SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6518 (Misses' Lined Dress)

14 more reviews
Review submitted in Little Red Dress Contest
Viewed 713 times 
Reviewed by:NhiHuynh
photo

 
 
About NhiHuynhstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/4/11
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/12 4:08 PM
Last Updated:9/2/12 2:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amanda S. said...
Both versions are super cute!!!
9/3/12 2:53 PM
NC Carol said...
Great job! Both of these dresses look great on you! The time spent on fitting issues was well spent!
9/3/12 10:47 AM
zoe said...
Wow- the grey version looks so comfortable, but so classic. Gorgeous!
9/2/12 6:56 PM
Ms. McCall said...
LOVE the gray version- either you've lost weight, or the fabric is very flattering. I also really like the front pleats in the gray version, I hadn't even noticed them in the red dress.
9/2/12 5:14 PM
magpie57 said...
If I had noticed this contest, you would have gotten my vote! I think this dress is adorable.
3/14/12 11:28 PM
Soliel said...
Darling! Very cute!
3/8/12 10:05 PM
jenleeC said...
Very pretty! The ruffle makes a nice detail on the simple lines of this dress.
3/4/12 6:49 PM
cloudyhn said...
Very cute...
3/4/12 5:56 PM
Margaret said...
Great dress! I love the contrast inset and how you finished the ruffles. The fit looks very nice!
3/4/12 4:30 PM
JenniferMM said...
Very cute! I love the print you chose! Thanks for the helpful review - I have little patience for so many alterations so, its probably best I leave it alone for now, though it was on my wishlist. You did a great job pushing through yours though! I would have never guessed you had any issues with it.
2/28/12 8:58 AM
annakeeton said...
Great job converting your dress to a knit fabric and making it work for an off-grain print.
2/26/12 9:15 PM
StudioCherie said...
Terrific review. I love flounces and yours look great. Perfect fabric choice. I hope you enjoy your free pattern.
2/20/12 1:54 PM
thimbledore said...
Ooh, I really like this! You did a lovely job. I bought this pattern on sale recently and look forward to giving it a go.
2/17/12 8:52 AM
petro said...
Terrific dress, I love the asymmetric ruffles.
2/14/12 3:19 PM
ltmc said...
Beautiful!!! I love it!
2/14/12 2:18 PM
sewbehind said...
Very cute dress, that is pretty enough to wear for Valentine's day, let alone household chores!
2/13/12 10:29 AM
mtnbluebird said...
Really nice dress. Very complimentary.
2/12/12 3:27 PM
Aroura said...
This is such a pretty dress! Love the print, it's perfect for that contest. And you look great in red!
2/12/12 11:03 AM
NhiHuynh said...
zoe yes, the ruffle edge was done on a serger. I couldn't resist how quickly it could do this edge. zoe & nickle624 great minds... I can't wait to see your dresses.
2/12/12 0:51 AM
nickelc624 said...
love your dress. I'm making the same one for the contest....same pattern, not fabric. great minds...
2/12/12 0:38 AM
zoe said...
Your dress looks beautiful on you! Well, I'm still working on mine ( slow going as I only can do some each Saturday). I too, ( as I told you ) struggled to fit the bodice. Mine is in a handkerchief linen, and those ruffle's tiny hems do take some time! Yours look nice; (I assume that may be from a serger?) Great job!
2/11/12 9:13 PM
coudcoud said...
Very cute on you.
2/11/12 6:07 PM
Kathhhhhy said...
Love that you used a knit. I just picked up this pattern and may have to try it in a knit.
2/11/12 4:34 PM
JTink said...
Very pretty. Great job on the ruffles.
2/11/12 4:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

HotPatterns 1142

photo
by: Timmithea

Review
Butterick 5891

photo
by: marthamyer...

Review

Pattern

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

More Info
Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

More Info