Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5438 (Waverly) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 99 times 2 more reviews
Reviewed by:stillsewing
photo
About stillsewing
Member since: 12/20/06
Reviews written: 5
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/12 4:16 PM
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Crafts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
heathergwo said...
don't give up on bags! I've made tons and LOVE them! They're fun little sewing projects and usually turn out really nicely! Check out my page for several reviews on bag pattern.... so sorry to hear that your experience didn't turn out so well. I have this pattern, so now I'll either not make it, or know beforehand how big it is...thanks for the review
1/18/12 0:25 AM
JDpenelope said...
I'm with heathergwo -- Take a breather and come back later. You are right that it takes a lot of time and trouble to make a bag. And, depending on the pattern, you need a strong machine to pierce all the layers. But making bags can be addictive. Unfortunately, there are a lot of bad patterns out there, too. I'm now making my own patterns. Thanks for your honest review.
1/18/12 7:10 AM
JDpenelope said...
Just thought of something -- The pattern might still be wrong, but when you quilt a piece, it becomes smaller -- and the other pieces might not fit together as well. Just something to think about. Did you quilt it first, THEN cut out the pattern piece? If so, then it's probably a flaw in the pattern.
1/18/12 7:13 AM
stillsewing said...
Thanks for the encouraging words! Its difficult to explain why the lining was so large but it is certainly not because of the quilting. To explain: there are too internal pockets that hang from inside the sides of the bag, and then in between them there is the interior of the bag that is reached by zip. The zip is about three/four inches below the top of the sides. The lining is supposed to hang from the zip tape but is the same size as the outside of the bag. (From that description you will understand the difficulty I had in reading the pattern instructions) So I finished up with lining that was 3/4 inches too large! In addition it was supposed to be attached by hand. This is one change that I made to the pattern that I forgot to mention -- I used invisible thread and stitched it in by machine.
1/18/12 1:18 PM
Claverie said...
OMG! I wish I had some help with this bag! I should have read your review FIRST before attempting it. I'm CLUELESS! Driving me nuts. Read the instructions over and over and .. you get the point. I'm hoping it'll come to me, but so far, much disappointment if I can't finish it. I'm not using quilting and it appears things aren't matching up either. I have all day tomorrow to ponder this.
6/24/12 6:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Vogue Patterns 2676
photo
Review by arianamani... on 6/19/09
Read Review

Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5847 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 5847 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5594
photo
Review by andread on 2/23/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us