SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7335 (Misses' Caftan Top & Pants)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1751 times 
Reviewed by:Steffie
photo

 
 
About Steffiestarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 99
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/04 1:13 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Sleepwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Snowblossom said...
Sorry it didn't work out for you. Have you tried starting with a smaller size and makng a full bust adjustment? I am no expert but I think you could add to the side pieces in order to maintain the rectangular shape of the middle panel.
11/6/04 3:21 PM
Steffie said...
nightingale - I am not sure how I would make a bust adjustment on this pattern because of the piecing. I could add to the side pieces which would mean also adding to the sleeve piece. Maybe after some of my frustration wears off, I'll give it a try! Thanks.
11/6/04 7:19 PM
Mini said...
I think this is the same caftan that was reviewed in Australian Stitches magazine a while ago. The reviewer mentioned the same problems with the huge neck and oversized proprtion. The Very Easy Vogue patterns seem to be way too oversized, at least the ones I have tried. I wonder if narowing the center panel on this one would help-or making it several sizes smaller:)!
11/7/04 11:20 AM
Tailypo said...
I'm so bummed that this pattern hasn't worked for anybody -- I was so into the idea of a caftan!
1/16/05 2:31 AM
Mini said...
Don't worry about finding a caftan pattern, as there are so many out there. You might try FolkWear if you want an authentic ethnic look. For easy to sew versions, most of the pattern companies have something that will work. Simplicity has a couple of simplified caftan patterns in their It's So Easy section. Other pattern companies have them too, usually in the sleepwear and lounging patterns. I had good results with Simplicity 4922, which is a short version that could easily be lengthened. ( Check finished garment measurements tho, these patterns all run large!)
1/16/05 10:40 AM
W said...
I had the same exact experience in a much smaller size. The neckline was astonishingly, weirdly huge.
10/7/05 11:37 AM
rhosyn said...
I bought this pattern a little while back and made the trousers yesterday afternoon with white linen fabrc, lovely and they fit me perfectly but I did do them a size smaller after reading the reviews, hope to do the short caftan soon and will let you know how I got on.
7/27/06 6:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now