SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5615 (Misses Tie-Front Blouse)

7 more reviews
Viewed 837 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 224 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/12 10:12 PM
Last Updated:1/23/12 0:41 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Maree P said...
I love all the little tricks you share Belinda - taa. This colour will really suit you.
1/21/12 11:41 PM
JenniferBee said...
Lovely blouse Belinda love the fabric and colour
1/22/12 3:08 AM
Knitters Delight said...
I do like the style and the fabric and color are fabulous.
1/22/12 4:21 AM
Sharonspils said...
Very pretty summer blouse and your changes work very well
1/22/12 5:04 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Belinda...I love your blouse, and how I missed it in the pattern catalog, I will never know...it's on my "to-buy" list now, thanks to you. And thanks for your observations about the pattern.
1/22/12 6:31 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I love this style and your finished product! Thank you for this great review which I will reread before making this top.
1/22/12 9:25 AM
Jaknan said...
I have this pattern and haven't used it yet but your review and result have convinced me to sew it soon, very soon!
1/22/12 9:29 AM
sewbehind said...
Cute, cute blouse. I think this pattern is going on my wish list too. I love that there are separate pieces for the peplum. Gives the blouse much more waist definition in the back.
1/22/12 9:55 AM
psm484 said...
Thanks for this great review. Your blouse is so really cute.
1/22/12 10:46 AM
elsew said...
Thanks for the excellent review and the valuable tips...everything I love about Pattern Review. Your garment is just lovely and I am certain to look to add this one to my pattern stash.
1/22/12 11:25 AM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful blouse and lovely work. Thanks for the construction tips!
1/22/12 11:27 AM
marec said...
This is so pretty and will be lovely on you. Thanks for a detailed and interesting review.
1/22/12 12:08 PM
SewWil said...
Your turned is beautiful! Thanks for the detailed review.
1/22/12 1:12 PM
goosegreen said...
It looks fantastic Belinda.
1/23/12 4:49 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
The blouse looks super on you!
1/23/12 6:49 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a great blouse! It looks really good on you. I have to have 3/8ths seams if at all possible too. I find my sewing gets a lot more accurate. Unfortunately, if you have to let out a 3/8ths seam, there is not much room.
1/23/12 7:52 AM
Jamye said...
Wonderful blouse and great information too. This is so timely as I was looking for a blouse pattern like this and voila, here it is!
1/23/12 8:21 AM
PattyE said...
Looks great. I made this last year and it's one of my favorites.
1/23/12 8:52 AM
Kathy7661 said...
Very pretty blouse...love the fabric. This pattern is going on my list too! Thank you for the very helpful review.
1/23/12 10:19 AM
persevering said...
Thanks for posting the picture of you in your lovely blouse. I think our body measurements and body type are close and our height is identical. So it is really encouraging for me to actually see how you look in your sewn garments. I haven't rediscovered my sewing mojo and am still hopeful as a lapsed beginner level sewist that I will return to actually sewing for myself. As on your other reviews and blog, you really educate your readers with your sewing experience, which is helpful and this is greatly appreciated. (If possible, could you please explain "I made the 12 with a little added ease" - what is you did to give the ease?
1/23/12 11:13 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
It's really cute! I love the color.
1/23/12 5:11 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Persevering, when tracing the pattern I added 1/4" to each of the side seams of the size 12 giving 1" of extra ease. To keep the armholes the same size I matched the original size 12 armhole with the shoulder point on my traced pattern, then pivoted the armhole until the side seam point matched my new traced side seam. This kept the armholes the same size. I hope this makes sense.
1/23/12 7:20 PM
Jrhee said...
Cute blouse on you, and love the color and fabric!
1/25/12 11:53 PM
julie w said...
Lovely blouse, like Pam~Off the Cuff, may have to purchase this one soon.
1/26/12 4:21 AM
Jo Ann Ely said...
Thank you for all the tips and tricks and things to watch for! It looks great on you and highlights a skinny waist!
1/26/12 5:59 PM
persevering said...
Thank you very much for your clear explanation. I'm noting it and keeping it ready for when I put it into practice. :-)
2/13/12 12:58 PM
dbardelosa said...
I appreciate your review. I took notes on the pattern envelope and will apply them when I cut my fabric. I will go read your other reviews. They're clear and make sense to me. I hope you keep reviewing more patterns as I continue to build my collection. I find that I buy them and then read the reviews. I should do the opposite. Haha.
10/1/12 2:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

New Look 6115

photo
by: ConnieBJ

Review
Butterick 5749

photo
by: AmyLT

Review
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Buy Now