SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5603 (misses dress Retro '56)

24 more reviews
Viewed 795 times 
Reviewed by:Julia Bobbin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Julia Bobbinstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/20/10
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/12 3:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sharonspils said...
WOW, I love this dress and the inspiration dress has been on my noticeboard for ages, just love it.
1/10/12 4:44 AM
silverfern said...
Wow - fabulous Mad Women dress - better than the original. I had looked at this pattern, but was put off by the lack of sleeves, so will use your review to have another look.
1/10/12 4:44 AM
Red Dragon said...
Too cute! Great adaptation.
1/10/12 5:43 AM
tsedai said...
This is so cute! I love it.
1/10/12 5:55 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Beautifully made and styled! The ginghm is perfect for this and it fits you to a T!
1/10/12 6:13 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous dress as I said on your blog. Love it!
1/10/12 6:19 AM
SheriF said...
I just watched this episode last night! When I saw your dress this morning, the first thing I thought about was Peggy. I love your modern adaptation. You wear it well. Can't wait to see what comes next....
1/10/12 7:37 AM
birdmcfarland said...
Fabulous! Excellent work.
1/10/12 7:50 AM
no7262 said...
Love love love it! Will you make me a pattern since I can't draft one myself? LOL! This dress looks so wonderful on you! You are very talented! Nora :)
1/10/12 7:55 AM
Christas said...
WOW!!! You have done an amazing job on this dress! I love it! Thanks so much for all the very helpful tips.
1/10/12 9:04 AM
nicegirl said...
Love this! Wonderful interpretation of the original and fit is fantastic. The bias trim at the empire seam is just too cute.
1/10/12 9:53 AM
ClioBklyn said...
Gorgeous! Very Peggy Olson!
1/10/12 10:12 AM
Sadlesor said...
What an adorable dress!
1/10/12 11:15 AM
Dynamo said...
You did an amazing job on this dress!
1/10/12 11:46 AM
Carol Mendoza said...
You nailed it!! Great job and it looks fantastic on you.
1/10/12 12:11 PM
TJSEWS said...
Wow! Wow! Wow!
1/10/12 12:12 PM
pammieh said...
Very sharp dress! Excellent work!
1/10/12 12:54 PM
SewWil said...
Fabulous! I love everything about this dress. Great job!
1/10/12 12:59 PM
Sweetheart3 said...
I want one!
1/10/12 1:40 PM
Raye Ann said...
This is fantastic! Every bit a chic as the inspiration dress. Great job!
1/10/12 2:25 PM
ChristineX said...
LOVE the gingham :-)
1/10/12 3:26 PM
Nenewhis said...
This is an amazing design and you should be very proud!! I love vintage designs, and wish the Mad Men series was back on so that I could drool over outfits like these. Well Done!
1/10/12 4:36 PM
JTink said...
What a wonderful dress. I'm crazy about the material
1/10/12 4:44 PM
Lynz said...
That is absolutely gorgeous!
1/10/12 5:43 PM
mm said...
What can I say? It is wonderful.
1/10/12 5:59 PM
Claverie said...
Holy Crap! That's Gorgeous. What a FIT! Beautiful. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT. But I think 25 other people already said that. .. .LOVEIT!
1/10/12 7:43 PM
galadriel45 said...
Quite possibly one of the most successful dresses I have seen on Pattern Review.
1/10/12 10:30 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Absolutely love this adorable dress! Want to make this too, was going to use a Simplicity Project Runway dress as base, thanks for posting
1/11/12 5:20 AM
swany said...
I love this dress and how you redid it. I am looking for something similar for a wedding dress. This will give me inspiration.
1/11/12 9:47 AM
lesliez said...
Very, very cute!
1/11/12 12:41 PM
Julia Bobbin said...
Thank you everyone for your warm and flattering comments. I love this sewing community! :)
1/11/12 3:24 PM
Sassy T said...
Absolutely love this. Would love to make this one day.
1/11/12 6:55 PM
MissLadyAudrey said...
Your dress is amazing!
1/16/12 8:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Simplicity 1779

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now