put together. No closures, no facings!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I LOVE this pattern. so far, I've made it 5 times and will probably make it many more. It's quick, goes together perfectly and fits well. I also like that the length is a little long so that it NEVER comes untucked. I also love that it only takes about a yard of fabric...that's fantastic. Note that the pattern lists it requiring 2 yards..I've had no problem with about 1 if it's wide. I have no dislikes.

Fabric Used: For the 5 variations, the silver and blue solids are from Joanns. I forget the name of the fabric, but it's kind of crinkly and very, very light. The purple-ish/black and white/black animal print are both a poly from walmart. The pink multi is actually a stretch woven from Joanns. That one is actually my favorite of the group.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I had to pinch out little bit from the top center front to bring the princess seams in to where they needed to be. I did a super quick muslin before I cut into my better fabric.

Remember to baste the side seams and try on before you sew with a regular stitch to get the fit just right.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Absolutely!

Conclusion: This is a great basic top. I love that I can keep sewing it in different fabrics and most people will never think a thing about it. This pattern is a keeper!
Available for sale on PR: $15.98 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Wow you certainly got your money's worth from this pattern. Nice tops.
1/9/12 11:46 PM
SewWil said...
Great assortment of tops! Good basic pattern to have.
1/10/12 0:58 AM
jenleeC said...
Love all your versions! This looks like the perfect 'under a jacket' top.
1/10/12 1:11 AM
nicegirl said...
You have put this pattern to good use! Looks great on you, in all the variations.
1/10/12 10:20 AM
TJSEWS said...
I love all the variations. So versatile! With the fabrics you chose, they could go dressy, casual or career.
1/10/12 11:46 AM
Cikka said...
Seriously? About a yard? There have been so many times Iu thought of making this (have the pattern) and each time noticed i didn't have enough fabric! Thanks:)
6/30/14 9:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2010-114

photo
by: marie elis...

Review
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now