SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5438 (Waverly)

2 more reviews
Viewed 101 times 
Reviewed by:stillsewing
photo

 
 
About stillsewing
Member since: 12/20/06
Reviews written: 5
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/12 4:16 PM
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
heathergwo said...
don't give up on bags! I've made tons and LOVE them! They're fun little sewing projects and usually turn out really nicely! Check out my page for several reviews on bag pattern.... so sorry to hear that your experience didn't turn out so well. I have this pattern, so now I'll either not make it, or know beforehand how big it is...thanks for the review
1/18/12 0:25 AM
JDpenelope said...
I'm with heathergwo -- Take a breather and come back later. You are right that it takes a lot of time and trouble to make a bag. And, depending on the pattern, you need a strong machine to pierce all the layers. But making bags can be addictive. Unfortunately, there are a lot of bad patterns out there, too. I'm now making my own patterns. Thanks for your honest review.
1/18/12 7:10 AM
JDpenelope said...
Just thought of something -- The pattern might still be wrong, but when you quilt a piece, it becomes smaller -- and the other pieces might not fit together as well. Just something to think about. Did you quilt it first, THEN cut out the pattern piece? If so, then it's probably a flaw in the pattern.
1/18/12 7:13 AM
stillsewing said...
Thanks for the encouraging words! Its difficult to explain why the lining was so large but it is certainly not because of the quilting. To explain: there are too internal pockets that hang from inside the sides of the bag, and then in between them there is the interior of the bag that is reached by zip. The zip is about three/four inches below the top of the sides. The lining is supposed to hang from the zip tape but is the same size as the outside of the bag. (From that description you will understand the difficulty I had in reading the pattern instructions) So I finished up with lining that was 3/4 inches too large! In addition it was supposed to be attached by hand. This is one change that I made to the pattern that I forgot to mention -- I used invisible thread and stitched it in by machine.
1/18/12 1:18 PM
Claverie said...
OMG! I wish I had some help with this bag! I should have read your review FIRST before attempting it. I'm CLUELESS! Driving me nuts. Read the instructions over and over and .. you get the point. I'm hoping it'll come to me, but so far, much disappointment if I can't finish it. I'm not using quilting and it appears things aren't matching up either. I have all day tomorrow to ponder this.
6/24/12 6:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

McCall's 6650

photo
by: Sew tell m...

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 115082-1002

photo
by: allycovey

Review