SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8248 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE SHIRT)

12 more reviews
Viewed 512 times 
Reviewed by:E.A.Y.
photo

 
 
About E.A.Y.
CA
Member since: 1/25/12
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/2/12 6:11 PM
Last Updated:2/2/12 6:12 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Claverie said...
What a pretty print. Made for a really cute blouse.
2/2/12 6:45 PM
lamstu said...
Lovely blouse and looks fine from here!
2/2/12 7:11 PM
jlg said...
I agree. It looks very nice on you. Pretty fabric.
2/2/12 7:55 PM
AuntieShel said...
What a gorgeous blouse--love the print!! I could not believe that perfectly fitted blouse had a kimono sleeve!!
2/2/12 8:15 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great blouse, fit and pattern matching across the front! Like AuntieShel I had to look twice because I couldn't believe a dolman sleeve could fit so well. Very nicely done.
2/2/12 8:33 PM
Elona said...
The real thing is as pretty as the illustration, which is rare, I think. And I agree: that is an amazing fit for a dolman sleeve.
2/2/12 8:38 PM
Christas said...
I think your blouse looks great! What a nice fabric choice, too!
2/2/12 9:05 PM
margk said...
It looks better than "OK" to me! Nice!
2/2/12 9:53 PM
SewWil said...
Pretty blouse! I would never have looked twice at this pattern but I may have to buy it.
2/2/12 10:25 PM
E.A.Y. said...
Thanks, everyone for the kind words! The cotton I used made all the difference, I think. It is lightweight but fairly tightly woven - crisp-ish - and I think that helps make the blouse look its best. I'm not sure a soft floppy fabric would be as nice.
2/3/12 1:10 AM
FreyaStark said...
I am envious because when I made this pattern a few years ago, before joining PR, it did not work for me. I found it much too tight in the hip and too short in the body. Now that I know more about fitting I could probably make a better fist of it. A very nice shirt; enjoy wearing it.
2/3/12 4:52 AM
grey ann said...
I agree, it fits nice and at first I thought the sleeves WERE set-in. The print worked up so nicely too.
2/3/12 5:47 AM
Elaray said...
I love short sleeved woven blouses! I sew mostly from BurdaStyle Magazine and they rarely show classic styles like this one. I'm on the lookout for this type of blouse and I'm glad you reviewed this pattern. I'd have to make a muslin first, because I usually make a 22 top, but I'll certainly investigate this pattern further.
2/3/12 9:02 AM
swany said...
This looks like a keeper. I love the print.
2/3/12 10:10 AM
marthamyers said...
Cool blouse and great choice of fabric for it. I'd love to hear more about your adventures (re)learning to use the old Singer buttonholer. I have my mom's old Singer with that cool device but I'm afraid to try it and Mother is gone. :(
2/3/12 11:57 AM
E.A.Y. said...
Elaray, I think it would be pretty easy to size up, especially if the collar and neckline fit you in a 20.
2/3/12 8:33 PM
waltzqueen said...
I have this pattern and I'm delighted you had such a good experience with it. It's on my list!
2/7/12 2:10 PM
EyeSew1 said...
Love the blouse - well done - beautiful fabric!
2/19/12 6:45 PM
lcdrbetty said...
Very pretty blouse! Fit looks great. This is my next project, so thanks for the great review.
3/21/12 10:10 AM
E.A.Y. said...
I was thinking about this blouse again. One reason the dolman sleeves don't look like dolman sleeves is that I have very square shoulders. If you have sloping sholders, it won't look the same.
2/27/13 11:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-114

photo
by: Pinkytoo

Review
Fashion in Harmony 1001

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Buy Now
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Buy Now