SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2217 (Misses' Amazing Fit Dresses)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1041 times 
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/12 8:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ripple Dandelion said...
Love it--your changes sound so luxurious and I'm sure they add a lot to the drape and wearability of the dress. Beautiful.
1/24/12 8:26 PM
jlg said...
This is lovely. Great work.
1/24/12 8:35 PM
Tina Lou said...
What a pretty dress! I love the ribbon and rhinestone trim, and it must feel very special to be able to wear your grandmother's antique buttons. Great idea!
1/24/12 9:27 PM
betsey said...
love it! can i have it? :)
1/24/12 10:04 PM
annie11 said...
Your dress is so much prettier than the one on the cover. Great job!
1/24/12 11:50 PM
o3b said...
It's very beautiful. The fabric must be very special...I like it in the photograph. Do you know if they still carry the fabric?
1/25/12 2:09 AM
o3b said...
It's very beautiful. The fabric must be very special...I like it in the photograph. Do you know if they still carry the fabric?
1/25/12 2:09 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress! It should be the picture on the pattern because it looks so much better.
1/25/12 9:51 AM
Zoomitron said...
I agree -- yours is prettier than the pattern cover. I've had this pattern for awhile, and now I'm really anxious to try it. Your's is beautiful. Great review.
1/25/12 10:00 AM
prttynpnk said...
Oh I love this, how have I missed this great pattern?
1/25/12 7:34 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Your dress is beautiful!!
1/25/12 7:43 PM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous dress! What a lovely idea to use the black velvet ribbon.
1/26/12 5:13 PM
BeaJay said...
Great job - love the dress and your fabric. I have this pattern but it looks complicated. I am a beginner and thought I would leave it for a while but you have inspired me to try it.
2/4/12 2:27 AM
Longblades said...
I'm considering this for a wedding too. It's good to know lining might be needed, I'll watch out for that. Also the tip on the length since I'm 5'8". Love the look of yours and the fabric is just right to make it a bit more dressy.
2/5/12 2:40 PM
sewme47 said...
I just found this review....beautiful dress!! You have a knack for pairing just the right fabric with a pattern. :)
2/22/12 11:05 PM
Gendun said...
Yes, a lovely dress. :) A couple of Q's from a noob: 1. What is underlining compared to lining, pls? 2. I'm short, too, so I must be misunderstanding when you say the pattern would run SHORT bcs you are short. Wouldn't patterns be longer on you, not shorter? Thanks!
4/6/12 5:37 PM
Lesia said...
Beautifully done! I'm planning on making this soon and was glad to see that it makes up well in a print! Oh - and I got a lilttle homesick too - I'm originally from Portland but have lived in Florida for the past 30+ years.... Again, beautiful dress!
8/12/12 6:55 PM
Peppermint1701 said...
this looks lovely! I am just about to make this dress but just can not get the 2 front bodice parts together. I have cut out a size 12 and B-cup, but the notches just don't match up! there is far too much fabric on part 2b (the small side part to fit inbetween the notches of part 1b) I have checked and double checked to make sure I have cut out the right parts. What do I do wrong? Any help is much appreciated!
3/25/13 1:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns V8379

photo
by: Nenewhis

Review