Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Pants
Review submitted in Jeans Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 632 times 158 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:margk
photo
Friend of PR
About margk
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/10/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:1/31/12 7:26 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
misslydia said...
I'm amazed. i never knew jeans could come out so well at home!
1/31/12 7:29 PM
JenniferBee said...
Beautiful workmanship a great pair of jeans, and a comprehensive review, congratulations!
1/31/12 7:44 PM
JEF said...
Wonderful! Great review and your jeans look fantastic. I love the topstitching choices. I still haven't put rivets on jeans - yours look great and make me want rivets!
1/31/12 7:48 PM
Elona said...
Great fit! You got a spectacular result from this pattern.
1/31/12 7:55 PM
Zacky said...
Great work on all the details! Really like the inside waistband fabric.
1/31/12 8:02 PM
Skye said...
These look really great - love the topstitching and the braid in the pocket - I think I will be copying that idea. Nice jeans :)
1/31/12 8:23 PM
Renata said...
All your hard work has certainly paid off. Great jeans, better than RTW. I will try that front waistband treatment on mine. I am up to that part so your review was very timely. And I love your last front view photo, you are a show-off!!
1/31/12 8:29 PM
BeaJay said...
Wow - love your jeans - what a great job you did and yes - the braid looks great there. Good job on the stitching too.
1/31/12 8:37 PM
Terri A said...
Your jeans are fabulous!!!!!!!!!!! Very cool.
1/31/12 9:16 PM
simplystitches said...
Great job. Love the topstitching thread color. I just finished my first pair of Jalie's and am glad to see I'm not the only one that had side seams not meet. In ALL the reviews I read I don't remember anybody saying they had a problem.
1/31/12 9:21 PM
JDpenelope said...
What a terrific result and review. Seems that you have a tnt pattern here. I agree that the details make your project special and you seem to have them all! If ever get done, I'll also enter this contest, with black stretch denim, too. But your entry is stiff competition.
1/31/12 9:49 PM
helenkosings said...
They are FABULOUS!
1/31/12 9:56 PM
lynny said...
Fabulous jeans, and brilliant waist band treatment, will definitely try this technique. Thanks for such a detailed review.
1/31/12 10:08 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous jeans - you have achieved a great fit and finish! Also a great review of this pattern - thank you!
1/31/12 10:22 PM
Raye Ann said...
They look great! Definitely professional quality work and fit!
1/31/12 10:50 PM
jenleeC said...
Your jeans look terrific! Great fit and beautiful finish with your perfect top-stitching, pocket braid, and rivets. These are a perfect!
1/31/12 10:55 PM
goosegreen said...
Love the topstitching colour, love the lining, love the rivets, love the whole box & dice. Fantastic job Marg and they look so good on you. :)
2/1/12 0:05 AM
SewWil said...
Fantastic looking jeans! Great job on the topstitching.
2/1/12 0:07 AM
treefrog said...
Fantastic jeans Marg! I love the personal touches like the colour of the topstitching and the waistband fabric. And they look sooo good on you!
2/1/12 0:46 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Beautiful workmanship, and terrific pair of jeans that fit so well!
2/1/12 1:48 AM
Seabreeeze said...
Fantastic job Marg, you have done a professional job. I loved the bit of braid.. they look so much like RTW.. Congratulations!
2/1/12 2:19 AM
fractal said...
Your jeans are wonderful - excellent work! Thank you for your detailed explanation of how you did the waistband. I would like to copy this for my next pair :)
2/1/12 3:13 AM
velosewer said...
Super cute with the top stitching and waistband finish. Your version is great.
2/1/12 4:29 AM
tess said...
These really do look amazing on you!
2/1/12 4:32 AM
Karine said...
Bravo! That bit of braid is a nice touch. They look fantastic on you.
2/1/12 8:48 AM
kjcaron said...
Your jeans came out great! I love the topstitching!
2/1/12 8:51 AM
tsedai said...
These look fabulous! I just got a bunch of Jalie patterns for Christmas (including the jeans) and my goal it to make them up sometime during this year. Thanks for the helpful review!
2/1/12 12:34 PM
Schnauzer said...
Superb!
2/1/12 4:46 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
Well done. I really like the age lines--they add so much character.
2/1/12 8:10 PM
Sharonspils said...
Fantastic jeans and your rivets look perfect. Thank you for the tip about the waistband, this is part I'm not looking forward to on my jeans.
2/1/12 10:20 PM
julie w said...
Fantastic jeans, very professionally made and the attention to detail really shows. Love the topstitching, the braid and overall finish.
2/2/12 5:23 PM
morzel said...
Seldom saw such great fitting jeans! A little bagginess must be in jeans, otherwise you wouldn't be able to move your leg forward. The whole look is very RTW - well done!
2/3/12 9:29 AM
Maree P said...
Great jeans (and sewing) Marg.
2/3/12 8:28 PM
Amy-may said...
My side seams came out exactly the same as yours. I'm wondering if she left a 3/4 seam allowance for making a flatfelled seam?
2/3/12 10:51 PM
Jamie Eden said...
Love the top stitching, they look really nice. Rivets and back pockets... I'm jealous!
2/5/12 6:33 PM
annakeeton said...
These jeans are great inside and out. The topstitching thread on black denim is a great touch.
2/6/12 6:01 PM
Lauri Strandell said...
oh my godness - those are sooo super great. What a great job, it makes me want to buy this pattern. GREAT job!
2/9/12 6:10 PM
dreamdesigner said...
What a fantastic fit!!
2/12/12 5:28 PM
Oh2Sew2 said...
Wonderful jeans! I do need to give these a go...
2/12/12 9:48 PM
redrockcity said...
Those look great! I love the black denim with the purple topstitching!
2/16/12 9:01 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice! I really like the color combination, and the fit looks great.
2/21/12 5:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

McCall's 6241
photo
Review by Jade Butte... on 7/10/11
Read Review

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4600
photo
Review by Allisonsew... on 3/20/05
Read Review

McCalls 5871 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5871 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1759 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1759 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us