Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5603 (misses dress Retro '56) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 773 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Julia Bobbin
photo
Friend of PR
About Julia Bobbinstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/20/10
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/12 3:15 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sharonspils said...
WOW, I love this dress and the inspiration dress has been on my noticeboard for ages, just love it.
1/10/12 4:44 AM
silverfern said...
Wow - fabulous Mad Women dress - better than the original. I had looked at this pattern, but was put off by the lack of sleeves, so will use your review to have another look.
1/10/12 4:44 AM
Red Dragon said...
Too cute! Great adaptation.
1/10/12 5:43 AM
tsedai said...
This is so cute! I love it.
1/10/12 5:55 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Beautifully made and styled! The ginghm is perfect for this and it fits you to a T!
1/10/12 6:13 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous dress as I said on your blog. Love it!
1/10/12 6:19 AM
SheriF said...
I just watched this episode last night! When I saw your dress this morning, the first thing I thought about was Peggy. I love your modern adaptation. You wear it well. Can't wait to see what comes next....
1/10/12 7:37 AM
birdmcfarland said...
Fabulous! Excellent work.
1/10/12 7:50 AM
no7262 said...
Love love love it! Will you make me a pattern since I can't draft one myself? LOL! This dress looks so wonderful on you! You are very talented! Nora :)
1/10/12 7:55 AM
Christas said...
WOW!!! You have done an amazing job on this dress! I love it! Thanks so much for all the very helpful tips.
1/10/12 9:04 AM
nicegirl said...
Love this! Wonderful interpretation of the original and fit is fantastic. The bias trim at the empire seam is just too cute.
1/10/12 9:53 AM
ClioBklyn said...
Gorgeous! Very Peggy Olson!
1/10/12 10:12 AM
Sadlesor said...
What an adorable dress!
1/10/12 11:15 AM
Dynamo said...
You did an amazing job on this dress!
1/10/12 11:46 AM
Carol Mendoza said...
You nailed it!! Great job and it looks fantastic on you.
1/10/12 12:11 PM
TJSEWS said...
Wow! Wow! Wow!
1/10/12 12:12 PM
pammieh said...
Very sharp dress! Excellent work!
1/10/12 12:54 PM
SewWil said...
Fabulous! I love everything about this dress. Great job!
1/10/12 12:59 PM
Sweetheart3 said...
I want one!
1/10/12 1:40 PM
Raye Ann said...
This is fantastic! Every bit a chic as the inspiration dress. Great job!
1/10/12 2:25 PM
ChristineX said...
LOVE the gingham :-)
1/10/12 3:26 PM
Nenewhis said...
This is an amazing design and you should be very proud!! I love vintage designs, and wish the Mad Men series was back on so that I could drool over outfits like these. Well Done!
1/10/12 4:36 PM
JTink said...
What a wonderful dress. I'm crazy about the material
1/10/12 4:44 PM
Lynz said...
That is absolutely gorgeous!
1/10/12 5:43 PM
mm said...
What can I say? It is wonderful.
1/10/12 5:59 PM
Claverie said...
Holy Crap! That's Gorgeous. What a FIT! Beautiful. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT. But I think 25 other people already said that. .. .LOVEIT!
1/10/12 7:43 PM
galadriel45 said...
Quite possibly one of the most successful dresses I have seen on Pattern Review.
1/10/12 10:30 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Absolutely love this adorable dress! Want to make this too, was going to use a Simplicity Project Runway dress as base, thanks for posting
1/11/12 5:20 AM
swany said...
I love this dress and how you redid it. I am looking for something similar for a wedding dress. This will give me inspiration.
1/11/12 9:47 AM
lesliez said...
Very, very cute!
1/11/12 12:41 PM
Julia Bobbin said...
Thank you everyone for your warm and flattering comments. I love this sewing community! :)
1/11/12 3:24 PM
Sassy T said...
Absolutely love this. Would love to make this one day.
1/11/12 6:55 PM
MissLadyAudrey said...
Your dress is amazing!
1/16/12 8:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 8927 Misses' Shirt
photo
Review by spankachut... on 2/9/14
Read Review

Butterick 5474 Pattern( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 5474 Pattern( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4261 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 4261 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern Hooded Dress Hooded Dress
photo
Review by spottedroo on 5/17/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us