SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2917 

13 more reviews
Viewed 758 times 
Reviewed by:BeaJay
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BeaJaystar
NSW Australia
Member since: 10/28/11
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/12 11:53 PM
Last Updated:9/2/12 6:23 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $2.99 $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $2.99 $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lgray1 said...
Love the dress! My understanding of why not to sew flat is so you can fit the dress before setting the sleeve. If you take in or let out the bodice a lot it can change your sleeve size.
7/10/14 1:50 AM
jennygolightly1 said...
You made it look much better than the pattern pic!
6/10/13 11:21 PM
magpie57 said...
This looks great on your lovely hourglass figure! Love the neckline and the fun fabric.
2/27/13 10:08 PM
valerie sews said...
Your dress looks great, love the print too.
1/8/13 0:22 AM
MizOLosk said...
This is marvelous on you and you did a wonderful job. I believe my gram taught me to "set in" sleeves when one sews and "sew flat" when you knit. Then again, she was a fussy little thing, made suits and such. I generally on "set in" sleeves when making actual jackets or working with particularly delicate, non-serg-able(word? spelling?) fabrics. Great job and great review.
9/20/12 6:54 PM
waikikimum said...
Very nice, would be a great Aussie summer dress. Thanks for reviewing, I will put this onto my list to sew.
9/3/12 11:25 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, this is cute. I love this pattern and the python print is FAB!
9/2/12 4:06 PM
Elcue said...
This dress drapes so nicely on you!
9/2/12 3:02 PM
Cuffs said...
That dress looks so nice on you, what a perfect fit! I have a similar body type but have given up on making A-lines look good on me. Maybe I'll have to rethink that.
9/2/12 12:45 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful dress and pretty fabric, you look great!
9/2/12 11:51 AM
marec said...
This is lovely on you-what legs!! Make more of this dress ;-)
9/2/12 9:50 AM
prttynpnk said...
Oh oh oh! You know I like some animal skin prints! This is adorable- I love how you changed this.
9/2/12 9:12 AM
LauraM62 said...
Sounds like you are sewing in what I call 'the flat'. I didn't start that technique until I used the serger. 'Flat' sewing is often in pattern directions & sewing books with serger techniques. I find it easier to set the sleeve this way, personally. If I can sew 'in the flat' I always will. Love the dress may have to pick it up for our collection!
1/29/12 3:41 PM
margk said...
Great job on this dress. Your changes worked well. The neckline is lovely!
1/14/12 5:43 AM
SewWil said...
Great fabric choice for this dress!
1/12/12 12:40 PM
KarenTeel said...
You look great in this. Love the fabric and the style gives a great shape.
1/12/12 4:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable burdatyle handbook blouse

photo
by: jillmandy

Review
Vogue Patterns 7696 OOP

photo
by: redside

Review
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now