SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2007-105 (Collared knit top)

8 more reviews
Viewed 221 times 
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo

 
 
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 134
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/12 11:35 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
zoe said...
I think you're right. The original pattern version is very flattering and elongating. Though the other does look good too; the effect of the more plunging neckline is noticeable ( and I normally fill in necklines, or raise them, myself).
1/30/12 11:39 PM
Deepika said...
Wow, lovely dress.
1/31/12 1:11 AM
Frogstitcher said...
I doubt the golf pro will notice your wink. Great job on both tops and thanks for doing a test by raising the neckline. I'm sure many of us were wondering if it were doable or not. I believe the neckline should plunge as Burda designed it. The truth is in the wearing comfort of your "as is" version.
1/31/12 10:36 AM
nicegirl said...
What a great dressy top! Thanks for the tip on travel suitability.
1/31/12 11:10 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Yes, the first top is more flattering. I have had this same thought about other plunging BS tops. IMO they need a camisole under for modesty, rather than the usual adjustment to raise the neckline, thanks for sharing and making us think...
2/1/12 7:34 AM
crisford said...
Beautiful top! I like the first version. Interesting, the 1.5 inch difference is surprisingly noticeable between the two.
2/3/12 1:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

McCall's 6083

photo
by: awesomepot...

Review

Pattern

McCall's 6237

photo
by: Foutchy

Review
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Buy Now