Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6594 (New Look 6594 Misses Skirts) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 329 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:pinkcatflower
photo
About pinkcatflowerstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 11/20/09
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/12 11:29 PM
Last Updated:2/11/12 5:04 PM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
a7yrstitch said...
Wonderful pairing of fabric and style and very helpful review. Thanking you for persisting so that you can share a little of your summer with us.
1/15/12 11:55 PM
JEF said...
Very very very cute on you!
1/16/12 0:03 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Gorgeous, pretty skirt! Perfect for a spring/summer day. Great job on matching that side seam too. There is no way I'd be unpicking it either. :)
Btw, the Big 4 use way too much hip ease in pants & skirts (about 3") so I always choose my size using the finished hip m'ment. I like 1" of hip ease in a standard, straight skirt.
1/16/12 0:05 AM
Knitters Delight said...
So nice!
1/16/12 2:20 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your skirt is very cute! Now that you know how to size this pattern I hope you'll make another. Great job!
1/16/12 7:00 AM
cleverkitty said...
Fabric is so beautiful and yes yes yes practice does make perfect. Even since joining PR I have improved :)
1/16/12 8:32 AM
JTink said...
This is just lovely. You did a very nice job and the material is beautiful.
1/16/12 8:40 AM
carolynw said...
With the alterations this skirt fits very nicely - I had been reading your posting on your problems with fitting - The matched side seam is perfect and the fabric is beautiful. Perhaps making a fitting muslin will help with sizing. Keep up the good work
1/16/12 9:58 AM
starryfish said...
Instead of making a muslin of the whole skirt, how about just making up the waistband. When you've got the fit just right, you will be able to see how to adjust the skirt, especially on a full one like this.
1/16/12 12:01 PM
pinkcatflower said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments :) Sew4Fun, I will note done what you've said about ease! And yes, I will be making at least partial muslins for now- that should save me some pain! I've learnt many more lessons.
1/16/12 2:59 PM
poppykettle said...
It's a gorgeous skirt - fitting is not exactly fun, but great when you get it right!
1/16/12 8:19 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Your skirt is very cute. Congratulations on working through your fitting issues! A muslin is a great idea and there are so many times I regret not taking the time to sew one first before cutting into my beautiful fabric! Enjoy wearing your cute skirt!
1/16/12 10:13 PM
Miss Vintage said...
I recently finished making a New Look skirt and was frustrated with the sizing as well. Came across your review while trying to determine if it was just the particular pattern I chose, or their patterns in general. Now I know! Thank you! Yours ended up great in the end - love the print. It was an expensive lesson for me to re-learn, having been sewing too many years for a good excuse!
6/21/12 10:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

New Look 6953 Misses Skirts
photo
Review by katlew03 on 12/12/11
Read Review

McCalls 6225 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6225 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6530 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6530 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Reisebegleiter
photo
Review by GlobalMom on 2/19/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us