SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6594 (New Look 6594 Misses Skirts)

11 more reviews
Viewed 333 times 
Reviewed by:pinkcatflower
photo

 
 
About pinkcatflowerstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 11/20/09
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/12 11:29 PM
Last Updated:2/11/12 5:04 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
a7yrstitch said...
Wonderful pairing of fabric and style and very helpful review. Thanking you for persisting so that you can share a little of your summer with us.
1/15/12 11:55 PM
JEF said...
Very very very cute on you!
1/16/12 0:03 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Gorgeous, pretty skirt! Perfect for a spring/summer day. Great job on matching that side seam too. There is no way I'd be unpicking it either. :)
Btw, the Big 4 use way too much hip ease in pants & skirts (about 3") so I always choose my size using the finished hip m'ment. I like 1" of hip ease in a standard, straight skirt.
1/16/12 0:05 AM
Knitters Delight said...
So nice!
1/16/12 2:20 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your skirt is very cute! Now that you know how to size this pattern I hope you'll make another. Great job!
1/16/12 7:00 AM
cleverkitty said...
Fabric is so beautiful and yes yes yes practice does make perfect. Even since joining PR I have improved :)
1/16/12 8:32 AM
JTink said...
This is just lovely. You did a very nice job and the material is beautiful.
1/16/12 8:40 AM
carolynw said...
With the alterations this skirt fits very nicely - I had been reading your posting on your problems with fitting - The matched side seam is perfect and the fabric is beautiful. Perhaps making a fitting muslin will help with sizing. Keep up the good work
1/16/12 9:58 AM
starryfish said...
Instead of making a muslin of the whole skirt, how about just making up the waistband. When you've got the fit just right, you will be able to see how to adjust the skirt, especially on a full one like this.
1/16/12 12:01 PM
pinkcatflower said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments :) Sew4Fun, I will note done what you've said about ease! And yes, I will be making at least partial muslins for now- that should save me some pain! I've learnt many more lessons.
1/16/12 2:59 PM
poppykettle said...
It's a gorgeous skirt - fitting is not exactly fun, but great when you get it right!
1/16/12 8:19 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Your skirt is very cute. Congratulations on working through your fitting issues! A muslin is a great idea and there are so many times I regret not taking the time to sew one first before cutting into my beautiful fabric! Enjoy wearing your cute skirt!
1/16/12 10:13 PM
Miss Vintage said...
I recently finished making a New Look skirt and was frustrated with the sizing as well. Came across your review while trying to determine if it was just the particular pattern I chose, or their patterns in general. Now I know! Thank you! Yours ended up great in the end - love the print. It was an expensive lesson for me to re-learn, having been sewing too many years for a good excuse!
6/21/12 10:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Vogue Patterns 1022

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Buy Now