Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7799 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE TOP) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 278 times 43 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:coudcoud
photo
About coudcoud
QC CANADA
Member since: 12/2/08
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/12 6:33 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
NVK said...
Patterns always need tweaking. I find this my least favorite part of sewing. I like how the drape of the fabric flatters your figure. Definitively make more tops.
1/29/12 9:57 AM
coudcoud said...
Dear NVK, Thank you for your encouraging words. There is a mock turtleneck version of the same top on the same pattern; I may try it!
1/29/12 12:59 PM
cleverkitty said...
Hi coudcoud, I made this pattern three times the first one came out perfect, it was a gray heather my daughter took it from me, every time she wears it I admire it, there is no show through with the under lap, it could be the fabric and color. The second one I made too snug although I still wear it, you can see the under lapping seam like you mentioned. The third one I made larger and posted on PR right before your post, because it is roomier it shows no under lap and actually made the whole top look different. I would like to try the other views. Actually you really don't need to zig zag the seams on knits, they won't fray, I understand you may want them to look neater but maybe on this top you may forgo the zig-zag on the front lapping seams. I personally think your top looks terrific on you. Welcome to PR I hope to see your more of your sewing creations...
1/30/12 8:31 AM
coudcoud said...
Dear Cleverkitty, It was your blue creation that totally inspired me to make this top. It looks great on you (as well as nearly everything you display on PR!). I understand why you had first one 'stolen' from you!!! I sincerely appreciate your advice on how to improve my work with this pattern and I do intend to re-try the same view, as I feel the draping helps my flat-chested figure. I will look for a fabric that is a bit thicker, or perhaps fabric with a pattern. I'll also try to borrow a serger to see if that will fix the visible seam problem. Or, as you suggest, skip the seam finishing on that part of the garment completely. Once again, thank you for commenting!
1/30/12 8:54 AM
Levone said...
Despite the issues you encountered, your top turned out great!
1/31/12 9:44 AM
coudcoud said...
Dear Levone, Thank you! coudcoud
2/4/12 6:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 5825
photo
Review by Nancywin on 10/14/09
Read Review

McCalls 6819 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6819 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9461 Pattern
Burda 9461 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Advance Pattern Company 8436
photo
Review by Graca on 10/21/12
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us