Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Pants
Review submitted in Jeans Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 668 times 158 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Raye Ann
photo
Friend of PR
About Raye Annstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/25/09
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:2/15/12 10:58 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
margk said...
Great to see these jeans here! They look wonderful, and good review too.
2/15/12 11:16 PM
JDpenelope said...
Raye Anne -- Great jeans and an informative and interesting review. I agree with you about the topstitching; even my machine got tired of it (a repairman is in our future). Your fit is amazing. I love everything you did. (Well, the rear pockets looks big to me, but I'm from a different generation, so not to worry.) You have a great pair of jeans, there!
2/15/12 11:21 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Raye Ann these jeans are to die for, gorgeous details LOVE the piped pockets! Great fabric! Yes I too found curved pockets look much better on our tushies :) And no they do not look too tight,the fit looks great. Believe me they will stretch out and you will be glad you made them like this. Bravo again this was a great experience wasn't it ! Enjoy your fab new jeans !!
2/15/12 11:26 PM
Zacky said...
Im whistleing cat calls your way! They look great!
2/15/12 11:26 PM
Christas said...
Very nice looking pair of jeans! They fit you wonderfully and have very cool details. Very nice review, too!
2/15/12 11:28 PM
Terri A said...
You should be proud! These jeans are wonderful success!
2/15/12 11:33 PM
Raye Ann said...
Thanks everyone! JDpenelope- I think the pockets are still a little too big, too, but really are not out of step with current fashion. I think the curve helps to offset the size, but that is one of the "refinements" I would make!
2/15/12 11:42 PM
treefrog said...
Wow - the piping on the back pockets is great. Your persistence with the muslins has really paid off. Congrats!
2/15/12 11:43 PM
jynclr said...
Gorgeous! Great job!
2/15/12 11:57 PM
tsedai said...
Love the purple topstitching!
2/16/12 0:18 AM
Sharonspils said...
Fantastic jeans, love all your details, your muslins paid off.
2/16/12 0:23 AM
SewWil said...
Wonderful looking jeans. Love the contrast piping.
2/16/12 1:22 AM
fractal said...
I love your creative use of piping and matching topstitching. It makes for a very polished look. With your faced hem, did you handstitch it to the inside or topstitch on the outside?
2/16/12 4:39 AM
Sassy T said...
Love,love,love these jeans. This pattern is definitely on my wishlist.
2/16/12 7:00 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a great idea to make piped pockets. It makes these jeans a standout!
2/16/12 7:24 AM
newmama said...
What a great pair of jeans! I've read many reviews of these jeans and still found yours to be very helpful--thank you:)
2/16/12 7:32 AM
MNBarb said...
Congratulations on you promotion. This jeans contest has churned out some fantastic jeans. I love your original details, especially the piping. Good for you with the fearless sewing!
2/16/12 8:50 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
Raye Ann, you did such a lovely job. I'm glad you decided to go for the pops of the floral...it makes for a really unique special look.
2/16/12 9:27 AM
Raye Ann said...
Fractal- the faced hem was topstitched from the outside, but I used a heavyweight black thread instead of the purple. Didn't want to break the leg line!
2/16/12 9:44 AM
becca a said...
Fabulous jeans and review!
2/16/12 10:16 AM
Levone said...
Wonderful looking jeans! I love all three versions you made up. Especially love all of your details on the contest jeans. Great review!
2/16/12 3:12 PM
Marie367 said...
Great looking jeans! Your self-promotion to intermediate is well deserved!
2/16/12 3:54 PM
Aroura said...
These are just awesome! I love all the detail work you put into these, and the fit is amazing. Really great job!
2/16/12 4:59 PM
norie creates said...
These are beautiful! Love the purple trim.
2/16/12 11:00 PM
norie creates said...
These are beautiful! Love the purple trim.
2/16/12 11:00 PM
annakeeton said...
The fit of these jeans seems perfect and they look hip.
2/17/12 6:23 AM
1SewSweet said...
These are really nice jeans, I love the color contrast, nice touch! Great idea on the use of the different threads! I might try that too! Thank you!
2/17/12 8:07 AM
Jenny Jo said...
Wow! These jeans look fabulous! And your review is very helpful!
2/17/12 4:21 PM
Annette1 said...
What a GREAT review, only to be topped by the JEANS THEMSELVES. :o) I love what you've done with this unusual fabric. Every detail is JUST RIGHT, and your TOPSTITCHING is INSPIRING. :o)
2/17/12 4:48 PM
Margaret said...
Great-looking jeans. I love the details you've added!
2/18/12 5:52 AM
JMarie1962 said...
Great-looking jeans! You achieved a wonderful fit and I love the purple details (I love purple!). Nice job!
2/21/12 0:43 AM
RatRace said...
I love your pockets and topstitching.
2/25/12 8:55 PM
KatC83 said...
What a crazy fabric! I love the way these look - there definitely won't be anyone else with your jeans :-)
7/4/12 6:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 8020
photo
Review by CissieW on 11/3/12
Read Review

Burda 7170 Pattern
Burda 7170 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6538 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6538 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2008-14 Pants
photo
Review by Sandi S on 7/13/08
Read Review

Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)
Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us