SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1175 (Misses' Dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 651 times 
Reviewed by:gabc
photo

 
 
About gabcstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/1/09
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/12 0:06 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Stephanie C. said...
That's a very nice summery dress; look great on you!
1/28/12 1:23 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Interesting dress - looks good on you!
1/28/12 1:30 AM
a life in stitches said...
This looks wonderful. It has the appearance of being such a complex pattern, so you were very adventurous to make the changes - I love the way the fabric choices (both your versions) together with the reduction in volume make it work as daywear. I love the cut of this design when I studied the line drawings, but the peachy formal wear look is so off-putting! I think now I am working out some ways I could make up this pattern, so thank you. By the way, I think 'eyelet' and 'broderie anglaise' are interchangeable terms for a fabric or trim that features cutwork or eyelets, it's just one of those American/British English language things. I wonder if the French say 'English Embroidery'?
1/28/12 3:59 AM
SewSho said...
Great looking dress!
1/28/12 6:13 AM
Valerie S said...
So pretty on you! I agree with the commenter below that your fabric choice make this much more attractive and flattering than the version on the pattern envelope.
1/28/12 6:50 AM
Claverie said...
Your version would sell this pattern better. Great looking dress.
1/28/12 8:52 AM
marthamyers said...
Interesting pattern and feminine result. Great work!
1/28/12 9:14 AM
Anniinbc said...
I love the look of this dress and how you put it together. I have this pattern and I'm inspired again to make a go of it. thank you for the review.
1/28/12 1:50 PM
Levone said...
I like both of your versions better than the fabric illustration...not that the pattern's version is not pretty. However yours seem more practical and more wearable. Great job on these!
1/28/12 2:00 PM
karen n said...
I've admired this pattern for a while. Informative to see a casual take on it.
1/28/12 3:15 PM
lamstu said...
I never liked this pattern before, but your changes - the contrasting fabrics and elimination of the pouf at the hem - have made a wearable and very fun dress!
1/29/12 0:01 AM
StarrSews said...
So different. Looks great on you.
1/29/12 0:17 AM
Fran G said...
Perfect style for you!
1/29/12 8:43 AM
becca a said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern. Looking at the pattern drawing and model picture it didn't attract me, but on you it is lovely. Great idea to use different fabrics.
1/29/12 3:44 PM
gabc said...
Thank you all so much for your lovely comments - I'm feeling a bit embarrassed now!
1/29/12 9:41 PM
ChristmasHills said...
I have only just caught up with this review but wanted to add my comments which are much the same as everyone else's. I love it on you. I would never have chosen to make this from the Vogue pattern envelope but your version is so cool looking (in both senses of the word). I want one just like it.
2/3/12 10:18 PM
JETrinity said...
You did a great job of stepping up this pattern. It is so much better than the pattern picture.
2/6/12 12:42 PM
MareeAlison said...
Fantastic.
2/21/12 1:05 AM
QueenZ said...
Nice job!
3/22/12 7:10 AM
miausiau said...
I am built like you and your review "made me do it!" I used a linen as well and only lined the bodice and front panel. It is flattering and very unusual, and thanks for the ideas.
8/12/12 10:55 PM
gabc said...
Thank you again - and miausiau, I'll look forward to seeing yours now!
1/31/13 8:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Simplicity 2805

photo
by: katlew03

Review
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now
Other Ruby Slip

photo
by: myraminx

Review