SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2246 (Misses' & Miss Petite Sportswear)

54 more reviews
Viewed 562 times 
Reviewed by:loti
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lotistarstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 5/27/04
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/15/12 5:38 PM
Last Updated:2/15/12 5:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Nice work! The time it takes to do an "invisible" pocket is well worth it. As always, another lovely creation.
2/15/12 6:02 PM
helenkosings said...
I really love that print!
2/15/12 6:06 PM
Claverie said...
Very nice! Love that print. Thanks for all the pictures ;)
2/15/12 6:23 PM
jannw said...
Great pocket and pattern match! Looks like a fun dress to wear and so different from the first!
2/15/12 7:32 PM
AuntieShel said...
Fabulous dress!!
2/15/12 8:10 PM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! What a fabulous job you did hiding the pocket.
2/16/12 10:23 AM
MaryDB said...
How cute is that! Looks like just the thing to wear sashaying around this spring. Love it.
2/16/12 10:29 AM
Margaret said...
Very nice! Great details.
2/16/12 11:27 AM
persevering said...
Thanks for your review. Can you please share why you chose to make a 18 instead of an 16 ... can you let us know how much ease there is between your personal measurements (bust/waist/hips) and the actual garment's measurements? More than 'paralysis to cut the Liberty' (thanks for blogging too), I'm blocked from cutting/sewing etc. and I really was fearless years ago and actually used to make most of my own clothes from patterns. Your sharing is encouraging and greatly appreciated. Oh yes, congratulations on your sewing success, I really like what you've done with the trim.
2/16/12 11:48 AM
loti said...
Thanks everyone, I even have a pair of pink sandals to wear with it. perservering - I feel your pain, when I started sewing again it seemed I had more duds than successes. To answer your question, in some of the earlier reviews they mentioned that it ran small, so I measured. I will mention, I have already made this exact dress before, so it's been tested. The finished size 18 is B44", W42", H45" - it's really only fitted at the bust and has more ease at the waist than usual. On me 2" ease at the bust, 9" at the waist, and 4" at the hips. In a style like this I'm ok with 2" ease at the bust, you need at least that much for breathing ease. If you look at the other reviews, you'll see how it fits generally. It is not overly fitted, it's a simple design. What I will mention is that in the previous version, I removed the ease from the sleeve cap, on this version there are little gathers at the cap, but I left them because the fabric is so lightweight they collapse, and you don't notice them. Good luck on your future projects!!
2/16/12 12:51 PM
persevering said...
Wow, you ROCK! Your answer is so very helpful!
2/16/12 1:57 PM
SewOm said...
Wow - that pattern is bright, cheerful and gorgeous. And the trim on the placket is beautiful. Congrats on making such a fabulous dress.
2/17/12 7:20 PM
luckeyone said...
Love the details and the thought you put into this!
3/15/12 9:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Simplicity 7083

photo
by: Jenny Jo

Review
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5558

photo
by: nicegirl

Review