SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1476 Coat only (Miyake coat pattern)

10 more reviews
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest
Viewed 366 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/12 11:52 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sanibelle said...
I just started listing here all the reasons why I love wearing this coat, but my comment grew too long. :) -- I think this is a style that people either love or hate. If you think it's not you, then at least there's plenty of fabric there for you to be able to turn it into something else! But I hope you do grow to like it. I think you made a great choice with crepe. Thanks for the great review.
3/8/12 10:17 AM
Margaret said...
FreyaStark, yes, the main pattern piece is huge. I had to cut this out on the floor. IIRC it took just about the entire the width of the fabric, and the length was even a few inches longer... it definitely would not have fit on any of my tables.
1/26/12 6:47 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for a useful and thorough review, and I hope you do get to like the garment enough to wear it sometimes. I would love to make it myself but hesitate because my cutting table is probably not big enough to cope.
1/25/12 9:17 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks, everyone! I'm hoping it grows on me as well. I think what some of you have said about "attitude" is one main issue -- not sure that is something I can accomplish anytime soon without it feeling like an act. The coat feels comfortable enough; it's just that when I looked at the photos, it looked like something that belongs to someone else. But it may also be that it absolutely didn't go with what I had on that day, and (on me) needs to be worn with pants so as not to look extra top-heavy.
1/24/12 8:15 AM
jannw said...
It looks great!! I do hope that it grows on you..put on one of your hats and enjoy it!
1/24/12 0:12 AM
Ann Smith said...
I made this around 25 years ago (and another more recently). I still wear the original one and it is very admired. I agree with Fuzzygalore that one needs to bring out the attitude when you throw this on. From the pictures you included I think it looks great. Maybe I'll make another one of out wool crepe.
1/23/12 1:52 AM
lesliez said...
I bet if you wear it around you will get lots and lots of compliments!
1/23/12 1:43 AM
Sigrid. said...
It definitely might be one of those garments that need time to get used to. I think it suits you well. Great work and very good review.
1/22/12 1:13 PM
maryfrana said...
Such a thoughtful and thorough review. I think it is probably great and dramatic on you. Give it a chance and see what people say. Love the fabric.
1/22/12 1:00 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I've tested mine on a dozen people, from 5' pipsqueak to 6'+ husband, and it looks good on everyone (though different). Definitely you need to have some attitude in wearing it though :-).
1/22/12 12:13 PM
loti said...
I've seen this made up in linen which draped a little more. This is a very detailed review and you've given me food for thought, since I have this pattern but haven't made it up yet. I love the stitching detail you added on the back seams, I'd love to hear back from you when you've worn it for a season to see if you change your mind.
1/22/12 12:06 PM
marec said...
Nearly 5 yards of fabric? Wow, this was an interesting review, and very helpful. I hope you are able to get some wear out of this coat. It is such a stylish silhouette and your fabric is pretty.
1/22/12 12:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now