SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1407 (Barcelona Dress)

28 more reviews
Viewed 2330 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/04 6:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
Popo: I'm probably not the best person to give advice regarding how to handle a full bust. the dress has more waist shaping that you'd expect, especially on the sides, due to the bias grain line of the skirt. You can't overfit the bodice, however, or you won't be able to get it over your chest.
9/26/06 9:57 AM
QuickFade said...
I've been tempted by this dress because it looks like you could make it, throw it on in the morning, dress it up with a scarf or chunky necklace and wear hosiery and pumps to make yourself look professional in a business casual environment. But, I have not tried it because looser things without waist definition can make me look heavier due to my full bust and small frame. Any thoughts on this? is this better for a smaller busted woman? If made in a black drapey knit so it's not too loose, would this be slimming? How would you handle a full bust alteration if this is snugger in the bodice than expected? My high bust is 34 and my full bust 36 or somewhere around there, depending on the bra I'm wearing. I'd need an XS for shoulders according to measurements but also need an FBA unless there was lots of ease, tapering to a S for waist and hips.
9/25/06 12:22 PM
labsmith said...
Very comprehensive. Drsue sounds like an expert to go to with construction and fitting problems. I appreciate that she is not praising the instructions but determines that the pattern does turn out a good product in careful, thoughtful hands. Think I'll try it.
8/20/06 10:15 PM
ashleyanne said...
I read the reviews, and think this dress would be overwhelming on my 4-11 daughter
6/24/05 8:44 PM
kbrock said...
I have made several of these - both long & short sleeved - made of matte jersey. I went down one size to get a closer fit and it worked great.
11/8/04 5:17 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Dress turned out nice in spite of all your challenges. I have had this pattern for years thinking it would overwhelm me. I might reconsider if I attempt to adjust as you did.
11/7/04 3:44 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
I love how your dress turned out !! Thanks for the detailed review.
11/7/04 11:47 AM
CarolynGM said...
Drat drsue -- no zipper potential -- I just love this pattern, but I haven't bought it because loose tops like this often look very frumpy on me. You did a great job making yours more fitted, but I probably don't have the patience to do the necessary alterations.
11/7/04 5:34 AM
drsue said...
Irina: It would be really impossible to put in a center back zipper. You could put in a vent with a button on top at the center back however, but I don't think that would really allow much of a closer fit through the bodice. The only thing you could do would be to put a zipper in the side seam under the arm as you often see in 40's and 50's dresses. I have done this but it is pretty difficult and I'm not sure it would be really worth the effort.
11/6/04 10:53 PM
Annika said...
Beautiful dress and congrats on 50+ pattern reviews!
11/6/04 9:52 PM
CarolynGM said...
The dress looks nice drsue. Could a zipper be added to allow closer fitting in the bodice?
11/6/04 8:03 PM
CatherineN said...
This dress is very attractive on you.
11/6/04 7:34 PM
Lisette said...
Your dress does look good. Thanks for the detailed review.
11/6/04 7:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now