SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4097 

3 more reviews
Viewed 448 times 
Reviewed by:4u2cme
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About 4u2cmestar
NC USA
Member since: 1/12/05
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/12 12:00 PM
Last Updated:2/7/12 12:14 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mssewcrazy said...
I found the photo with the neck alteration and it is very helpful. I like your method of filling in the shoulder area. Thanks for showing how you fixed that area on the pattern.
2/10/12 8:16 PM
4u2cme said...
@mssewcrazy - I loaded the photo to flicker. Clicking on the image above will take you to my flicker account.
2/9/12 11:17 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Thanks for the neck info-I am getting much braver with the pencil in the neck area when tracing. I hate it when the neck area feels as if a strap or worse will show if I move. Great that you were able to get a dress as a variation of the top.
2/8/12 9:48 PM
bananaoil said...
The dress looks very good on you and the color is great.
2/8/12 8:16 PM
rebe said...
Beautiful Dress. You did a GREAT Job!!!!
2/8/12 7:42 PM
4u2cme said...
Thank you all for taking time to read & comment on my dress. @mssewcrazy - I added 2.5" to front & back neck line to bring it closer to my neck. You will have to add to the back also so your pieces match when you sew the shoulder seam. I'll add a photo to my blog for you. I should have it uploaded by tomorrow morning.
2/8/12 2:36 PM
Sassy T said...
You look the business. You look so relaxed and cool in it. Great job.
2/8/12 8:26 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Great idea to turn that into a dress. I have the narrow shoulder thing going on as well. When you say you added 2.5 inches to the neck did you add all the way around or only at the shoulders or just the front. It looks as if you took care of the bra strap showing thing and the neck looks good. I always struggle with the neck area being too open that's always my weak spot in pattern alterations for me.
2/8/12 8:25 AM
BeaJay said...
Love that you have turned this into a dress. Wouldn't have thought of that. Great job.
2/8/12 1:48 AM
cmarie12 said...
I love that you lengthened this and got such a wonderful dress!
2/7/12 9:03 PM
sewmytime said...
Gorgeous!
2/7/12 6:00 PM
Puppy said...
Very stylish, flattering and classy.
2/7/12 5:14 PM
sewrelax said...
A good job. We all need a quick success.
2/7/12 2:00 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
It's a great looking trendy dress. Love that red!
2/7/12 12:56 PM
EastwoodFan said...
Looks like a great pattern. You did a nice job of extending a blouse pattern to a dress pattern. Love the choice of fabric too. Perfect red dress!
2/7/12 12:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Butterick 5815

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now