Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5615 (Misses Tie-Front Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 824 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/12 10:12 PM
Last Updated:1/23/12 0:41 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Maree P said...
I love all the little tricks you share Belinda - taa. This colour will really suit you.
1/21/12 11:41 PM
JenniferBee said...
Lovely blouse Belinda love the fabric and colour
1/22/12 3:08 AM
Knitters Delight said...
I do like the style and the fabric and color are fabulous.
1/22/12 4:21 AM
Sharonspils said...
Very pretty summer blouse and your changes work very well
1/22/12 5:04 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Belinda...I love your blouse, and how I missed it in the pattern catalog, I will never know...it's on my "to-buy" list now, thanks to you. And thanks for your observations about the pattern.
1/22/12 6:31 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I love this style and your finished product! Thank you for this great review which I will reread before making this top.
1/22/12 9:25 AM
Jaknan said...
I have this pattern and haven't used it yet but your review and result have convinced me to sew it soon, very soon!
1/22/12 9:29 AM
sewbehind said...
Cute, cute blouse. I think this pattern is going on my wish list too. I love that there are separate pieces for the peplum. Gives the blouse much more waist definition in the back.
1/22/12 9:55 AM
psm484 said...
Thanks for this great review. Your blouse is so really cute.
1/22/12 10:46 AM
elsew said...
Thanks for the excellent review and the valuable tips...everything I love about Pattern Review. Your garment is just lovely and I am certain to look to add this one to my pattern stash.
1/22/12 11:25 AM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful blouse and lovely work. Thanks for the construction tips!
1/22/12 11:27 AM
marec said...
This is so pretty and will be lovely on you. Thanks for a detailed and interesting review.
1/22/12 12:08 PM
SewWil said...
Your turned is beautiful! Thanks for the detailed review.
1/22/12 1:12 PM
goosegreen said...
It looks fantastic Belinda.
1/23/12 4:49 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
The blouse looks super on you!
1/23/12 6:49 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a great blouse! It looks really good on you. I have to have 3/8ths seams if at all possible too. I find my sewing gets a lot more accurate. Unfortunately, if you have to let out a 3/8ths seam, there is not much room.
1/23/12 7:52 AM
Jamye said...
Wonderful blouse and great information too. This is so timely as I was looking for a blouse pattern like this and voila, here it is!
1/23/12 8:21 AM
PattyE said...
Looks great. I made this last year and it's one of my favorites.
1/23/12 8:52 AM
Kathy7661 said...
Very pretty blouse...love the fabric. This pattern is going on my list too! Thank you for the very helpful review.
1/23/12 10:19 AM
persevering said...
Thanks for posting the picture of you in your lovely blouse. I think our body measurements and body type are close and our height is identical. So it is really encouraging for me to actually see how you look in your sewn garments. I haven't rediscovered my sewing mojo and am still hopeful as a lapsed beginner level sewist that I will return to actually sewing for myself. As on your other reviews and blog, you really educate your readers with your sewing experience, which is helpful and this is greatly appreciated. (If possible, could you please explain "I made the 12 with a little added ease" - what is you did to give the ease?
1/23/12 11:13 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
It's really cute! I love the color.
1/23/12 5:11 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Persevering, when tracing the pattern I added 1/4" to each of the side seams of the size 12 giving 1" of extra ease. To keep the armholes the same size I matched the original size 12 armhole with the shoulder point on my traced pattern, then pivoted the armhole until the side seam point matched my new traced side seam. This kept the armholes the same size. I hope this makes sense.
1/23/12 7:20 PM
Jrhee said...
Cute blouse on you, and love the color and fabric!
1/25/12 11:53 PM
julie w said...
Lovely blouse, like Pam~Off the Cuff, may have to purchase this one soon.
1/26/12 4:21 AM
Jo Ann Ely said...
Thank you for all the tips and tricks and things to watch for! It looks great on you and highlights a skinny waist!
1/26/12 5:59 PM
persevering said...
Thank you very much for your clear explanation. I'm noting it and keeping it ready for when I put it into practice. :-)
2/13/12 12:58 PM
dbardelosa said...
I appreciate your review. I took notes on the pattern envelope and will apply them when I cut my fabric. I will go read your other reviews. They're clear and make sense to me. I hope you keep reviewing more patterns as I continue to build my collection. I find that I buy them and then read the reviews. I should do the opposite. Haha.
10/1/12 2:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

McCall's 5634
photo
Review by fabeins on 4/26/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Winter PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Winter PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2700
photo
Review by Diana M on 2/17/09
Read Review

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1373 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1373 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1474 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5-6-6X )
Simplicity 1474 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5-6-6X )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us