SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1407 (Barcelona Dress)

27 more reviews
Viewed 2329 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/04 6:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisette said...
Your dress does look good. Thanks for the detailed review.
11/6/04 7:33 PM
CatherineN said...
This dress is very attractive on you.
11/6/04 7:34 PM
CarolynGM said...
The dress looks nice drsue. Could a zipper be added to allow closer fitting in the bodice?
11/6/04 8:03 PM
Annika said...
Beautiful dress and congrats on 50+ pattern reviews!
11/6/04 9:52 PM
drsue said...
Irina: It would be really impossible to put in a center back zipper. You could put in a vent with a button on top at the center back however, but I don't think that would really allow much of a closer fit through the bodice. The only thing you could do would be to put a zipper in the side seam under the arm as you often see in 40's and 50's dresses. I have done this but it is pretty difficult and I'm not sure it would be really worth the effort.
11/6/04 10:53 PM
CarolynGM said...
Drat drsue -- no zipper potential -- I just love this pattern, but I haven't bought it because loose tops like this often look very frumpy on me. You did a great job making yours more fitted, but I probably don't have the patience to do the necessary alterations.
11/7/04 5:34 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
I love how your dress turned out !! Thanks for the detailed review.
11/7/04 11:47 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Dress turned out nice in spite of all your challenges. I have had this pattern for years thinking it would overwhelm me. I might reconsider if I attempt to adjust as you did.
11/7/04 3:44 PM
kbrock said...
I have made several of these - both long & short sleeved - made of matte jersey. I went down one size to get a closer fit and it worked great.
11/8/04 5:17 PM
ashleyanne said...
I read the reviews, and think this dress would be overwhelming on my 4-11 daughter
6/24/05 8:44 PM
labsmith said...
Very comprehensive. Drsue sounds like an expert to go to with construction and fitting problems. I appreciate that she is not praising the instructions but determines that the pattern does turn out a good product in careful, thoughtful hands. Think I'll try it.
8/20/06 10:15 PM
QuickFade said...
I've been tempted by this dress because it looks like you could make it, throw it on in the morning, dress it up with a scarf or chunky necklace and wear hosiery and pumps to make yourself look professional in a business casual environment. But, I have not tried it because looser things without waist definition can make me look heavier due to my full bust and small frame. Any thoughts on this? is this better for a smaller busted woman? If made in a black drapey knit so it's not too loose, would this be slimming? How would you handle a full bust alteration if this is snugger in the bodice than expected? My high bust is 34 and my full bust 36 or somewhere around there, depending on the bra I'm wearing. I'd need an XS for shoulders according to measurements but also need an FBA unless there was lots of ease, tapering to a S for waist and hips.
9/25/06 12:22 PM
drsue said...
Popo: I'm probably not the best person to give advice regarding how to handle a full bust. the dress has more waist shaping that you'd expect, especially on the sides, due to the bias grain line of the skirt. You can't overfit the bodice, however, or you won't be able to get it over your chest.
9/26/06 9:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2010-11

photo
by: angeleyes8...

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6276

photo
by: Margaret

Review