SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6251 (Misses Pants and Shorts)

7 more reviews
Viewed 525 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 145
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 80 people
patterns reviewed: 136
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/12 1:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
brissie71 said...
Thanks for posting the link to this review. Those pants are fabulous. The topstitching is excellent - and very flattering. I also like the cut on you, obviously worth all the pain throughout the fitting process.
6/22/12 9:26 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I think your pants look GREAT, but then I ALWAYS do, even when you don't. :o) Everything you make is so professionally sewn, too. And I was going to ASK if you made that quilt. I LOVE IT! Would you like my address, so you can send it to me? Heh-heh-heh.
2/17/12 0:41 AM
Lynn67 said...
Barb, you are my pants idol. I hate roomy crotches myself, but these do look good, and your pockets are awesome! You and I DO have similar leg wrinkles in the back, as you mentioned, and if, no, WHEN I find the solution I'll let you know. You let me know if you find it first!
2/14/12 6:34 PM
SewWil said...
I think your capris look great! Can't say that I see any weirdness. I need to follow your lead and diminish my quilt fabric stash. I keep bi-passing it for the clothing fabric stash.
2/14/12 3:02 PM
sewbehind said...
Barb, I love your capris, even though you have issues with them. I notice that many of your sewing projects are looking very RTW. Love the quilt too. I also lament how little quilt it takes to make a quilt. (except for the backing, of course) I have taken to making pieced backings with the fabric I no longer love) In any event, your lime green and white quilt adds the perfect backdrop and punch for your photo shoot.
2/13/12 10:19 AM
cleverkitty said...
yes I agree with Judy Kski, your being way to critical of the fit, I just went back and looked at my post on these pants, very wrinkled (from wearing all day) can't make out a good fit or not. Being cargo pants I likes the loose fit along with MY easy going attitude they worked for me. I think the Perfectionist in you is in conflict with your quest for the perfect fit. I NEED some of you in me. Love your quilt and your energy please continue to aspire ME to be a better sewer.
2/12/12 9:07 AM
Judy Kski said...
I think you are being way too critical of the fit. These capris looks GREAT on you! Just be proud of all the work you've put into fitting pants and enjoy them.
2/12/12 5:34 AM
pdiddly said...
looking at the photograph you would never believe that you had so many problems - they ook great on you
2/12/12 4:27 AM
poppykettle said...
They look great! Capris are just so versatile :)
2/12/12 2:09 AM
Raye Ann said...
Idid not notice the weirdness until you pointed it out...the overall look is really cute. You do excellent work, yes, indeed! That quilt is gorgeous, too.
2/11/12 10:48 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your pants look awesome!
2/11/12 8:37 PM
Mushywear said...
Thanks for the great review. I think your capris are darling. Such fun details and beautifully executed. I'll keep your review in mind when I pull this pattern out to make. Love the quilt by the way. Green is also my favorite color!
2/11/12 5:48 PM
Elona said...
And that got sent prematurely! The next step is to have someone read where that tape measure meets the back bottom edge of the elastic around your waist. The distance on the tape between the front and the back is the stride--your actual crotch length measurement. On any pants pattern, it is a good idea to run your tape measure on edge along the crotch seamline of your pattern pieces and compare it with your stride. This will help you understand beforehand if you are going to have too much or two little fabric in that area in the finished pants.
2/11/12 4:58 PM
Elona said...
Nice looking ensemble--love those colors! As to the fit, you, my friend, are of the straight up and down variety. In such cases, the "stride' measurement is very important. To get this, you pin or tie a piece of elastic around your waist, and then run a tape measure between your legs. You hold one end at your front waist, just below the bottom edge of the elastic. Then you run the tape between your legs, holding it as close to your body as you want your pants to ride (and the closer it is, within reason, the longer your legs will look and the more free your stride will be).
2/11/12 4:51 PM
Erin D said...
Beautiful pants with a beautiful quilt! I love your topstitching.
2/11/12 4:38 PM
JTink said...
I agree with the others. These pants look nice and you have paired them with a great looking top. Only you know the "flaws" are there and what you had to deal with to get them to look this nice. Your quilt is wonderful.
2/11/12 4:25 PM
velosewer said...
You may hate these pants but they've turned out great. You do good work.
2/11/12 4:05 PM
sfshaza said...
I believe you if you say that this pattern did not work for you. But, wow, what a great picture! A gorgeous outfit on a gorgeous you in front of a gorgeous quilt. Very eye catching!
2/11/12 3:05 PM
sew2little said...
I agree with the others: these look good. And your quilt is an inspiration! Marci
2/11/12 3:01 PM
ArtAttack said...
They are really cute, even the weirdness. Great detailing. Leave it to you to color coordinate your outfit to your quilt. You're raising the bar a little too high with that!
2/11/12 2:55 PM
Dynamo said...
I love your capris. My initial reaction upon seeing the photo was that I want that pattern!
2/11/12 2:44 PM
marjoriekh said...
Love your whole look here, and your quilt (green is my favorite color). I am empathizing with your fitting struggle -- how exasperating, esp. with all those fit-right-out-of-the-envelope people around. The pants look great from here! With your tenacity I expect you will wake up one day to find yourself a pants fitting expert. I, too, have a now-idle quilt stash. My solution? I am teaching my daughter to sew. Amazing how many fat quarters she is going through practicing her stitches.
2/11/12 2:34 PM
ingysoup said...
I also think the capris look great on you. ANd the quilt? I want it!!!!!
2/11/12 2:02 PM
lcdrbetty said...
Looks good to me, but fit is personal. Maybe wear a longer top! Topstitching is perfect!
2/11/12 2:01 PM
coudcoud said...
These capris look very nice on you. Your topstitching is well done. Your quilt is lovely!
2/11/12 1:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-118

photo
by: jkaori

Review
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

More Info
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

More Info