SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2246 (Misses' & Miss Petite Sportswear)

56 more reviews
Viewed 565 times 
Reviewed by:loti
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lotistarstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 5/27/04
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/15/12 5:38 PM
Last Updated:2/15/12 5:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
luckeyone said...
Love the details and the thought you put into this!
3/15/12 9:53 AM
SewOm said...
Wow - that pattern is bright, cheerful and gorgeous. And the trim on the placket is beautiful. Congrats on making such a fabulous dress.
2/17/12 7:20 PM
persevering said...
Wow, you ROCK! Your answer is so very helpful!
2/16/12 1:57 PM
loti said...
Thanks everyone, I even have a pair of pink sandals to wear with it. perservering - I feel your pain, when I started sewing again it seemed I had more duds than successes. To answer your question, in some of the earlier reviews they mentioned that it ran small, so I measured. I will mention, I have already made this exact dress before, so it's been tested. The finished size 18 is B44", W42", H45" - it's really only fitted at the bust and has more ease at the waist than usual. On me 2" ease at the bust, 9" at the waist, and 4" at the hips. In a style like this I'm ok with 2" ease at the bust, you need at least that much for breathing ease. If you look at the other reviews, you'll see how it fits generally. It is not overly fitted, it's a simple design. What I will mention is that in the previous version, I removed the ease from the sleeve cap, on this version there are little gathers at the cap, but I left them because the fabric is so lightweight they collapse, and you don't notice them. Good luck on your future projects!!
2/16/12 12:51 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for your review. Can you please share why you chose to make a 18 instead of an 16 ... can you let us know how much ease there is between your personal measurements (bust/waist/hips) and the actual garment's measurements? More than 'paralysis to cut the Liberty' (thanks for blogging too), I'm blocked from cutting/sewing etc. and I really was fearless years ago and actually used to make most of my own clothes from patterns. Your sharing is encouraging and greatly appreciated. Oh yes, congratulations on your sewing success, I really like what you've done with the trim.
2/16/12 11:48 AM
Margaret said...
Very nice! Great details.
2/16/12 11:27 AM
MaryDB said...
How cute is that! Looks like just the thing to wear sashaying around this spring. Love it.
2/16/12 10:29 AM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! What a fabulous job you did hiding the pocket.
2/16/12 10:23 AM
AuntieShel said...
Fabulous dress!!
2/15/12 8:10 PM
jannw said...
Great pocket and pattern match! Looks like a fun dress to wear and so different from the first!
2/15/12 7:32 PM
Claverie said...
Very nice! Love that print. Thanks for all the pictures ;)
2/15/12 6:23 PM
helenkosings said...
I really love that print!
2/15/12 6:06 PM
EleanorSews said...
Nice work! The time it takes to do an "invisible" pocket is well worth it. As always, another lovely creation.
2/15/12 6:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 1949

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
BurdaStyle Downloadable 08/2012 120

photo
by: Westy85

Review
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now