Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7335 (Misses' Caftan Top & Pants) thumbsup - Type:Loungewear    printable version
Viewed 1750 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Steffie
photo
About Steffiestarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 99
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/04 1:13 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
See other patterns in this category: Sleepwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Snowblossom said...
Sorry it didn't work out for you. Have you tried starting with a smaller size and makng a full bust adjustment? I am no expert but I think you could add to the side pieces in order to maintain the rectangular shape of the middle panel.
11/6/04 3:21 PM
Steffie said...
nightingale - I am not sure how I would make a bust adjustment on this pattern because of the piecing. I could add to the side pieces which would mean also adding to the sleeve piece. Maybe after some of my frustration wears off, I'll give it a try! Thanks.
11/6/04 7:19 PM
Mini said...
I think this is the same caftan that was reviewed in Australian Stitches magazine a while ago. The reviewer mentioned the same problems with the huge neck and oversized proprtion. The Very Easy Vogue patterns seem to be way too oversized, at least the ones I have tried. I wonder if narowing the center panel on this one would help-or making it several sizes smaller:)!
11/7/04 11:20 AM
Tailypo said...
I'm so bummed that this pattern hasn't worked for anybody -- I was so into the idea of a caftan!
1/16/05 2:31 AM
Mini said...
Don't worry about finding a caftan pattern, as there are so many out there. You might try FolkWear if you want an authentic ethnic look. For easy to sew versions, most of the pattern companies have something that will work. Simplicity has a couple of simplified caftan patterns in their It's So Easy section. Other pattern companies have them too, usually in the sleepwear and lounging patterns. I had good results with Simplicity 4922, which is a short version that could easily be lengthened. ( Check finished garment measurements tho, these patterns all run large!)
1/16/05 10:40 AM
W said...
I had the same exact experience in a much smaller size. The neckline was astonishingly, weirdly huge.
10/7/05 11:37 AM
rhosyn said...
I bought this pattern a little while back and made the trousers yesterday afternoon with white linen fabrc, lovely and they fit me perfectly but I did do them a size smaller after reading the reviews, hope to do the short caftan soon and will let you know how I got on.
7/27/06 6:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Vogue Patterns 1027 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 6/5/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4033 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4033 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2569 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 2569 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Bullard Design Go On & Knit
photo
Review by SueV on 8/17/08
Read Review

Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern
Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern
SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us