Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1277 (Misses Reversible Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 604 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/12 8:48 PM
Last Updated:1/14/12 10:25 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $32.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautful, love the wool blends and color choices you used. Agree, love the piping when you laid it down. Very cool and original!
1/14/12 8:55 PM
MNBarb said...
What a work of art. Chosing the fabric is the most important and challenging part of this jacket's success but your construction is also PERFECT!
1/14/12 9:32 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I just love this jacket. I wonder if I could be up for making this. Your very helpful review and blog entries will be required reading if I do decide to make it. Your coat turned out beautifully!
1/14/12 10:00 PM
Elemenopeo said...
very classy and fun
1/14/12 10:44 PM
sew2little said...
Magnificent!
1/14/12 10:51 PM
jenleeC said...
Fantastic! I particularly love the back view. Perth does not really have the climate for such a jacket so I will have to admire from a far!
1/14/12 10:53 PM
marieds said...
What a lovely jacket! So unique!
1/14/12 11:36 PM
JillyBe said...
Thank you for the lovely comments everyone :) Jenlee I really think this jacket would be lovely using lightweight, drapey fabrics - it could fit into almost any climate, really.
1/14/12 11:47 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow is that gorgeous! I have looked at this pattern several times and shy away from it but I love your version! I will have to purchase it! So well done!
1/14/12 11:50 PM
MaryDB said...
Oh my gosh. That jacket is just fab.u.lous. Wonderful work. I'm in awe.
1/15/12 0:25 AM
mm said...
What a wonderful coat. I love your choice of fabric. I want one!
1/15/12 0:41 AM
cmarie12 said...
This is stunning and a beautiful work of art. I know it was alot of work but your finished garment is well worth it!
1/15/12 1:18 AM
pdiddly said...
Wow beautiful I would love to try one will check out your blog
1/15/12 3:21 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Love your coat.. I really ddisliked the Koos dressyou made reference to in yiur blog, which probably tarnished the coat "look" for me any time I saw it in the Vogue pattern book. Your coat is jst plain inspiring.. That pattern with exposure like your post here, will undoubtedly join the ranks of that Miyake coat that is also a timeless artful treasure. I *must* have this pattern! Thanks! Did I miss a review of your fleece version? Great result too... And so toally
1/15/12 3:31 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
iPad wont size a box to let me edit my typng slip up / stall at my ending remarks. Fleece version is equally fab!
1/15/12 3:34 AM
Sharonspils said...
Stunning.
1/15/12 4:42 AM
lamstu said...
Great review and a great coat as well. Makes me wish that I like wearing a swing coat, then I would totally go for it based on your gorgeous result.
1/15/12 4:54 AM
prttynpnk said...
Sewing as art- just lovely.
1/15/12 7:26 AM
vacarisella said...
Smashing! Your fabric choices gorgeous!
1/15/12 7:41 AM
Avril said...
Very nicely done!
1/15/12 8:34 AM
mochimo said...
Wow! It is gorgeous!
1/15/12 9:24 AM
redside said...
What an inspiration!
1/15/12 10:01 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Great review and an AWESOME coat! Thank you for all your comments. Your coat is truly one-of-a-kind.
1/15/12 10:19 AM
VivianZ said...
OMG! This is a beautiful coat, truly a piece of art. Thanks for sharing and reviewing.
1/15/12 10:51 AM
marec said...
Though I have commented on your blog, I wanted to come back here and add to the chorus of "Wow, amazing coat" And to say the fabrics are such a focus in this treatment and so very "you". I love this jacket on you JillyBe.
1/15/12 11:09 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
amazing!
1/15/12 11:42 AM
SewWil said...
Wow! This truly is a work of art. I love everything about your jacket. Great job!
1/15/12 1:46 PM
JillyBe said...
Thank you SO much, everyone, for all the smile-inducing comments. :) :) It means a lot, especially coming from so many talented sewists! Nancy the fleece version is no where near finished yet (I edited the review to clarify that), but I will review it when I'm done.
1/15/12 1:56 PM
papago said...
Love it, Love it, Love it!!!
1/15/12 9:50 PM
SusiM said...
Lovely! Same rave as everyone else. Thank you for such a thorough and very helpful review.
1/17/12 0:40 AM
sfshaza said...
Your Koos is so gorgeous, Jillian! You did an amazing job of choosing fabrics - they are so rich and chic together. The problems you had are completely invisible in the pictures. Wear it with pride!
1/17/12 5:47 AM
AnastasiaJ said...
Wow it really turned out great! I will be adding this to my must make list. Good review.
1/17/12 7:50 AM
whistlin dixie said...
Stunning, as I knew it would be. Thanks for sharing your process!
1/17/12 11:13 PM
Athene said...
A beautiful coat and your review and photos are so helpful.
4/20/12 3:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Vogue Patterns 7975
photo
Review by sunnysewer on 2/23/14
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Easy Coat
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Loose Fitting Pleated T-shirt Digital Pattern
Salme Loose Fitting Pleated T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8889 Men's Shirt
photo
Review by Wendy Part... on 9/18/13
Read Review

Vogue 1314 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1314 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3219 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3219 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us