SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress)

40 more reviews
Viewed 204 times 
Reviewed by:rooskie
photo

 
 
About rooskie
WA USA
Member since: 9/29/06
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/12 10:32 PM
Last Updated:1/31/12 10:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said...
It's adorable! It makes you smile, not laugh. :) The red front bodice is perfect in so many ways. 1) The solid sets off your face & colouring more. 2) It actually 'pops' the red in the lobster print. 3) By NOT putting it everywhere it proves that you are not just blind to the theme. Quite the reverse. It says, "I am fully aware this is a crazy sort of print, and I'm proving it by having the sense not to put it on everything." That makes you look like what you are, a playful, witty person. Really like the shoulders, too. They look very natural, like they belong to the pattern. The crinoline adds to the fun, too, by winking playfully at the whole retro look thing. NICE.
10/10/12 12:45 PM
BrendaJoyce said...
Don't save that adorable dress for a special night out, where it to the grocery store and show off! I just bought that pattern today and I can't wait to get started. Great review!
7/20/12 8:10 PM
Bstitchin said...
Im peeking thru reviews as im having fitting "fears". I need a 16 bodice and 20 waist and im a little intimidated! Great review and I admire the bodice elastic hooks! How clever, I do believe I shall copy. Your lobster dress is so cute, you should wear it out and about!
4/4/12 8:28 PM
lamstu said...
When I saw the silhouette, I thought "square dance" and then I saw the lobsters :) So you found a lot of inspiration from sewing this dress and that is fantastic!
2/12/12 5:14 PM
ChristmasHills said...
That dress looks like so much fun. You could go and learn to dance, maybe the Lindyhop, if you don't know already how and have such fun in that dress. I like it both with and without the petticoat. Love it. You sound like a lot of fun too.
2/1/12 4:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Simplicity 2927

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Amy Butler AB043HR

photo
by: CMae

Review
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

More Info
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

More Info