Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1407 (Barcelona Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2327 times 27 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/04 6:25 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisette said...
Your dress does look good. Thanks for the detailed review.
11/6/04 7:33 PM
CatherineN said...
This dress is very attractive on you.
11/6/04 7:34 PM
CarolynGM said...
The dress looks nice drsue. Could a zipper be added to allow closer fitting in the bodice?
11/6/04 8:03 PM
Annika said...
Beautiful dress and congrats on 50+ pattern reviews!
11/6/04 9:52 PM
drsue said...
Irina: It would be really impossible to put in a center back zipper. You could put in a vent with a button on top at the center back however, but I don't think that would really allow much of a closer fit through the bodice. The only thing you could do would be to put a zipper in the side seam under the arm as you often see in 40's and 50's dresses. I have done this but it is pretty difficult and I'm not sure it would be really worth the effort.
11/6/04 10:53 PM
CarolynGM said...
Drat drsue -- no zipper potential -- I just love this pattern, but I haven't bought it because loose tops like this often look very frumpy on me. You did a great job making yours more fitted, but I probably don't have the patience to do the necessary alterations.
11/7/04 5:34 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
I love how your dress turned out !! Thanks for the detailed review.
11/7/04 11:47 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Dress turned out nice in spite of all your challenges. I have had this pattern for years thinking it would overwhelm me. I might reconsider if I attempt to adjust as you did.
11/7/04 3:44 PM
kbrock said...
I have made several of these - both long & short sleeved - made of matte jersey. I went down one size to get a closer fit and it worked great.
11/8/04 5:17 PM
ashleyanne said...
I read the reviews, and think this dress would be overwhelming on my 4-11 daughter
6/24/05 8:44 PM
labsmith said...
Very comprehensive. Drsue sounds like an expert to go to with construction and fitting problems. I appreciate that she is not praising the instructions but determines that the pattern does turn out a good product in careful, thoughtful hands. Think I'll try it.
8/20/06 10:15 PM
QuickFade said...
I've been tempted by this dress because it looks like you could make it, throw it on in the morning, dress it up with a scarf or chunky necklace and wear hosiery and pumps to make yourself look professional in a business casual environment. But, I have not tried it because looser things without waist definition can make me look heavier due to my full bust and small frame. Any thoughts on this? is this better for a smaller busted woman? If made in a black drapey knit so it's not too loose, would this be slimming? How would you handle a full bust alteration if this is snugger in the bodice than expected? My high bust is 34 and my full bust 36 or somewhere around there, depending on the bra I'm wearing. I'd need an XS for shoulders according to measurements but also need an FBA unless there was lots of ease, tapering to a S for waist and hips.
9/25/06 12:22 PM
drsue said...
Popo: I'm probably not the best person to give advice regarding how to handle a full bust. the dress has more waist shaping that you'd expect, especially on the sides, due to the bias grain line of the skirt. You can't overfit the bodice, however, or you won't be able to get it over your chest.
9/26/06 9:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Kwik Sew 2900
photo
Review by hazelnut on 5/3/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Easy Kimono Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Easy Kimono Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2010-115
photo
Review by Kemish on 4/25/11
Read Review

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7633 Pattern
Burda 7633 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7388 Pattern
Burda 7388 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us