SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6348 (Misses Dress)

7 more reviews
Review submitted in Little Red Dress Contest
Viewed 743 times 
Reviewed by:JenniferMM
photo

 
 
About JenniferMMstar
GA USA
Member since: 10/19/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/12 9:57 AM
Last Updated:3/16/12 1:03 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wordchick said...
This dress looks amazing on you! Fantastic work! I love the fabric choice and color. It's stunning...and you did the K. Knightly inspiration photo proud!
2/27/12 10:05 AM
EleanorSews said...
Stunning dress. Such a lot of work went into it ~ although one might not guess it, but that's the whole idea.
2/27/12 10:28 AM
Nenewhis said...
I love the simplicity of the design, it shows off the craftsmanship of your hard work! Simply Beautiful!
2/27/12 11:41 AM
Sassy T said...
Looks fab.
2/27/12 4:29 PM
karen n said...
Gorgeous and great job with all your "firsts"! Hand sewing does help and even though it seems time consuming I find it reduces errors so worth it.
2/27/12 6:23 PM
karen n said...
You probably haven't washed it yet, but when you do, can you comment on how well the dye fixed/faded? It looks really evenly saturated in the photos.
2/27/12 6:24 PM
Jrhee said...
Gorgeous color, and gorgeous dress!
2/27/12 9:25 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! Congratulations on all of your "firsts". Great job!
2/27/12 10:24 PM
annakeeton said...
Lovely dress. Great job dying the fabrics and working with notoriously difficult charmeuse.
2/28/12 6:09 AM
mtnbluebird said...
What a sharp looking dress. The color is great on you and the fit is perfect. Great job.
2/28/12 12:21 PM
Levone said...
Beautiful dress! Great job on this project.
2/28/12 1:44 PM
Robin Denning said...
You have every reason to be very proud of this dress- simple doesn't necessarily mean easy! And the color is just stunning.
2/28/12 8:56 PM
petro said...
Terrific dress, simple but stunning.
2/29/12 6:25 AM
JenniferMM said...
Thanks so much everyone! I sincerely appreciate your encouragement! @karen n Technically, I did wash this fabric on hot in the washing machine when I finished dyeing it and not too much color came out. I have not washed it again though since finishing the dress and will update my review once I do :-). Great suggestion!
2/29/12 7:27 PM
sew4real said...
Your dress looks stunning. Love the deep red color. I am inspired.
3/3/12 9:09 PM
ClaireEmily said...
That is just a beautiful dress! You look stunning.
3/4/12 6:09 AM
Margaret said...
Stunning dress on you, excellent work!
3/4/12 2:25 PM
cloudyhn said...
Stunning... I love your dress very much and the bias cut. But I have 1 question that There are some photos shown the dress has 2 tones (darker in the back) I'm wondering if it's caused from the light that creates shadow or you did turn up side down fabric while cutting?
3/4/12 6:21 PM
JenniferMM said...
Thanks ladies! @cloudyhn the darker color is actually an illusion caused by the pieces being cut on a bias (possibly made more obvious by a shadow). At the side seam, the grainlines form an upside-down v so the light is hitting them differently.
3/4/12 7:13 PM
pmac said...
Elegant, classy dress and perfect fit. Congrats on a beautiful creation.
3/4/12 11:32 PM
StudioCherie said...
Jennifer - love all of the firsts for you in this challenge. Great dress - I am a sucker for the bias cut skirt myself. Love your spy pose too. I hope you enjoy your satchel pattern prize!
3/13/12 7:09 PM
Vintage Joan said...
GORGEOUS!! :) Very helpful review, too. Could you explain what you mean by a "lap-basting stitch"? I googled this but didn't find anything. Thanks!
3/14/12 5:17 PM
Scheri said...
Wondeful dress and great review
3/15/12 11:05 AM
JenniferMM said...
@Vintage Joan - I used Vogue 8449 as a guide for which techniques to use. (I was working on both of them sudo-simultaneously and the Vogue pattern has great hand-sewing details which I thought was appropriate for both silks.). I added a photo of the lap-basting instructions to my Picasa album just for you :). It's very easy and makes a huge difference!
3/16/12 12:57 PM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful dress and fit and informative review. I'm impressed that you dyed your fabric!
3/16/12 1:29 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks for that helpful clarification about lap basting! :)
3/17/12 12:53 PM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Great detailed review and I applaud your fearlessness in trying all those "firsts" together. It looks fabulous on you!
3/17/12 2:35 PM
norie creates said...
Wow! This is a stunning dress! Kudos to you. It looks great on you too!
3/18/12 11:03 PM
norie creates said...
Wow! This is a stunning dress! Kudos to you. It looks great on you too!
3/18/12 11:03 PM
Sew Good said...
Awesome job!
9/8/13 11:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

McCall's 5114 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now