SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6513 (Misses' Tops)

18 more reviews
Viewed 846 times 
Reviewed by:blue mooney
photo

 
 
About blue mooneystarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/12 6:33 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
coudcoud said...
Looks very pretty on you in spite of the issues you discuss in your review.
2/7/12 8:29 PM
marthamyers said...
The soft drape is evident in the picture and looks lovely. I'm often uncomfortable in a drape front for the reasons you mention. But it does look very attractive on you.
2/7/12 9:19 PM
ArtAttack said...
I think it is very pretty on you. With time you will probably decide whether you really like it or not. I've wondered about this pattern and been on the fence about it. Thanks for the thorough review...
2/7/12 9:48 PM
Christas said...
I think the top looks very nice on you.
2/7/12 10:13 PM
BeaJay said...
The drape is lovely and the colour beautiful. I think it looks great on you.
2/8/12 1:36 AM
jennhpiper said...
Lovely job on the top. I just finished the same pattern last week. I am happy with some of the fitting instructions but the unfinished collar and sizing were a challenge for me too.
2/8/12 6:37 AM
babbling brook said...
This top is a perfect combination of fit, pattern, and fabric type and color. It is very flattering on you! I would also like to make this top and am wondering if there is any way to overcome the cut-on front facing issue?
2/8/12 9:44 AM
marec said...
The drape of this beautiful top is so feminine and lovely on you. The color is one of my faves too. I wear this style a lot, and find that I must hem at different lengths depending upon the fabric used. If you hemmed it at the high hip, do you think the front would stay closed more easily?
2/8/12 11:39 AM
tsedai said...
I like it! I just bought this pattern about a week ago, so I really appreciate the review and your discussion of the sizing and fit.
2/8/12 12:13 PM
blue mooney said...
Thanks, everyone. Just to clarify, I don't think the cut-on facing is a negative, it just makes for soft folds which is one of the nice features of this top. And you can always topstitch the edge if you want more definition.
2/8/12 3:31 PM
TJSEWS said...
I think the top is pretty and looks really good on you. I love the color too.
2/9/12 12:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Buy Now
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now