SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8793 (Misses Top)

16 more reviews
Viewed 1026 times 
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo

 
 
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 165
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 165
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/12 2:51 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
patternseeker said...
Thank you for the detailed blog post,especially the discussion of constructing the collar. I'm almost done sewing my T, but the number of layers in the collar is daunting and I needed to read up on how others handled it. Sounds like I just need to sew carefully to avoid puckers. Thanks again!
5/3/14 7:24 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Fantastic top,thanks for helpful blog post.
6/29/12 7:40 PM
Barbara V said...
Agree - love that wonderful collar. Your tops looks fabulous - so creative!
2/13/12 4:14 PM
Marge99 said...
Ooh, that is a nice collar - I hadn't noticed it on the pattern picture. Your version looks great.
2/13/12 2:12 PM
DorothyK said...
Both tops are fabulous. I particularly love the black and white version. I didn't look closely enough at this pattern when it came out, but now I will definitely have to get it. Love your hair.
2/13/12 10:48 AM
sewbehind said...
Your tops looks great on you. I like the blend of fabric patterns on it. Your review is very helpful, particularly the photos that show how the zippers are used. I can see how you would want soft zippers with no bends in them. It would look edgier with the chunky steel teeth, but comfort must prevail.
2/13/12 10:25 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Totally love your tops & your informative review! This is my next project...if I EVER finish Fault Line jacket!! When sewing knits I use a thin wooden skewer. Lay it on your stitch line right in front of the needle. Apply gentle pressure...works beautifully for me. I break the skewer so it is about 6" long.
2/13/12 7:52 AM
sew2little said...
I just put a load of knit scraps in my scrap drawer; maybe they need to re-emerge! Great tops.
2/12/12 6:52 PM
kkkkaty said...
I just finished this yesterday and hope to post a review soon. Same experience, you need two zippers, and there is only one view..... good pattern for using up beautiful remnants under a yard! Your top looks great, I love the pieced fabrics!
2/12/12 2:11 PM
FloraNature said...
Fabulous! Love the B/W version - much nicer than the models' - there's lots of scope for creative piecing with this pattern. You did a great job!
2/12/12 1:01 PM
JPForster said...
Yes - very complimentary! You did a lovely job!
2/12/12 8:54 AM
pdiddly said...
beautiful
2/12/12 4:30 AM
goosegreen said...
Love this! You've done a fabulous job.
2/12/12 1:31 AM
Jrhee said...
I've had my eye on this pattern since it came out, and now after seeing the collar up close, I want it even more. The next time it goes on sale, it is coming to mama!
2/11/12 10:36 PM
NancyZL said...
Very classy looking! Great combinations!
2/11/12 9:10 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, this is great and may I say, you didn't waste any time sewing this one up--it just came out! You have convinced me to buy it (on the next sale!) Noticed a few $32 patterns in the new Vogue book!
2/11/12 7:50 PM
marthamyers said...
Me, too! They are such fun and flattering tops. And what a great use of remnants.
2/11/12 7:45 PM
ButtonFaith said...
love, love, love it!
2/11/12 5:49 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Sweet! Your review is so helpful and your tops are too cute. I have quite a lot of knit scraps myself.
2/11/12 5:44 PM
Elke said...
Very cute tops...looks great on you!
2/11/12 5:36 PM
jlg said...
Great tops. Thanks for the review.
2/11/12 4:29 PM
Knitz said...
Very nice!
2/11/12 4:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Workshop Now and Zen Shirts

photo
by: Nancywin

Review
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Buy Now
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Buy Now