SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1082 (MISSES' SKIRT)

9 more reviews
Viewed 318 times 
Reviewed by:valkyrie01
photo

 
 
About valkyrie01star
QC CANADA
Member since: 8/7/11
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/12/12 0:00 AM
Last Updated:2/12/12 0:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cleverkitty said...
Fabulous review and I agree about the chatty narrative and way too much information on her patterns, makes my head spin. That had to be so hard lining the plaid up, all in all it looks like a very interesting skirt that I would not mind wearing sans the sewing.
2/12/12 10:13 AM
Bluepine said...
The end result looks quite wonderful. Too bad it was such a miserable experience.
2/12/12 12:51 PM
MrsRoberts said...
Thanks for your candid and heartfelt review - it really is much appreciated. Channelling happy skirt thoughts to you....
2/12/12 2:53 PM
ClaireEmily said...
I have this skirt pattern in my stash - thanks so much for your review, I might think twice before making it now! It might have been painful but the finished skirt is simply gorgeous! The matched plaid and the piping is beautiful. I hope that you wear it.
2/12/12 9:41 PM
valkyrie01 said...
Thank you for all your feedback! I am starting to recover LOL. MrsRoberts I will hold onto that channelling for the next skirt. First i am going to finish the coat that I started (V8307) then back to skirts I go! Claire Emily, I would say that if you forced me to do it again do the pencil skirt, with no piping andin a solid color. Just be aware that the yoke pieces are not even; the bottom yoke is wider than the top one. You may want to cut the top one in a larger size then they will match. I noticed that the other people on the site who made this skirt did not pipe it or make it in a plaid (one in print) and almost no one did the flared skirt. So it is up to you, but keep it simple. if you want a great Sandra Betzina there is 1184 on vogue (i think it is on clearance too!) and it is gorgeous. It is the only thing that she has made that I like, because it was reassonably challenging and unusual.
2/12/12 10:33 PM
Ceidhle said...
This pattern has been in my stash for several years and I have put off making it because it looks so nice with the piping but I didn't think I wanted to go ahead with all work..Many thanks for your honest review. I am going to trash this pattern.
10/21/12 5:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2010-102

photo
by: Merche

Review
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now