Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: 18 Inch Doll Clothes (18 Inch Doll Clothes) - Type:Crafts    printable version
Viewed 1621 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/04 9:08 AM
Last Updated:12/20/04 10:52 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
joan said...
Phyllis, the garments are lovely. I have several granddaughters that have Amer. Girl, am curious to know which of the dolls you are sewing for. You are going to make some little girl very happy.
11/8/04 9:48 AM
PhyllisC said...
Nellie & Samantha - one each for DD (they're fraternal twins).
11/8/04 10:21 AM
Cornelia said...
Lovely doll clothes. Don't have a call for such, but really enjoy seeing them. How about posting a pic of the dolls in their clothes, maybe with the girls?
11/8/04 11:08 AM
sheree said...
Phyllis, your doll clothes turned out beautifully! They look perfect for the time period of these dolls. Great review!
11/8/04 1:04 PM
candyo said...
Wow, you didn't cut any corners, especially in your choice of fabric! I'll bet they'll pass these on to their own children.
11/8/04 2:37 PM
Elemenopeo said...
These are georgous. I have this book and appreciate the review and notes on sas. The outfits definately passed the "Oh!" test with my 7 yr old.
11/8/04 4:24 PM
artndl said...
Phyllis, when I opened that photo of the coat all I caould say is "WOW!". All the clothes are beautiful. Congatulations on a job well done!
11/8/04 5:32 PM
AnneM said...
Same here - my reaction was "Wow". Great job; I'm certain they will be thrilled.
11/8/04 7:25 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Beautiful! Such details. How time intensive are doll clothes like these in comparison with real people clothes?
11/9/04 6:48 AM
PhyllisC said...
Rennie - the time depends mostly on the amount of handsewing. The coat was the most work (6-7 hours), because I re-drafted the collar, made a muslin and also hand hemmed the lining and made the frogs myself. The school dress and undies were only about 2 hours. The white dress was about 3 hours.
11/9/04 8:36 AM
Athelas said...
Beautiful work! The coat is really stunning! I have made some clothes for Samantha using the patterns from the Amer. Girl Co. (they have them at the Bourne Library on Cape Cod, MA, US) that are the exact clothes in the catalogs with really clear instructions. I'll do a review someday:-)
11/9/04 6:08 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Beautiful work! I may need to get this book (DD has Molly). Is it available from, say, Amazon? I really am kicking myself now for not ordering the patterns from AG when they offered them...but I didn't need them at the time...
11/10/04 7:39 AM
drsue said...
Just beautiful. I presume that dress is hand-smocked? Amazing.
12/20/04 9:24 PM
Georgene said...
oOoh, jealous! I wish my DD had been into dolls and doll clothes. I will have to wait for another small client to come along. I recently bought the 18"doll dress form like you have, and have the Venus Dodge book for years. Saving all my scraps against the day when I can make doll clothes again. Your work is beautiful, especially the Victorian underwear.
12/21/04 2:09 AM
Lori V said...
Phyllis, these are beautiful, you did an incredible job. What heirlooms for your dds. They will have such fun with their dolls and their clothes. Lisa, try ebay for the AG patterns. I made a couple of items this week from the patterns and they are nice.
12/21/04 5:36 AM
Tari Hann said...
I have this book but haven't made anything from it yet so I was really happy to see a review from it! Thanks PhyllisC!
2/16/06 12:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Vogue Patterns 1258
photo
Review by DD1104 on 8/1/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2525 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 2525 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8970 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8970 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's M5968
photo
Review by Larisa on 10/28/12
Read Review

Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Full Bust DVD
Full Bust DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us