Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8614 (JACKET DRESSES) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 493 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:couturemom
photo
About couturemomstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/19/11
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/16/12 9:13 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Wow! Your outfit is AMAZING as is the coat you previously showed us. If possible: 1) Can you please specify if you needed to make alterations &/ can you share your measurements?) and 2) Your profile lists you as an advanced sewer (which is clearly evidenced by your sewing) , can you please also share how you got to be? Thank you
2/16/12 9:33 AM
redside said...
Beautiful work!
2/16/12 9:49 AM
nickelc624 said...
wow, this is a beautiful suit!
2/16/12 10:14 AM
4u2cme said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern. I have it in my stash. I loved the lines of the outfit when I saw it in the catalog. Your outfit is lovely.
2/16/12 10:20 AM
MaryDB said...
That's a really fabulous outfit! Great work.
2/16/12 10:25 AM
TJSEWS said...
Superb!
2/16/12 12:40 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous! Love the addition of the ribbon in the seams.
2/16/12 1:24 PM
SVN said...
This is a stunning suit. Beautifully made.
2/16/12 2:11 PM
CraftAddict said...
Very VERY nice!
2/16/12 2:22 PM
Sheseams said...
Oh Pretty! Love the ribbon touch!
2/16/12 4:09 PM
RLL said...
Classy!
2/16/12 4:50 PM
Scheryka said...
Thanks for the review. I have had the dress cut out and ready for about a year and half but could noever get the flanges to act right. Did you have issues with them? I may pull it out and take a millionth look at it.... good job.
2/16/12 6:59 PM
VivianZ said...
Gorgeous dress. Great fabric/trim design detail!
2/17/12 7:53 AM
Karine said...
stunning! I've loved this pattern since it first came out - thanks for the review.
2/17/12 8:22 AM
Levone said...
Gorgeous suit!
2/17/12 3:42 PM
couturemom said...
Perservering - Thanks for the comments. I unfortunately don't remember the specific tweaks I made to the pattern sizing, as I made it last year. However, in general I can use a size 12 without too many changes. I usually nip the waist a bit (prefer things to fit a bit more snugly), sometimes flatten the hip curve, add to the neckline (if low cut), use a 3/4" seam at the shoulders (I'm short), and take in the bust (nursing 2 kids decimated my bustline). My mother taught me to sew when I was younger, and then I found I enjoyed making clothing for myself and just practiced a lot after I graduated from college and had more free time. I have picked up most of my techniques from reading books and browsing this site, which has so much good info. I also have the temperment for sewing, which in my opinion requires attention to detail and patience. My career is in finance - go figure.
2/17/12 4:07 PM
jlg said...
This is fantastic. I love the lines in it and how you highlighted them with the ribbon.
6/18/12 6:10 AM
AdjuaP said...
looks great - the ribbon really picks out the seam lines. great idea.
9/1/12 3:56 PM
sewnaughty said...
I just purchased this pattern Vogue had an out of print sale. Thanks for the review. I cant wait to make it.
3/20/13 4:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2007-113
photo
Review by ManiMayor on 2/16/13
Read Review

Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6121 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6121 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2008-30 Long shorts
photo
Review by Sandi S on 1/25/09
Read Review

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us