SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> 18 Inch Doll Clothes (18 Inch Doll Clothes)

Viewed 1622 times 
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 82 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/04 9:08 AM
Last Updated:12/20/04 10:52 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tari Hann said...
I have this book but haven't made anything from it yet so I was really happy to see a review from it! Thanks PhyllisC!
2/16/06 12:16 PM
Lori V said...
Phyllis, these are beautiful, you did an incredible job. What heirlooms for your dds. They will have such fun with their dolls and their clothes. Lisa, try ebay for the AG patterns. I made a couple of items this week from the patterns and they are nice.
12/21/04 5:36 AM
Georgene said...
oOoh, jealous! I wish my DD had been into dolls and doll clothes. I will have to wait for another small client to come along. I recently bought the 18"doll dress form like you have, and have the Venus Dodge book for years. Saving all my scraps against the day when I can make doll clothes again. Your work is beautiful, especially the Victorian underwear.
12/21/04 2:09 AM
drsue said...
Just beautiful. I presume that dress is hand-smocked? Amazing.
12/20/04 9:24 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Beautiful work! I may need to get this book (DD has Molly). Is it available from, say, Amazon? I really am kicking myself now for not ordering the patterns from AG when they offered them...but I didn't need them at the time...
11/10/04 7:39 AM
Athelas said...
Beautiful work! The coat is really stunning! I have made some clothes for Samantha using the patterns from the Amer. Girl Co. (they have them at the Bourne Library on Cape Cod, MA, US) that are the exact clothes in the catalogs with really clear instructions. I'll do a review someday:-)
11/9/04 6:08 PM
PhyllisC said...
Rennie - the time depends mostly on the amount of handsewing. The coat was the most work (6-7 hours), because I re-drafted the collar, made a muslin and also hand hemmed the lining and made the frogs myself. The school dress and undies were only about 2 hours. The white dress was about 3 hours.
11/9/04 8:36 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
Beautiful! Such details. How time intensive are doll clothes like these in comparison with real people clothes?
11/9/04 6:48 AM
AnneM said...
Same here - my reaction was "Wow". Great job; I'm certain they will be thrilled.
11/8/04 7:25 PM
artndl said...
Phyllis, when I opened that photo of the coat all I caould say is "WOW!". All the clothes are beautiful. Congatulations on a job well done!
11/8/04 5:32 PM
Elemenopeo said...
These are georgous. I have this book and appreciate the review and notes on sas. The outfits definately passed the "Oh!" test with my 7 yr old.
11/8/04 4:24 PM
candyo said...
Wow, you didn't cut any corners, especially in your choice of fabric! I'll bet they'll pass these on to their own children.
11/8/04 2:37 PM
sheree said...
Phyllis, your doll clothes turned out beautifully! They look perfect for the time period of these dolls. Great review!
11/8/04 1:04 PM
Cornelia said...
Lovely doll clothes. Don't have a call for such, but really enjoy seeing them. How about posting a pic of the dolls in their clothes, maybe with the girls?
11/8/04 11:08 AM
PhyllisC said...
Nellie & Samantha - one each for DD (they're fraternal twins).
11/8/04 10:21 AM
joan said...
Phyllis, the garments are lovely. I have several granddaughters that have Amer. Girl, am curious to know which of the dolls you are sewing for. You are going to make some little girl very happy.
11/8/04 9:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Butterick 05175

photo
by: aunrea

Review
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

More Info