Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6594 (New Look 6594 Misses Skirts) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 329 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:pinkcatflower
photo
About pinkcatflowerstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 11/20/09
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/12 11:29 PM
Last Updated:2/11/12 5:04 PM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
a7yrstitch said...
Wonderful pairing of fabric and style and very helpful review. Thanking you for persisting so that you can share a little of your summer with us.
1/15/12 11:55 PM
JEF said...
Very very very cute on you!
1/16/12 0:03 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Gorgeous, pretty skirt! Perfect for a spring/summer day. Great job on matching that side seam too. There is no way I'd be unpicking it either. :)
Btw, the Big 4 use way too much hip ease in pants & skirts (about 3") so I always choose my size using the finished hip m'ment. I like 1" of hip ease in a standard, straight skirt.
1/16/12 0:05 AM
Knitters Delight said...
So nice!
1/16/12 2:20 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your skirt is very cute! Now that you know how to size this pattern I hope you'll make another. Great job!
1/16/12 7:00 AM
cleverkitty said...
Fabric is so beautiful and yes yes yes practice does make perfect. Even since joining PR I have improved :)
1/16/12 8:32 AM
JTink said...
This is just lovely. You did a very nice job and the material is beautiful.
1/16/12 8:40 AM
carolynw said...
With the alterations this skirt fits very nicely - I had been reading your posting on your problems with fitting - The matched side seam is perfect and the fabric is beautiful. Perhaps making a fitting muslin will help with sizing. Keep up the good work
1/16/12 9:58 AM
starryfish said...
Instead of making a muslin of the whole skirt, how about just making up the waistband. When you've got the fit just right, you will be able to see how to adjust the skirt, especially on a full one like this.
1/16/12 12:01 PM
pinkcatflower said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments :) Sew4Fun, I will note done what you've said about ease! And yes, I will be making at least partial muslins for now- that should save me some pain! I've learnt many more lessons.
1/16/12 2:59 PM
poppykettle said...
It's a gorgeous skirt - fitting is not exactly fun, but great when you get it right!
1/16/12 8:19 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Your skirt is very cute. Congratulations on working through your fitting issues! A muslin is a great idea and there are so many times I regret not taking the time to sew one first before cutting into my beautiful fabric! Enjoy wearing your cute skirt!
1/16/12 10:13 PM
Miss Vintage said...
I recently finished making a New Look skirt and was frustrated with the sizing as well. Came across your review while trying to determine if it was just the particular pattern I chose, or their patterns in general. Now I know! Thank you! Yours ended up great in the end - love the print. It was an expensive lesson for me to re-learn, having been sewing too many years for a good excuse!
6/21/12 10:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Butterick 5526 Misses' Shirt
photo
Review by Handshake on 1/22/14
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2327
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 10/4/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2454 Pattern( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2454 Pattern( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1425 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1425 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us