SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7693 (Mediocre Mock Wrap Dress)

7 more reviews
Viewed 613 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 320
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 311 people
patterns reviewed: 320
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/12 11:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
The dress looks great--and your persistence in the face of so many errors in the pattern is amazing. Congratulations!
2/3/12 11:29 AM
EleanorSews said...
The result is quite nice. Seems like a huge amount of effort though ~ no wonder it is now OOP!
2/3/12 11:47 AM
ClioBklyn said...
Wow! What a PITA! But it does look nice on you. Nice save on a bum pattern!
2/3/12 12:08 PM
pterion said...
Ha, I love your title (Mediocre Mock Wrap Dress). Luckily you are a savvy enough sewer to craft a very stylish and flattering dress from this poorly engineered pattern. If I find this one I will avoid it.
2/3/12 1:39 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Wow! I think you are an engineer with your pattern adjustments! Great review as always and the dress is very flattering on you!
2/3/12 1:52 PM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for the warning! :) It looks great on you though! Lovely fabric. :)
2/3/12 3:00 PM
SewWil said...
Your dress turned out great! Thanks for the warning. I've had this pattern for a few years but I never got around to it. Now I'm glad.
2/3/12 4:14 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fantastic review, thanks! Lovely dress in spite of the instructions. :)
2/3/12 4:19 PM
KathleenS said...
I like your dress a lot. It's a good thing you've emphasised your warning against it so strongly because otherwise I might be tempted!
2/3/12 4:53 PM
Zacky said...
You did a great job on makeing this from a pattern thats aparently not worth the paper its printed on. It did turn out very nice.
2/3/12 6:06 PM
jenleeC said...
Thank goodness you ended up with a lovely well fitting dress! And your review will ensure a few less wadders and a lot less frustration for the rest of the sewing community!
2/3/12 6:50 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your dress looks great despite the issues you encountered. Great job with a problematic pattern!
2/3/12 6:54 PM
ChristineX said...
Great review and at least the finished product looks good from here. The 'mediocre mock wrap dress' title made me lol
2/3/12 10:42 PM
FreyaStark said...
I agree with others: the dress looks good on you despite the difficulties of making the pattern work, and your effort to make the best of it is most impressive. Thanks for a detailed review. I'm sure it will be valuable to others.
2/4/12 2:09 AM
loti said...
Thank you for the thorough review, I have this pattern in my stash and am grateful for the heads up. I love the fabric you picked, very flattering.
2/4/12 10:55 AM
becca a said...
The dress is lovely. What a painful process it was to get there.
2/4/12 12:12 PM
Sheila457 said...
Lovely dress and a fan of wrap dresses. I am in the process of finishing another one, which was a rtw that saw better days. Took the dress apart & use as a pattern.
2/4/12 1:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Buy Now