SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7799 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE TOP)

43 more reviews
Viewed 283 times 
Reviewed by:coudcoud
photo

 
 
About coudcoud
QC CANADA
Member since: 12/2/08
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/12 6:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
NVK said...
Patterns always need tweaking. I find this my least favorite part of sewing. I like how the drape of the fabric flatters your figure. Definitively make more tops.
1/29/12 9:57 AM
coudcoud said...
Dear NVK, Thank you for your encouraging words. There is a mock turtleneck version of the same top on the same pattern; I may try it!
1/29/12 12:59 PM
cleverkitty said...
Hi coudcoud, I made this pattern three times the first one came out perfect, it was a gray heather my daughter took it from me, every time she wears it I admire it, there is no show through with the under lap, it could be the fabric and color. The second one I made too snug although I still wear it, you can see the under lapping seam like you mentioned. The third one I made larger and posted on PR right before your post, because it is roomier it shows no under lap and actually made the whole top look different. I would like to try the other views. Actually you really don't need to zig zag the seams on knits, they won't fray, I understand you may want them to look neater but maybe on this top you may forgo the zig-zag on the front lapping seams. I personally think your top looks terrific on you. Welcome to PR I hope to see your more of your sewing creations...
1/30/12 8:31 AM
coudcoud said...
Dear Cleverkitty, It was your blue creation that totally inspired me to make this top. It looks great on you (as well as nearly everything you display on PR!). I understand why you had first one 'stolen' from you!!! I sincerely appreciate your advice on how to improve my work with this pattern and I do intend to re-try the same view, as I feel the draping helps my flat-chested figure. I will look for a fabric that is a bit thicker, or perhaps fabric with a pattern. I'll also try to borrow a serger to see if that will fix the visible seam problem. Or, as you suggest, skip the seam finishing on that part of the garment completely. Once again, thank you for commenting!
1/30/12 8:54 AM
Levone said...
Despite the issues you encountered, your top turned out great!
1/31/12 9:44 AM
coudcoud said...
Dear Levone, Thank you! coudcoud
2/4/12 6:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now
Other Mannequin Pin Cushion

photo
by: Holmar

Review