SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7693 (Mediocre Mock Wrap Dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 623 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 320
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 311 people
patterns reviewed: 320
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/12 11:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
The dress looks great--and your persistence in the face of so many errors in the pattern is amazing. Congratulations!
2/3/12 11:29 AM
EleanorSews said...
The result is quite nice. Seems like a huge amount of effort though ~ no wonder it is now OOP!
2/3/12 11:47 AM
ClioBklyn said...
Wow! What a PITA! But it does look nice on you. Nice save on a bum pattern!
2/3/12 12:08 PM
pterion said...
Ha, I love your title (Mediocre Mock Wrap Dress). Luckily you are a savvy enough sewer to craft a very stylish and flattering dress from this poorly engineered pattern. If I find this one I will avoid it.
2/3/12 1:39 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Wow! I think you are an engineer with your pattern adjustments! Great review as always and the dress is very flattering on you!
2/3/12 1:52 PM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for the warning! :) It looks great on you though! Lovely fabric. :)
2/3/12 3:00 PM
SewWil said...
Your dress turned out great! Thanks for the warning. I've had this pattern for a few years but I never got around to it. Now I'm glad.
2/3/12 4:14 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fantastic review, thanks! Lovely dress in spite of the instructions. :)
2/3/12 4:19 PM
KathleenS said...
I like your dress a lot. It's a good thing you've emphasised your warning against it so strongly because otherwise I might be tempted!
2/3/12 4:53 PM
Zacky said...
You did a great job on makeing this from a pattern thats aparently not worth the paper its printed on. It did turn out very nice.
2/3/12 6:06 PM
jenleeC said...
Thank goodness you ended up with a lovely well fitting dress! And your review will ensure a few less wadders and a lot less frustration for the rest of the sewing community!
2/3/12 6:50 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your dress looks great despite the issues you encountered. Great job with a problematic pattern!
2/3/12 6:54 PM
ChristineX said...
Great review and at least the finished product looks good from here. The 'mediocre mock wrap dress' title made me lol
2/3/12 10:42 PM
FreyaStark said...
I agree with others: the dress looks good on you despite the difficulties of making the pattern work, and your effort to make the best of it is most impressive. Thanks for a detailed review. I'm sure it will be valuable to others.
2/4/12 2:09 AM
loti said...
Thank you for the thorough review, I have this pattern in my stash and am grateful for the heads up. I love the fabric you picked, very flattering.
2/4/12 10:55 AM
becca a said...
The dress is lovely. What a painful process it was to get there.
2/4/12 12:12 PM
Sheila457 said...
Lovely dress and a fan of wrap dresses. I am in the process of finishing another one, which was a rtw that saw better days. Took the dress apart & use as a pattern.
2/4/12 1:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Buy Now