SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8614 (JACKET DRESSES)

Viewed 506 times 
Reviewed by:couturemom
photo

 
 
About couturemomstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/19/11
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/16/12 9:13 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewnaughty said...
I just purchased this pattern Vogue had an out of print sale. Thanks for the review. I cant wait to make it.
3/20/13 4:16 PM
AdjuaP said...
looks great - the ribbon really picks out the seam lines. great idea.
9/1/12 3:56 PM
jlg said...
This is fantastic. I love the lines in it and how you highlighted them with the ribbon.
6/18/12 6:10 AM
couturemom said...
Perservering - Thanks for the comments. I unfortunately don't remember the specific tweaks I made to the pattern sizing, as I made it last year. However, in general I can use a size 12 without too many changes. I usually nip the waist a bit (prefer things to fit a bit more snugly), sometimes flatten the hip curve, add to the neckline (if low cut), use a 3/4" seam at the shoulders (I'm short), and take in the bust (nursing 2 kids decimated my bustline). My mother taught me to sew when I was younger, and then I found I enjoyed making clothing for myself and just practiced a lot after I graduated from college and had more free time. I have picked up most of my techniques from reading books and browsing this site, which has so much good info. I also have the temperment for sewing, which in my opinion requires attention to detail and patience. My career is in finance - go figure.
2/17/12 4:07 PM
Levone said...
Gorgeous suit!
2/17/12 3:42 PM
Karine said...
stunning! I've loved this pattern since it first came out - thanks for the review.
2/17/12 8:22 AM
VivianZ said...
Gorgeous dress. Great fabric/trim design detail!
2/17/12 7:53 AM
Scheryka said...
Thanks for the review. I have had the dress cut out and ready for about a year and half but could noever get the flanges to act right. Did you have issues with them? I may pull it out and take a millionth look at it.... good job.
2/16/12 6:59 PM
RLL said...
Classy!
2/16/12 4:50 PM
Sheseams said...
Oh Pretty! Love the ribbon touch!
2/16/12 4:09 PM
CraftAddict said...
Very VERY nice!
2/16/12 2:22 PM
SVN said...
This is a stunning suit. Beautifully made.
2/16/12 2:11 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous! Love the addition of the ribbon in the seams.
2/16/12 1:24 PM
TJSEWS said...
Superb!
2/16/12 12:40 PM
MaryDB said...
That's a really fabulous outfit! Great work.
2/16/12 10:25 AM
4u2cme said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern. I have it in my stash. I loved the lines of the outfit when I saw it in the catalog. Your outfit is lovely.
2/16/12 10:20 AM
nickelc624 said...
wow, this is a beautiful suit!
2/16/12 10:14 AM
redside said...
Beautiful work!
2/16/12 9:49 AM
persevering said...
Wow! Your outfit is AMAZING as is the coat you previously showed us. If possible: 1) Can you please specify if you needed to make alterations &/ can you share your measurements?) and 2) Your profile lists you as an advanced sewer (which is clearly evidenced by your sewing) , can you please also share how you got to be? Thank you
2/16/12 9:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Butterick 5613

photo
by: Jessamaka

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 4662

photo
by: JuliN

Review