Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2246 (Misses' & Miss Petite Sportswear) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 557 times 50 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:loti
photo
Friend of PR
About lotistarstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 5/27/04
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/15/12 5:38 PM
Last Updated:2/15/12 5:54 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Nice work! The time it takes to do an "invisible" pocket is well worth it. As always, another lovely creation.
2/15/12 6:02 PM
helenkosings said...
I really love that print!
2/15/12 6:06 PM
Claverie said...
Very nice! Love that print. Thanks for all the pictures ;)
2/15/12 6:23 PM
jannw said...
Great pocket and pattern match! Looks like a fun dress to wear and so different from the first!
2/15/12 7:32 PM
AuntieShel said...
Fabulous dress!!
2/15/12 8:10 PM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! What a fabulous job you did hiding the pocket.
2/16/12 10:23 AM
MaryDB said...
How cute is that! Looks like just the thing to wear sashaying around this spring. Love it.
2/16/12 10:29 AM
Margaret said...
Very nice! Great details.
2/16/12 11:27 AM
persevering said...
Thanks for your review. Can you please share why you chose to make a 18 instead of an 16 ... can you let us know how much ease there is between your personal measurements (bust/waist/hips) and the actual garment's measurements? More than 'paralysis to cut the Liberty' (thanks for blogging too), I'm blocked from cutting/sewing etc. and I really was fearless years ago and actually used to make most of my own clothes from patterns. Your sharing is encouraging and greatly appreciated. Oh yes, congratulations on your sewing success, I really like what you've done with the trim.
2/16/12 11:48 AM
loti said...
Thanks everyone, I even have a pair of pink sandals to wear with it. perservering - I feel your pain, when I started sewing again it seemed I had more duds than successes. To answer your question, in some of the earlier reviews they mentioned that it ran small, so I measured. I will mention, I have already made this exact dress before, so it's been tested. The finished size 18 is B44", W42", H45" - it's really only fitted at the bust and has more ease at the waist than usual. On me 2" ease at the bust, 9" at the waist, and 4" at the hips. In a style like this I'm ok with 2" ease at the bust, you need at least that much for breathing ease. If you look at the other reviews, you'll see how it fits generally. It is not overly fitted, it's a simple design. What I will mention is that in the previous version, I removed the ease from the sleeve cap, on this version there are little gathers at the cap, but I left them because the fabric is so lightweight they collapse, and you don't notice them. Good luck on your future projects!!
2/16/12 12:51 PM
persevering said...
Wow, you ROCK! Your answer is so very helpful!
2/16/12 1:57 PM
SewOm said...
Wow - that pattern is bright, cheerful and gorgeous. And the trim on the placket is beautiful. Congrats on making such a fabulous dress.
2/17/12 7:20 PM
luckeyone said...
Love the details and the thought you put into this!
3/15/12 9:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Other Oop M2241
photo
Review by velosewer on 1/29/11
Read Review

Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3688 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 3688 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5464 Misses' Blouse
photo
Review by RadarRadia... on 6/19/10
Read Review

Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us