Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Tilda Tunic (Tilda Tunic) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 320 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Baba Yaga
photo
About Baba Yaga
Member since: 1/6/09
Reviews written: 1
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/12 10:42 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mastdenman said...
I like the way this top looks too. But it seems the neck opening is waaaay to wide. The average shoulder is between 4 and 5 inches in length. This means that the tunic would hang off one shoulder (or both) all the time, and I hate that feeling. Could you bring the neckline in a couple of inches at least?
2/11/12 1:26 PM
Baba Yaga said...
My garment's neckline is actually about 3" longer in circumference than it should be, because my miserable fabric stretched so much. So perhaps the pattern's neckline, properly constructed, would suit you just fine. Note that the description says you'll need to wear the top over a camisole. However, my issue is that the shoulders are too narrow, so narrowing the neckline would make the fit of the garment even worse.
2/11/12 3:06 PM
GrannyT said...
I have purchased this pattern and it will be my first StyleArc pattern to sew. I can't tell you how much I appreciate your information - I will pay attention to the shoulder width before it becomes a problem. I am still not sure about the sizing. I bought a size one up from the measurements, which is a size smaller than I would use in a US pattern. I plan to make a full tummy addition, figuring that will be easier than trying to fit shoulder and neckline seams in this style. I also planned to ADD an inch, at least, to the inside of the neckline edge - usually necklines are too big for me (post mastectomy, my faux bosoms are small in relationship to the rest of me and my shoulders are very narrow as well.) This should increase the width of shoulders, but be sure I will make sure the shoulders are wide enough. I also don't usually wear a drop sleeve, but I really like the basic style, so I'm going to make sure it's long enough. Just hope I don't end up spending so much time adjusting the pattern that I lose the easy construction!
8/15/13 10:18 PM
GrannyT said...

8/15/13 10:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2009-32
photo
Review by brissie71 on 2/24/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern
You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used No pattern used 2009-01-Baby
photo
Review by katlew03 on 2/20/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1703 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1703 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6730 Pattern
New Look 6730 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us