SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6518 (Misses' Lined Dress)

13 more reviews
Review submitted in Little Red Dress Contest
Viewed 707 times 
Reviewed by:NhiHuynh
photo

 
 
About NhiHuynhstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/4/11
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/12 4:08 PM
Last Updated:9/2/12 2:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JTink said...
Very pretty. Great job on the ruffles.
2/11/12 4:19 PM
Kathhhhhy said...
Love that you used a knit. I just picked up this pattern and may have to try it in a knit.
2/11/12 4:34 PM
coudcoud said...
Very cute on you.
2/11/12 6:07 PM
zoe said...
Your dress looks beautiful on you! Well, I'm still working on mine ( slow going as I only can do some each Saturday). I too, ( as I told you ) struggled to fit the bodice. Mine is in a handkerchief linen, and those ruffle's tiny hems do take some time! Yours look nice; (I assume that may be from a serger?) Great job!
2/11/12 9:13 PM
nickelc624 said...
love your dress. I'm making the same one for the contest....same pattern, not fabric. great minds...
2/12/12 0:38 AM
NhiHuynh said...
zoe yes, the ruffle edge was done on a serger. I couldn't resist how quickly it could do this edge. zoe & nickle624 great minds... I can't wait to see your dresses.
2/12/12 0:51 AM
Aroura said...
This is such a pretty dress! Love the print, it's perfect for that contest. And you look great in red!
2/12/12 11:03 AM
mtnbluebird said...
Really nice dress. Very complimentary.
2/12/12 3:27 PM
sewbehind said...
Very cute dress, that is pretty enough to wear for Valentine's day, let alone household chores!
2/13/12 10:29 AM
ltmc said...
Beautiful!!! I love it!
2/14/12 2:18 PM
petro said...
Terrific dress, I love the asymmetric ruffles.
2/14/12 3:19 PM
thimbledore said...
Ooh, I really like this! You did a lovely job. I bought this pattern on sale recently and look forward to giving it a go.
2/17/12 8:52 AM
StudioCherie said...
Terrific review. I love flounces and yours look great. Perfect fabric choice. I hope you enjoy your free pattern.
2/20/12 1:54 PM
annakeeton said...
Great job converting your dress to a knit fabric and making it work for an off-grain print.
2/26/12 9:15 PM
JenniferMM said...
Very cute! I love the print you chose! Thanks for the helpful review - I have little patience for so many alterations so, its probably best I leave it alone for now, though it was on my wishlist. You did a great job pushing through yours though! I would have never guessed you had any issues with it.
2/28/12 8:58 AM
Margaret said...
Great dress! I love the contrast inset and how you finished the ruffles. The fit looks very nice!
3/4/12 4:30 PM
cloudyhn said...
Very cute...
3/4/12 5:56 PM
jenleeC said...
Very pretty! The ruffle makes a nice detail on the simple lines of this dress.
3/4/12 6:49 PM
Soliel said...
Darling! Very cute!
3/8/12 10:05 PM
magpie57 said...
If I had noticed this contest, you would have gotten my vote! I think this dress is adorable.
3/14/12 11:28 PM
Ms. McCall said...
LOVE the gray version- either you've lost weight, or the fabric is very flattering. I also really like the front pleats in the gray version, I hadn't even noticed them in the red dress.
9/2/12 5:14 PM
zoe said...
Wow- the grey version looks so comfortable, but so classic. Gorgeous!
9/2/12 6:56 PM
NC Carol said...
Great job! Both of these dresses look great on you! The time spent on fitting issues was well spent!
9/3/12 10:47 AM
Amanda S. said...
Both versions are super cute!!!
9/3/12 2:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sew Liberated Fleece Hoodie

photo
by: Ejegmama

Review
Other 104

photo
by: mastdenman

Review
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now