SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2852 (Misses Knit Tunics or Tops)

17 more reviews
Viewed 294 times 
Reviewed by:jynclr
photo

 
 
About jynclr
TX USA
Member since: 12/20/11
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/13/12 9:16 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trinity. said...
I do love this top, and I think you're right -- If you go down a size it will feel much nicer to wear. I have noticed that this pattern is pretty unforgiving when it comes to the fit of the shoulders. I think this looks pretty nice on you and I would definitely give it another try in a smaller size.
2/13/12 10:01 PM
marec said...
I love this top on you and think you will rock the style when you fine tune the fit on the square neckline. It looks great on you, and the red is a terrific choice with your coloring.
2/14/12 0:02 AM
Leora said...
I think you did a wonderful job! It is a touch wide on top but otherwise very well done. I hope you'll keep in mind sewers are interested in other sewers and not only enjoy watching skills evolve but having someone to "talk shop" with is priceless ;) Can't wait to see your next garment!
2/14/12 2:38 AM
Janie Viers said...
I think your top is great, you just need to make a few pintucks in the neckline and it will stop bowing. Use a double needle and do about ten five inch lines evenly spaced from center. Each one will draw up the fabric a tiny bit so you don't end up with gathers! Belts are always the answer... I can see an oversize 3" black belt worn at hip level. In fact, I can see me wearing the same top but I won't wear a turtleneck since mother nature has gifted my body with it's own heat pump! Great going, not home-made but hand made. Not home sewn but hand crafted. Not too big but a design feature you have used to customize a standard pattern more into a couture garment!
2/14/12 7:43 AM
jynclr said...
Thank you, folks! I love this site because you're always so encouraging. :)
2/14/12 8:35 AM
JTink said...
I agree with the others. You did a fine job on this. I have a habit of over estimating my size and have to reduce things down. It's all a learning process. You should wear this with a good shot of "I made it myself" pride :-)
2/14/12 1:31 PM
nancy2001 said...
Excellent first review!
2/14/12 3:21 PM
JenSews2 said...
Nice job!
2/16/12 3:18 PM
brissie71 said...
Congratulations on your first review. I really like your top, especially how you've styled it. I also like a previous person's suggestions to pop in some pin tucks to take up some of that excess fabric in the neckline. That's the sort of thing I'd never think of myself, but find all the time here on PR.
2/20/12 2:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-15

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-1013-130

photo
by: Kbenco

Review
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Buy Now