Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7693 (Mediocre Mock Wrap Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 605 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/12 11:13 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
The dress looks great--and your persistence in the face of so many errors in the pattern is amazing. Congratulations!
2/3/12 11:29 AM
EleanorSews said...
The result is quite nice. Seems like a huge amount of effort though ~ no wonder it is now OOP!
2/3/12 11:47 AM
ClioBklyn said...
Wow! What a PITA! But it does look nice on you. Nice save on a bum pattern!
2/3/12 12:08 PM
pterion said...
Ha, I love your title (Mediocre Mock Wrap Dress). Luckily you are a savvy enough sewer to craft a very stylish and flattering dress from this poorly engineered pattern. If I find this one I will avoid it.
2/3/12 1:39 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Wow! I think you are an engineer with your pattern adjustments! Great review as always and the dress is very flattering on you!
2/3/12 1:52 PM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for the warning! :) It looks great on you though! Lovely fabric. :)
2/3/12 3:00 PM
SewWil said...
Your dress turned out great! Thanks for the warning. I've had this pattern for a few years but I never got around to it. Now I'm glad.
2/3/12 4:14 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fantastic review, thanks! Lovely dress in spite of the instructions. :)
2/3/12 4:19 PM
KathleenS said...
I like your dress a lot. It's a good thing you've emphasised your warning against it so strongly because otherwise I might be tempted!
2/3/12 4:53 PM
Zacky said...
You did a great job on makeing this from a pattern thats aparently not worth the paper its printed on. It did turn out very nice.
2/3/12 6:06 PM
jenleeC said...
Thank goodness you ended up with a lovely well fitting dress! And your review will ensure a few less wadders and a lot less frustration for the rest of the sewing community!
2/3/12 6:50 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your dress looks great despite the issues you encountered. Great job with a problematic pattern!
2/3/12 6:54 PM
ChristineX said...
Great review and at least the finished product looks good from here. The 'mediocre mock wrap dress' title made me lol
2/3/12 10:42 PM
FreyaStark said...
I agree with others: the dress looks good on you despite the difficulties of making the pattern work, and your effort to make the best of it is most impressive. Thanks for a detailed review. I'm sure it will be valuable to others.
2/4/12 2:09 AM
loti said...
Thank you for the thorough review, I have this pattern in my stash and am grateful for the heads up. I love the fabric you picked, very flattering.
2/4/12 10:55 AM
becca a said...
The dress is lovely. What a painful process it was to get there.
2/4/12 12:12 PM
Sheila457 said...
Lovely dress and a fan of wrap dresses. I am in the process of finishing another one, which was a rtw that saw better days. Took the dress apart & use as a pattern.
2/4/12 1:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 7014 dog beds
photo
Review by Slappy Squ... on 8/17/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Judy's Fancy Pants Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Judy's Fancy Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5931
photo
Review by kittykate on 1/17/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7630 Pattern
Burda 7630 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5887 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5887 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us