Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2835 (Women's shirts & leggins) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1772 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:sahmtodaniel
photo
About sahmtodanielstar
WI USA
Member since: 4/8/04
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 6:56 AM
Last Updated:10/30/04 8:55 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Looks like a great pattern- can't wait to see the pictures! I bet the microsuede is really nice :o)
10/28/04 3:02 PM
Irene Q said...
Congratulations on your first review, and thanks so much for the picture of you wearing the shirt! Just curious - do your measurements match the 3X, or did you size down because there was too much ease? Either way, it looks great!
10/29/04 9:23 AM
Ann on Red Geranium Hill said...
Thank you for this review. I particularly enjoyed the details you included about the different versions you've made. I have been thinking about collared shirts lately for myself and how much I like some of them. The muted red of this one is really good on you.
10/29/04 10:33 AM
SouthernStitch said...
It looks like you really have the fit down perfect on this. Thanks for the warning - 12 pieces!
10/29/04 2:35 PM
sahmtodaniel said...
Thanks for the comments, ladies. I've learned so much from everyone here, I thought it was about time to contribute a few reviews myself! Irene, normally I choose the 4x size in KS since their sizing chart says the bust on 4x standard body measurement is 49" and mine is actually 60"! But the finished measurement given for the bust is 66" in a 4x and I didn't want that much ease (62" for 3x). Now that I've just found some nice t-shirt knit to match the suede, I wish I had made the largest size so I could wear it open over the t-shirt. Oh well... I'll try to post photos of the other two shirts this weekend.
10/29/04 2:36 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Love this shirt! Thanks so much for the review of this classic Kwik Sew pattern. Can't wait to see the others. Did you need shoulder pads? You have my shoulders.
10/30/04 1:27 AM
Mini said...
It's so nice to see more reviews of plus size patterns. The proportion of this shirt looks just right for you. Thanks for the comments on the sizing and the amount of ease in this pattern.
10/30/04 11:06 AM
Sherril Miller said...
The quality of your photo is such that I can't see where the sleeves fall on you. Are they at the shoulder or dropped? My Sis would look great in this pattern. She has a tall apple shaped body with a smaller bust. Does this one have darts? Oh yea, I forgot to say that your shirt looks great. Thank you so much for wearing it in your photo. This so much more helpful to us plus-sized gals than seeing it on a hanger. The fit is right-on! Congratulations and I look forward to more reviews from you soon.
10/30/04 9:33 PM
Monica R said...
Your shirt looks beautiful and I love the fabric you chose! I also love the short sleeved versions you made. Nice job and thanks for the review. I will have to make myself one now that I've seen how pretty yours has turned out.
10/31/04 1:46 AM
jlg said...
Very pretty tops. I particularly like the reds; very dramatic.
10/31/04 5:02 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I think you have the perfect basic shirt pattern here. They look great. (I'm a red fan, too. ) Isn't it fun to have a reliable, versatile pattern like this?
10/31/04 6:35 AM
sahmtodaniel said...
Cathy, I didn't use shoulder pads since I try to aviod them at all cost! I think I can get away without them on this shirt. Sherill, these are dropped sleeves and no darts on this pattern. It is intimidating to post a photo of my plus sized self modeling, but I know I much prefer seeing a garmet on a person rather than a hanger/dress form. Thanks for all the compliments, everyone!
10/31/04 9:38 AM
Dale C said...
All those shirts came out very nice! Thanks for the review.
10/31/04 12:51 PM
2sewagain said...
Great Job! It's nice to see some plus size models and patterns featured. So often we only see the garmet and not the model! Both are needed to judge fit especially for us plus size gals. It is very much appreciated. Have you tried any of the KS pants?
11/8/04 2:51 PM
NoraNora said...
Somehow or other I have missed your reviews up 'til now. Thank You so much for your wonderfully helpful reviews! I appreciate how through they are. BTW - you did a great job on thes shirts and they look great on you!
2/2/06 8:54 AM
Marny said...
Great job and a sterling review. You've convinced me that I should try this pattern
10/16/07 11:29 PM
Debby Ebby said...
I am new to this website and I have read your reviews and just love them. Thanks so much for the info. I have this pattern and now I think I'll actually try it because it looks very nice on you.
5/18/10 9:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Named Clothing 005
photo
Review by chenille on 4/1/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4384
photo
Review by katlew03 on 2/14/09
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 7937 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 7937 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6921 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6921 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us