Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2012-117A thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 893 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:ALY
photo
Friend of PR
About ALYstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/21/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/12 9:06 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
Oh, wow! What FABULOUS color blocking...this is kick a*s? I bet it looks great on!
1/18/12 9:40 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
I am in love with your dress. I have not recieved this issue yet, but can't wait to get hold of it now!
1/18/12 9:45 PM
sewmytime said...
OMG! This dress is AMAZING!!!
1/18/12 10:07 PM
Karen6790 said...
Wow, I just got my issue on Saturday - and I LOVED this dress in the magazine. Love it even more on you. This is the first BWOF pattern to hit me hard in a long time. Can't believe you got it done this quickly.
1/18/12 10:56 PM
Nan Kay said...
Looks great. I just got the magazine yesterday and this was my first pick! You did a lovely job with it.
1/19/12 0:15 AM
SusiM said...
This one is winner! Looks great!
1/19/12 0:25 AM
tsedai said...
Wow! Looks great! I just got my magazine today - crazy to see the dress made up already. This was my favorite item from this issue, so I am glad to see that it gets made up well, although sad to hear that it is annoying to trace. But I think your version looks fabulous - now I really want to make one for myself!
1/19/12 3:08 AM
lamstu said...
I LOVE YOUR DRESS! So amazing. I must have it! I hope the German version has this pattern, that's what I have access to right now.
1/19/12 6:55 AM
prttynpnk said...
Gees you are fast! I just got mine yesterday.....gorgeous work. These patterns are always hard for me to trace from the magazines,too.
1/19/12 7:24 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Your dress is so amazing! I'm going to show this to my daughter, she has been looking for a color blocked dress. I like your idea of supporting the zipper with ribbon. I'll have to remember this.
1/19/12 7:42 AM
Lisette said...
Wow! It fits you so well! You are very quick, I just got my magazine 2 days ago!
1/19/12 7:45 AM
betsey said...
very pretty!!!
1/19/12 7:59 AM
persevering said...
Your dress really is FABULOUS - and you look GREAT in it. I think you have now inspired many with your success.
1/19/12 8:39 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Yay I'm so glad you reviewed this! It looks fab AND you've left off the zipper, too - I'm so glad it fits over your head. I traced out this pattern last night and totally agree that the red on pink was harder than usual. You do know Burda print the piece numbers along the edge to help you find them on the sheet, right?
1/19/12 8:52 AM
mollymolly said...
Very cool! I love the colors you chose
1/19/12 9:33 AM
JodieT said...
I am in love with this dress and your sewing. I just got my magazine yesterday - you are fast! Thank you for your review, this is going on my to do list. Fabulous!
1/19/12 11:33 AM
TJSEWS said...
The dress looks so beautiful on you!
1/19/12 12:28 PM
twinkle72 said...
Wow! You knocked this out in a hurry! It looks very much like the one in the magazine. It looks great! Sadly, I threw all my large, but not large enough to do much with scraps away recently!
1/19/12 1:38 PM
CoutureDiva said...
Love it! Great job.
1/19/12 2:08 PM
redrockcity said...
Thank you for the review. So glad to know it can be made in Ponte! It is fabulous!!
1/19/12 2:26 PM
nellc said...
Fabulous dress!
1/19/12 2:32 PM
allycovey said...
I have just been waiting for someone to make this dress. I am looking forward to it as well. You know I didn't think of it but yeah what a great way to use scraps. I have some LOL
1/19/12 3:23 PM
Melody said...
Kick a*s is just what I was thinking. This is fabulous and you got it done so quickly. I haven't even had a chance to look at this issue yet, much less make something so fab.
1/19/12 4:13 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! This is GORGEOUS! Great job!
1/19/12 5:38 PM
Sharon M said...
I can't believe you sewed and reviewed this already! I just got my magazine yesterday and marked this one as a "must have". I was wondering about fabric and am glad to see that the Hancock Ponteroma worked well as I have some of those 1 yd and less pieces left over from other projects. That dress ROCKS!
1/19/12 6:57 PM
ChristineX said...
Awesome dress!!!!!!
1/19/12 10:20 PM
Elnoramarie said...
I got this magazine yesterday. This dress is fabulous on you. I loved the magazine picture. i think you do it justice and more. I love the suggestion of less colors.
1/22/12 10:14 AM
cmarie12 said...
This is awesome and you made it so quickly! Love it!
1/22/12 4:01 PM
Levone said...
Beautiful, it looks great on you! Not sure how I missed this review.
1/25/12 10:03 PM
MissCelie said...
I'm obsessed with this pattern. Thank you for a terrific review.
1/26/12 1:07 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Oh! Oh! Oh! Capital A Adorable! And me without this issue! Sorry, gotta go find one! I just have to add my husband's comment about the Burda photo. "Nice Bike- but she can't ride it in that dress!" ...men!
1/26/12 1:14 PM
Silk Challis said...
Wow! It is an amazing dress! And how quick you have been in making and reviewing it! This is a pattern that I have noticed in the magazine and would like to sew it too. Thanks for reviewing it!
1/27/12 4:52 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Gorgeous! A great Burda dress.
1/28/12 4:22 PM
Elke said...
Fabulous dress and it looks great on you!
2/2/12 2:48 PM
Kay Y said...
I traced this today, inspired by your version. Gorgeous work!
2/5/12 8:30 PM
tigergirl said...
Looks fantastic. I actually bought the magazine for this dress.
3/3/12 11:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

HotPatterns 1057
photo
Review by emo on 10/30/07
Read Review

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5522 Misses shirts
photo
Review by Renee B on 9/13/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3609 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3609 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6781 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )
McCalls 6781 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us